We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel to spend a night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Best Bangkok House
Ranked #706 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The only reason for selecting this hotel was the close proximity to Pratunam market & the Airport Express station.

Had to finish some shopping early in the morning and take a flight in the afternoon.

The location was excellent to move about in Bangkok and get into the airport quickly.

The rooms and the service were average and okay according to the price paid.

Check out other hotels nearby for a better value for money as this hotel is adjacent to the railway tracks and about a kilometer from the main road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V1VEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked a triple room and it was huge. The room was clean and the bathroom was very good. Proper shower compared to most budget places and a clean modern toilet. Most stuff was a bit dated but what do you expect for a £30 a night for 3 people?

Google maps says get off at phaya thai bts and walk to the hotel but it suggests you walk on the railway line. Not an issue apart from when you don't know where you are you can't possibly think you are going the right way. Instead, get off at rachetewee and walk from there. Once you are on soi 15 it's very well signposted. It's then very easy to walk on the railway lines and know where you're going when you've checked in.

The lads on reception are polite but it's the women who are appalling. They advertise a free shuttle to the bts but when we asked they said there wasn't one only for us to see it later in the day. The early 20s girl on reception was horrendous when we checked out. Rude (and it wasn't a language barrier thing). We asked to leave our luggage and she couldn't be bothered. She didn't even tell us where to put our bags. They were just left in the open in reception where anyone could have rifled through them.

The minibar price list is reasonable but doesn't include tax etc which they don't mention anywhere until you check out.

I'd recommend it if whoever manages this place bothers to sort the issues out. They have only 60 rooms and only 3 were occupied. More poor reviews won't help it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

this room is reaaly horrible and terrible poor hotel, staff are not friendy very rude room so tiny, ahhh theres no receptionist. u can see only the bellboy i dont know what kind of hotel is this. and people here are so rude spacialy the young girl.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived in the morning to find the staff meeting taking place in the lobby and the manage telling the staff off. I felt this is not the place to be conducting these kind of meeting in guest areas.
When shown to our room which was on the top floor, after braving the elevator it opened on to a dark hall way which felt really ghetto. Once in the room which was spacious but looked like it was straight from the 70s including the ac unit. The bed sheets did not look clean and had 'marks' on them. There was no wifi in the room and to top it of the bathroom ceiling was really low. I'm 6ft and climbing in to the bath to have a shower I had to bend down and tilt my head which still touched the ceiling with the shower only hitting me half way up my body, truly making me feel like I was on the set of the Hobbit.
It is close to the shopping district but at the end of a very long narrow street which I felt very uncomfortable walking down late at night and would not have let my girlfriend walk down alone.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I don't know why all the bad reviews - the staff were brill and the room was massive so spacious. we were surprised how big the room was. the bathroom was amazing had a bath tub and separate shower and there was a toilet you can flush and put toilet roll down!!!!

we spent more money on a deluxe room and boy was it worth it!! we had a double 4 poster bed and a single bed tucked round the corner - there was 3 of us. it was perfect. air con was brilliant had to turn it off cos it was too good. had a bar and a fridge and tv. was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katerhianrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013


it was really bad experience to stay with best house, bad location, non- cooperative staff, the price was not more then thb 250 ,really worthless stay, the behavior of the manager was really bad, no food available purely making fool



  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After my daughter and I were dropped off in front of the hotel, the "bellhop" just sat there looking at us as we carried our four bags up the steps to the reception desk. We get checked in then the "bellhop" walks us to the undersize elevator, again just watching us struggle with our four bags, not offering to carry anything.

The room they gave us smelled terrible so I immediately asked for a different one, which they gave us. The new room didn't smell but it was very small, with a tiny TV, and a small AC unit. The bathroom was also tiny. The "shower" was just a head stuck on the wall next to the toilet. To take a shower you were expected to just stand in the middle of the bathroom, with water splashing everywhere. The mattresses were definitely old and worn out.

The staff was not hostile but they were not what I would call friendly. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy. The building is about 30 feet from an active train track.

The price was reasonable but for three or four US dollars more you can do a lot better.

Room Tip: Get one with a window as it will likely smell less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Double DD House
#373 of 891 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#752 of 891 in Bangkok
417 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#338 of 891 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cubic Pratunam
#751 of 891 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Vince Hotel
#185 of 891 in Bangkok
307 reviews
Grand Watergate Hotel
#754 of 891 in Bangkok
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Bangkok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Bangkok House

Address: 68/1-4 Soi Phetchaburi 15, Phetchaburi Road | Pratunam, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $29 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Best Bangkok House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Best Bangkok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Bangkok House Hotel Bangkok
The Best Bangkok Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing