We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“re-vamped and even better than before.”

Buri Tara Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1,649 of 10,943 Restaurants in Bangkok
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“re-vamped and even better than before.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visit Buri Tara every time we come to Bangkok.
Last time it was shut for renovation so this was our first visit in the "new format" and all I can say is the best of the old is still there and the rest is even better!
Great food (we always eat Thai but there are other cuisine choices) and a cool live band made it a good night as always. The new decore is modern cool minimalism and done well.
They have both indoor (aircon) eating as well as riverside seating in cool easy sofas, low tables and nice lighting to add a nice ambience to the place.
Being by the river is a good bonus in any location and here it helps with a cooling breeze.
Well served by a good number of staff and keen to Please.
It is a good 15 min taxi ride away from the centre of Bangkok but worth it no question.
Its nice to spend an evening a little bit away from the mad hussle of BKK...we will go again next time for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good location. Great view. Loud bad band. Average service.”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

By the river. Very comfortable decor modern. Family style ordering where dishes show up in no particular order. Service was erratic and it was difficult to get the staffs attention. Wrong food served and had to be turned back. Very loud bad band. But the view by the river compensates for a lot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vip1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, but spoiled by the live band”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I went with friends and family to enjoy food and view off the river on a Saturday evening. The food was very good especially the fish curry and the curry craps but also the meet and pork dishes had a great taste. Our table was located in the middle of the outside area with a fantastic river view. Seating was comfortable with enough room for big European sized people.
It was a very enjoyable evening until the 2 musicians started to play music. The noise level of the music increased every 30 minutes and when the musicians got exited the noise level peaked even further. We asked the restaurant to turn down the music level but with no success. Our own conversation had to be completed in the music breaks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

After the glowing 6 reviews on tripadvisor we decided to take a trip to the riverside restaurant. It's on the Rama 3 road so way off the beaten track Firstly it's not clearly signposted so we overshot it and took 20 minutes to make a u-turn. Next the restaurant's car park charged us for the pleasure of using it, not a great deal of money but just the principle. This is the first time I have ever been charged for a restaurant car park in Thailand (I normally tip the guy with the whistle and torch). The setting is pleasant, albeit on a mostly industrial part of the river. Service was efficient and food was literally served minutes after ordering (fast food), of course we got the main course before the starters but no big deal. The wine list was quite extensive but stock was minimal, even though we got a decent bottle of red.
The food was basic basic Thai, not bad, not good but certainly not worth what we paid, the food taste was what one would expect in a street food outlet.
Ambience was ok but there were large groups of drinkers that were getting louder and louder as the night grew on.
There are a million food places in Bangkok so save yourself a bunch of money and go somewhere cheaper and closer to your base.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meatplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful atmosphere & view, great service and excellent food!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Riverside dinning with fast efficient service, an excellent menu and wine list. Our visit was on a balmy night with slight breeze, candlelit table, hot spicy foods, ice cold beers, water and a nice white wine. Prices were reasonable - especially the food. Our bill would have been about half what it was if we had stuck to beers and skipped the wine - but it was a special night (first date).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozza169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buri Tara Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Buri Tara Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing