We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Guesthouse for a Nights Rest”
Review of Erawan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erawan House
Ranked #370 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We staid at the Erawan after reading some of the reviews and finding the price very reasonable for the services. The rooms are indeed basic, but we found the neighborhood to be quiet and peaceful a good location to have a easy nights rest. The staff seemed to go above and beyond and tried to help us with our questions throughout our stay. It is a good budget option and a nice nights rest.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapleleafw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the triple bed room,not too cramped and room+toilet was clean. Our room was facing the little street heading up to Khaosan Rd. We had stayed during the songkran,so u can imagine the fun we had along our little street splashing water at passer by. As there were a few other hostels/lodgings along the street,it was very lively with everyone trying to defend their area by attacking other hostels.
Though our initial plan was to hang out more at Khaosan Rd,after seeing how busy and swamped with people it was,we were glad we managed to find somewhere we could equally have fun as well as still being in the city.
We had stayed for 5 nights, would've stayed longer.Definitely would come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpowerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great area if you want to be near Khaosan Road without dealing with all the douchyness that street attracts.

If you're into the backpacking vibe this will suit your needs just fine. The room was clean, quiet and more than adequate if you just want to use it for sleeping. The staff are VERY helpful/friendly. If wifi is your jam then you should try and get a room close to the common areas. Each floor has a little common area with wifi and you can pick it up in your room if you are close enough.

One night we could hear rats running around in the ceiling and making noise but I mean, look at where you are and what you're paying. Things like this will happen and it's not like they were in the room with us.....I hope :) There were some tiny bugs in the room as well , but I didn't get any bites, so I am assuming they were harmless. The shower/bathroom area is super tiny but showers were always hot. Air con worked perfectly as well.

Overall if you just need a place to sleep with few amenities then go for it. If you are looking for a hotel with all the amenities of a western hotel then no, and seriously why are you in looking in Khaosan area anyways?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anewleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hostel is well located in an area very close to Khao San Road, but is still very quiet. For us, a good night's sleep is so important and here we managed that.

Our room didn't have a window (well it did but faced a brick wall only inches away) but that wasn't a problem. Basic but functional and the same can be said of the bathroom. Comfortable mattresses and pillows and good water pressure in the hot and cold shower, air con worked a treat. Given the horror stories I have read about other hostels I think we did well to stay here.

Very little in terms of atmosphere - it really is just a base. Staff are polite. The reception area is horrendously humid and the fans do little to mitigate that. For that reason we didn't find other travellers sitting on the seats provided.

I would recommend for perhaps no more than 2-3 nights due to its lack of facilities but if you are simply looking for a clean, comfortable base that offers a good night's sleep then this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZarinaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Erawan House is a great little guesthouse located perfectly between the busy and vibrant Khao San Road and the ferry jetty. The staff are excellent; very friendly and always trying to go the extra mile for us. We couldn't fault them at all. The rooms are basic, yes, but with everything you need, ie hot shower, aircon, tv, complementary water etc. and we didn't spend too much time in there anyway. There are bars and cafes as soon as you walk out and Tuk Tuks are everywhere! The place has free wifi and offers a laundry service thats very cheap. There is also a travel agent place attached to it and the 2 ladies that run it are really helpful, sorting visas and trips out for us, often at last minute. Overall we had a great stay and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Erawan House!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would recommend Erawan House to anyone who is a budget traveller but wants to be in a slightly quieter area. The hotel was down a quiet street right next to the lively padestrian area close to Kho San Road and the Express boat dock to get to the Grand Palace etc is really close too. Most taxi drivers have no idea where it is so make sure you have a map handy.
The rooms on the 5th floor were very quiet but it was quite a hike up as they don't have a lift. It was really really hot in Bangkok at the end of March so we were pleased the air-con in the room was good. The showers are cold water only but this is fine when it's so very hot. The only disappointment was the wifi. It wasn't working very well while we were there probably because the routers were over heating in the boiling weather. They don't go into your room automatically to clean so you have to tell them to with a sign on your door, I thought this was a good system.
I would recommend staying there for up to 4 nights so you can explore the whole city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here both on the way to and back from Koh Tao. Good basic room with air con and a hot shower. The staff were very friendly and although it is close to the Kao San Road it is very quiet in the evening. A good place to stay if you are on a budget or just passing through.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattJWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#706 of 895 in Bangkok
622 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#336 of 895 in Bangkok
250 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#347 of 895 in Bangkok
428 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#401 of 895 in Bangkok
69 reviews
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#534 of 895 in Bangkok
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erawan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erawan House

Address: 17 / 1-2 Chanasongkhram Phra-artid Rd | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $23 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erawan House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Erawan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erawan House Hotel Bangkok
Erawan Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing