We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Ranked #31 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

For my first trip to Bangkok I wanted to ensure that my accommodations would be nice, and I am glad that I chose Grand Millennium Sukhumvit! For a western traveler, this hotel does it all. From reading some reviews that included 'issues' I was second guessing my reservation, but my 4 nights there were just great.

Check-in was quick and easy. We arrived near midnight after a 21 hour flight from Vancouver. The only delay with our check in was due to 3 other customers that arrived before us. Total check in time was 15 minutes, including the wait.

Staff was more than friendly, every one. Our trip was for my birthday getaway. I didn't book any special package, or even notify the staff that it was my birthday. Yet, that afternoon room service delivered a complimentary fruit plate and birthday cake to my room. That was a very nice touch, I must say.

The room itself was large, even a little larger than North American hotel rooms perhaps. And very comfortable indeed. We booked an executive room, which gave us a top floor room. I think the rooms are the same size on lower floors, but the executive room does offer complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge.

The executive lounge was superb. Staff were among the friendliest I've encountered, they made sure your meal was perfect. The variety of food was superb, a wide variety of items, at least a dozen types of breads and pastries, fruits, salads, etc. As much as you care to eat.

The available restaurants at the hotel are also great. The food is superb, although a little pricey if you are on a budget. Meal price compares to North American hotel restaurants.

Included in our reservation was a complimentary 30 minute Thai massage, which was enjoyed very much. They give you the option of other massage packages for extra fee if you wish.

The location can be good or bad, depending what you want to do in Bangkok. For us, it being our first time, the location was perfect. Within a 3 minute walk to both the subway and skytrain station (intersection of Sukhumvit and Asoke), you can get around a lot of the city that way. Cabs are fairly cheap (by North American standards), and air conditioned, so that's also an option if you don't like public transport. However the skytrain and subway are easy to use, and also cheap. If you don't like to walk much in the heat, the hotel will arrange a complimentary Tuk Tuk for you (with the executive room) to transport you to the skytrain or subway station, but we didn't take advantage of that, the walk wasn't very long. Just a hint, if using the skytrain, the station is across the street, navigating the cross walk was a challenge (if you're not aware of the traffic there! we followed locals to get across). But you can walk underground via the subway station, which gets you out of the hot sun and avoids having to cross the busy street.

There are BMW's available to drive you to and from the airport at a cost. We only used this to head back to the airport (we booked one from AOT after landing to get to the hotel). This is also a nice touch to end your stay. The driver was so nice and professional, and the concierge was great when making the arrangements.

Here is my only 'complaint' about our stay - the hotel has a huge atrium which extends the entire height of the hotel and is open to the hallways on each floor. The atrium and hotel hallways are not air conditioned, so the higher floor passageways get really hot. This is only inconvenient when getting to and from the elevator.

I strongly recommend this hotel, and my next trip to Bangkok I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g00gie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    740
    127
    30
    18
See reviews for
292
635
291
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

We have stayed at Grand Millenium in April 2009 just for a couple of nights before heading to Krabi, Phi Phi Islands and Phuket. It was such a good start to our fantastic trip! Everything was excellent, rooms spacious, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated. We especially loved the bathroom with spacious shower and partially glazed walls so that you could be in the bath and watch TV at the same time. What we also liked was the swimming pool on the roof. It is not a big pool and unfortunately you can't swim and admire the view at the same time.. but it is absolutely perfect when it is so hot outside and you can just relax there. Also, when we were there one evening for about an hour, nobody else was there, just us and our friends, so we had the whole pool to ourselves. We also had our rooms on one of the higher floors, which was very good as we couln't hear any noise from the rather busy street and we had a great view! In summary, everything was excellent. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJLSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

This is the second time within a year we have stayed at this hotel. First visit August 2009 for 5 nights and Jan 29th until Feb 9th this year. Both times we stayed on an executive floor which enables you extras such as free wi-fi in your room, free international buffet, free use of executive lounge with tea and coffee available all day (plus homemade biscuits) and then betweeen 6 and 8pm free cocktails in there with tapas all very good. You can check in and check out in the executive lounge too and save queing. The hotel has a lovely buffet restaurant, an exectptional tapas bar, an Italian restaurant which we never tried, a bakery type coffee cafe which was lovely this time but exeptional on our previous visit. All in all a good place to stay. Its location is perfect with both the skytrain (BTS) and train (MRT) being a 5 minute walk. Soi Cowboy is also 5 mins walk which is a lively strip of bars which is probably not so suitable for children but at the same time isn't smutty or in your face. I went there with my hubby and never felt uncomfortable. The train stops mean that Lumpini night market and MBK shopping mall are both only 30mins away which is great as traffic can be hectic and they're both worth a look. Nana Plaza is only 5 mins on the BTS train and has all the Ladyboy bars etc and even a Soapy Massage place if thats your thing! Again its not an uncomfortable place to get a heineken and does give you the chance to walk back to the hotel looking at the many stalls selling allsorts of clothes, pictures, shoes, cd's, dvd's, "Hello Kitty" stuff, laser pens, lighters, binoculars, spy kits and many many more!! Great place to go in general and The Grand Millenium Sukhumvit is a perfectly positioned oasis of calm in the city. It even has a fantastic Beauty massage salon over the junction to it called Urban Retreat, and another one at the back of it which I cannot remember the name of! If you go out the back way theres a fantastic English pub called The Queen Victoria which is one of only a few places you can get a Tetleys bitter! The food is awesome too and it does English and Thai.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvermerc_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Obtained an excellent advance rate online for two a club room £80 per night with full english breakfast. Given the hotels age it was slightly run down & a bit drab on our outward leg we had a club room which was quite small but had a really cosy bed to assist in removing the jet lag. Carpet was dirty and the room was tatty with that really well lived in appearance this allied to numerous problems

On our return leg after speaking to the duty manager about our previous room we were upgraded to a club suite with similar same drab interior design but everything worked this time. Hotel breakfast was excellent, as were the themed dinner nights which represented exceedingly good value & should not be missed. Hotel pool was very poor more a small sun area with the sun half of the day with about ten loungers, more what I would describe as a splash pool that is not certainly not fit for swimming.

Staff courtious & well disciplined & often went beyond their duty, much tipping required. Suggest to book a club room the perks are well worth it, plus the club lounge is well equiped with e/mail. free drinks, food & great views over parts of the city.

Good location with super restaurants all around including an excellent English pub on the street at the rear of the hotel, close to the so called light district & its bars which were super and not in the least intimidating but actually quite nice to drink in & stroll through. Sky train four minutes walk with first class access to the city & the various tourist traps Bangkok offers.

As with so many experiences in life, talk any problems through with the hotel duty manager they are usualy flexible & will do their level best to ensure you enjoy your stay, shouting does nothing so be calm and think through what you are trying to acheive & ecplain try to put your case across in a polite reserved english manner I find this works well & you generaly get the result you were seeking which was a win/win situation, it worked here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanguardAction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

This hotel is great - supertrendy, classy and cozy. I wille definetely come back next time I am in Bangkok. The staff is very friendly, too.

The breakfast buffet is great, but doesn´t vary very much, so don´t book/prepay breakfast every morning.

Another minus is that there is no free wi-fi!

Anne Bach Waagstein, Copenhagen

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights before moving to Banyan Tree...Grand Millennium offered a bigger room, much bigger and better bathroom for a much better rate. Free internet also included while Banyan Tree charges $20/24hr...also much easier access to public transport (walking distance from Sky Train) from Grand Millennium. Room clean and well furbished while Banyan Tree looks worn and tired. Remind taxi drivers that Grand Millennium is the one close to the Asok Sky Train station, otherwise they mistake it for the Grand Millennium Hilton across town!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed there on honeymoon trip to Thailand. The best thing about the hotel is the location. within walking distance to Skytrain which will take you Siam and Mo Chi where the big shopping centers are (Siam, Central World) and even shorter walking distance to the MTR (metro) where you can to lumphini for thai boxing and the night bazaar (recommended). you can grab cabs off the main street. Breakfast at the hotel is extortionate (18 gbp) but you can get western style breakfast in many places around inc mac donalds. There is a launderette real close (at the back the hotel). We were on a high floor and no noise. Gym was very good. outside pool was cool. Room was very good, with everything you need. Hotel price was included in our package so can't comment on that. only small problem had to ask twice for the honeymoon treats that were were supposed to get and the room didn't have spoons (to make coffee or tea). everything else was great I have to say !!!!!! forgot to say internet was real expensive 10 £

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kl_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit

Property: Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Address: 30 Sukhumvit 21 Asoke Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Grand Millennium Sukhumvit)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#72 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure, Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit is distinctly a nomad's playground. Located in the heart of Sukhumvit and Bangkok's vibrant city centre, the stylish Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit provides upscale services adapted for the sophisticated traveller. Access to Bangkok's transport hubs and the city's must see sights are all on your doorstep. 325 spacious and beautifully designed rooms to the region's most dynamic upscale hotel brand. The hotel features a highly visible sail-shaped glass façade, a range of room styles from deluxe rooms to executive suites and a presidential suite as well as 2 restaurants, a deli lounge, a cocktail bar, outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and extensive spa. There are great facilities for functions or celebrations, with ten meeting rooms including a pillarless grand ballroom for up to 500 guests. Pullman is the upscale international hotel brand of AccorHotels, the world's leading hotel operator, present in 92 countries with over 3,700 hotels. The Pullman brand has really found its place in the hotel sector, striking the perfect balance between performance and enjoyment, business and leisure, with a focus on keeping guests connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Sukhumvit Bangkok
Grand Millennium Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing