We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exclusive, discerning, rock star.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maduzi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maduzi Hotel
Ranked #115 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exclusive, discerning, rock star.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I've been to BKK for 10 years and this is probably the best hotel I have chosen (admittedly I have not varied my choices much). What you are paying for is privacy, exclusivity, and pampering. This is no big hotel where you have it all the resort amenities any you feel like one of many guests.

Here you are more personalised and it is the little things that make all the difference: like the 8 foot bed, the infinity jacuzzi for 2, the espresso in your room, the Bose sound system, free minibar, anytime room clean, the fact they take no tips and the superb late checkout. My flight was delayed, they let me check out at 8pm, no extra charge. They won't even give your name out at reception (you can provide a code word for guests... it's a bit rock star!).

The rooms are a great size, furnished with plushy decor, even a room foyer, good size bathroom, walk-in robe. Staff were polite, great attention. The location is brilliant. 5 minute walk to Asoke Skytrain and Terminal 21 mall, Sukhumvit strip. I got a last minute deal which was great value. Hotel lobby and restaurant are small and luxurious. You feel like it's a secret you have discovered. Breakfast buffet is not large but tasted fine.

We had a DVD player that was faulty, so it was replaced by staff with another at midnight. Gym is a bit small, but that's ok, this is a boutique hotel not a resort. True Fitness is nearby if you want a weekly membership. There is no pool (they really should put a plunge pool behind the gatehouse!). Didn't like getting a cold spray each time I turned the shower on. Wifi was a bit inconsistent depending on where I sat in the room, so I stayed in one spot. All but the last of these complaints are minor (wifi is crucial to me).

I felt a bit like a rock star here. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Top floor, rear, is quiet. Not sure about the front rooms facing busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, Owner at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Khun D.K.

We really appreciate your great review. Please note that I will ask my IT to check the signals again for all of the floors. The structural divisions of the building do cause blind spot for Wifi but hopefully with some adjustment signals will be better. Thank you for your idea regarding the pool. We will take this into consideration for our next renovation plan.

Sincerely,
Wikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    111
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
208
73
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am about to end my 6-day stay at the Maduzi Hotel in Bangkok and I have nothing but praises for this oasis of calm in the middle of busy Asoke. I initially had some minor problems with the first room that was assigned to me but a transfer to an adjacent room quickly solved the glitch. It was smooth sailing from thereon.

This intimate property is small by any standards but Maduzi's size is perhaps its biggest draw. I have been a regular visitor to Bangkok since 1985 and throughout my countless visits, I have had the privilege of staying in almost all types of establishments across the city. But my most memorable stays were in small, charming properties like Maduzi where guests are treated on a more personal, intimate level by the genteel staff. The public areas of the hotel are elegantly decorated, similar perhaps to how affluent Thais (with impeccable taste) will decorate their homes. The bedrooms are large, the bathrooms are commodious, and the huge beds supremely comfortable. All creature comforts are provided in the rooms, even a great-looking coffee maker which apparently is not very difficult to operate! Alternatively, the hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, as well as small cakes and snacks throughout the day. The gourmet breakfast that was included in the room rate I paid is simple but filling, and as expected from this design hotel, also beautifully-presented. To stay in shape, the fitness center at Maduzi is well-equipped despite its modest size. Serious runners (or leisurely joggers like me) will also appreciate the hotel's close proximity to Benjakiti Park which offers an excellent running path as well as picturesque views of the lake and city skyline.

Finally, the location of the hotel is very convenient to both Bangkok's efficient Skytrain and underground subway network. The nearby Terminal 21 mall is a very large, sometimes disconcerting property which may give visitors an idea of how seriously the Thais take their retail therapy. Further afield, malls, boutiques, street hawkers, and restuarants beckon the traveller to explore this fascinating city.

For jaded travellers who have had enough of big hotels, the Maduzi is an excellent option to consider when visiting Bangkok. It scores very high on location, quality of accommodations, and level of service. It should therefore come as no surprise to me if guests at this hotel will only be too happy to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_D_P_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, Owner at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review on our property. The staff really do enjoy reading such a great review and it gives them moral support for the road to recovery in Bangkok. We hope that your review will give others confident to visit Maduzi and Bangkok soonest.

Kind Regards,
Wikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Maduzi Hotel is located in the city center of Bangkok, a mere few minutes from Asoke BTS station. This is a wonderful location for first time Bangkok visitors as it is close to tourist attractions such as the Erawan Shrine, Paragon Shopping Mall, as well as the bustling nightclub streets, Soi 11, where Levels, Oskars, and Q Bar are located. Despite its central location, Maduzi is serene, as it is built very much like a "gated" home, where you have to enter a big gate before seeing the entrance of the hotel. Within the gates, the hustle and bustle of Bangkok disappears, and is replaced by nice green plants and Zen-like pebbles. The rooms are generously sized, with a modern, minimalist, Zen design. There are great business facilities in the room (i.e. fax and printer) and also a pretty well-stocked mini-bar. The service is great, and the cost per night is approximately US$100, which is a steal for the sort of space and level of hospitality you receive Highly recommend it for first-time Bangkok visitors who want to be close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodiekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, General Manager at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location greatly. Sukhumvit is the best location for shopping and experience the local residences and food. We have noticed that we are unable to gain your full rating on certain point, if you have the chance please email us at ga@maduzihotel.com and let us know for more detail comments on how best to improve.

Kind Regards,
Koravic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent investment. Competitive prices and a truly personal experience. Staff multi task so everyone helps with everything. Huge rooms, free minibar with snacks and juice/soda/water. Welcome drink included. Very Japanese feel (and much translated into Japanese). Amazing French restaurant on ground floor. No tipping allowed, so no awkwardness. I share the comment of earlier reviewers, showers could be better--open, so a bit cold. Also weak water pressure and a hand held would be nice. Otherwise GREAT experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank whataride68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, General Manager at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your high rating review. Could you please email us at ga@maduzihotel.com on the room you have stayed in so we can check on the shower head again. We have continuously screen our shower water pressure, in our next renovation we will look into making more handheld version available but in the meantime for your next visit please request the handheld shower in advance. In most cases we can exchange the shower head to handheld type upon request as we have some available for exchange.

Kind Regards,
Koravic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

1) Flexible check-in and check-out time (we checked in at 11:30pm and checked out at 7:30pm); 2) Spacious bathroom (jacuzzi) and 3) Convenient location (near a Skytrain station) for the price we paid was truly amazing.

The one negative is that their breakfast is not very strong (no fruits and a few options only).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinkajou_Springroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, General Manager at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Khun Kinkajou,

Thank you very much for the excellent rating review from you. I will look into the improvement of our breakfast on the extra selections of fruits. For your next visit please do not hesitate to request extra selections of breakfast choices, we will do our best to provide you with the choice you like.

Kind Regards,
Koravic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Room was big. Mini bar free. Flexible check in and check out time. Espresso Machine in room. Great breakfast choice. It's not buffet type. Friendly Staffs
Loved the hotel room because it's big and mini bar was free. There was an espresso machine in room. Location was very quiet but 5 mins walk from Asok BTS station. They have flexible check out time so that's helpful if you have late evening flight. Breakfast was from the menu and it was great with selections such as waffle, American or Japanese. Staffs were friendly and attentive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AgnesCPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, General Manager at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Khun Agnes,

We are glad to receive a good review from you. We hope that for your next visit we are able to empress you to an excellent rating. Please let us know how to achieve that at ga@maduzihotel.com any extra comment would be appreciated.

Sincerely,
Koravic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

For the price you're paying, its undeniably the best boutique hotel I've stayed.

Some of the standouts:
1. Large cosy room with equally large walk in closet.

2. Latest bed i've ever seen with amazing comfort (prob can comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 little kids)

3. Bose Home Theatre system w 42' LCD

4. Large tub with a very cool 'infinity' concept

5. Overall Thai decor

6. Complimentary in-room mini bar

7. 5mins walk to 21 Terminal & Asoke station

8. Friendly staff

8 good reasons why anyone should try this hotel in BKK.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maduzi, Owner at Maduzi Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Khun Gary,

Thank you very much for the review of maduzi. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Wikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#80 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#41 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Radisson Blu Plaza Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maduzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maduzi Hotel

Property: Maduzi Hotel
Address: 9/1, Ratchadaphisek Road | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maduzi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MADUZI a Small Luxury Hotel, Bangkok's Best Kept Secret; Imagine being in the heart of busy Bangkok, but once inside the hotel property you're in a tranquil oasis.Behind our close door, all the freneticism of the city immediately fall away. You're cocooned by the chic sophistication of this boutique hotel with its stunning collection of art, its French Fusion cuisine by Chef Yuya from Japan, a fashionable bar, gym and a 24 services. This is the perfect home away from home whether you're on business, attending a meeting, on a shopping spree or having your honeymoon in Bangkok. The hotel is accessible via Train BY TRAINNearest BTS train station is Asoke that connecting to MRT subway Sukhumvit station. Our hotel is 5 min walk from the station, exit via Exchange Tower(door next to starbucks). We are the next building down the road from Exchange Tower (walking toward Queen Sirikit Convention Center Direction) the entrance is on the main road just after the bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maduzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maduzi Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing