We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and poorly maintained. Bad value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence
Ranked #811 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old and poorly maintained. Bad value”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A serviced apartment where you must pay for water, internet, electric, TV service. Came to about 115,000 baht for the month for 3 bedroom. Old AC units made electric almost 15k alone. Furniture, TV, stove, refrigerator all very old. Sheets/pillow cases were nasty and new ones had to be bought ourselves.
Lost electric on several occasions, once for over 3 hours. Got very hot quick and no elevators. Thank God no one was in them at the time. Security guard is required to run many errands by owners, so no one there on many occasions. The staff is friendly and try hard, but over-worked by owners. TV's from the 80's. Took 3 attempts to get cable to work. Internet never did. Stopped complaining as it got us nowhere.

Fitness center is a joke. Not ONE piece of equipment is in usable condition. Makes a nice picture for their website though. Brothel/"spa" is on second floor, so non-residents are allowed into facility at night to patronize brothel/Spa.

No power outlet ANYWHERE in any of the 3 baths. Can't shave or blow dry hair in bath

Pool water burns eyes and no swimmable when we were there. Free tuk tuk service so infrequent, almost never used it.

Unsafe wiring under sink

Much better and cheaper places to stay nearby, unfortunately I rushed into a 1 month lease here. Lesson learned

I strongly think good reviews here are by the owners themselves

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardengrove Sui... S, Manager at Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Steve,
We have contacted you directly for clarification and correction as some of your comments were obviously inaccurate nor based on your own experience. For example, our fitness center equipment is in working condition and we received no complaint from regular users; refrigerator is a current Samsung model and living room tv is 32” LCD tv and three Sony Wega CRTs tvs in bedrooms; cable and internet worked on the second day after you moved in. We received your direct complaint regarding cable not working during rainstorms or power outage and explained that this happens everywhere in Bangkok not just our place. Internet could be accessed by your PC but not your iPad which you admitted was purchased in USA so we could logically conclude that there was nothing wrong with the internet and simply a configuration problem on your iPad.
You mentioned we are a serviced apartment where you must pay for water, internet, electricity, TV service. The reason is because you have chosen “non-serviced” option at the lower rate of THB 95,000 per month which does not include any additional services including sheets/pillow cases. But due to having air-conditioning switched on at all hours, your utility became more costly than expected. Nevertheless it is a significant saving since the total rate of THB 108,793 per month inclusive of utilities comes to only THB 3,509 per night for a large 3-bedroom unit with area of 200sqm. All the terms & conditions of electricity, water, internet and cable service had been acknowledged by your wife and should be no surprise.
Regarding power outages, they are unfortunate situations beyond our control. Blackouts have been due to the heavy rainstorms during monsoon season which affected the entire block not just our building. Our generator is able to supply enough lighting for public areas and elevators during blackouts.
Our tuk tuk shuttle service runs daily on hourly schedule from 8.30am - 5.30pm except Sunday and public holidays. Our driver reported that your family frequently used the tuk tuk.
All photos uploaded to TripAdvisor have been recorded for improvement. The black strip shown in bathroom photo is a water guard which we will replace with a clear strip immediately.
We do apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay and will bring about the necessary maintenance as a result of your feedback.
Sincerely Yours,
Gardengrove Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good:
The price is good for what you get! And right across the street is a pizza place that is to die for, called PizzaZo. Close to train station. Internet is decent. But that's about it.

Bad:
On the website, the photos look amazing (as they do) and modern with decorations - but that's not what you get. Tropical Gardens? I didn't see ANY gardens, just a few plants down the wall. I couldn't find the sauna, NO waterfall, NO jacuzzi, NO trendy cafe and a dated DVD library. The person on duty could literally not speak a word of English. The place is very old and worn and very sparse (no decorations whatsoever, not even a glass in the bathroom). There ware 5 hangers in the closet. The walk to the train station is terrible - no sidewalk and lots of cars! The gym is in working order but the machines are old and buttons are broken. Kitchen has only 2 small cups and 2 plates...that's it.

I can go on but I'm going to stop now.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony (not all of them have it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sonjater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardengrove Sui... S, Manager at Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sonjater,
We apologize for your disappointment, we have no intention of falsely advertising our facilities. We will review the definitions on our website.
We understand walking to the train station may not be what you may expect so therefore we provide scheduled complimentary shuttle to BTS and Emporium Shopping Center. Sorry if this information was not conveyed to you by our staff. An information sheet should have been available inside your room.
The person on duty during December 2012 who could not speak English was training; she is no longer hired. Our current staff can speak proficient English.
We appreciate the time you have taken to review our serviced apartment - it is greatly appreciated in helping us continue to improve. Rest assured we will be reviewing and correcting any flaws in the room and gym which you have reported.
Sincerely Yours,
Gardengrove Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel suites are great - they are well furnished and very spacious and comfortable but not equipped that well. - so if you are expecting to self-cater you will need to make sure you contact the hotel in advance. It is absolutely great value for money especially if you want plenty of room and intend to eat out. There are24 hr food shops nearby (7/11 and food market)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinidadD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I really cant believe how so much can be offered for a very small price. The space is like a house in size....a living and dining area with nice furniture, work desk, big bedroom, walk in robe and luxury bathroom. Nice fluffy white towels...a must for me!

Ann was very helpful and professional taking care of everything with a smile. Thong Chan was very obliging and happy man helping Ann look after me.

I would say this is the best value place I have ever had. It was such a good price (about 2000b rack rate, and I got Wotif special about 1650b) I was worried it would be to good to be true; and after a nightmare hotel in Manila the night before for twice the money (see other review) I was prepared for the worst....but got the best!

Check out my photos of the great rooms.

I cant believe other people giving this place a poor review because there are only basic knifes and forks in the kitchen! Give them a break!....go across the road to one of the Thai restaurants oh yummy!

The only negative I can agree on is I always need a top sheet too...and asked for one and got it without a problem.

I will be booking to stay a much longer time here next time, as I only had two nights....I could live here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Apartments are showing their age and there is a minimalist approach to everything. My wife and I stayed with our 2 children, and on the plus side - the 2 bed appt we stayed in was spacious. The kitchen was minimally equipped, 4 knives n forks, 4 plates, 4 bowls, 4 glasses, 1 8inch pan, 1 small pot. No knives, cutting board, salad bowls, no bottle opener, not even a tea towel or drying rack etc and the oven didn't work. All the kitchenware was filthy and we had to wash everything before we could use it. The main bedroom only had a fitted sheet and a throw, and we had to ask for another sheet. in the process of washing up we broke a glass and they wanted to charge us for a whole new 4 x set at a ridiculous price. The restaurant was not open downstairs. We left frustrated and underwhelmed given the good choice of serviced apartments in the area. Go elsewhere would be our advice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrRads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed here because my other hotel (The Key) did not have availability over my extended stay in Bangkok and had read good reports about Gardengrove on Tripadvisor.
My criteria was based on price, the accommodation being an apartment and proximity too the BTS.
Price was OK as there was a special deal on at BHT 1,600+ taxes etc. I would not have paid the full price advertised on their website.
The apartment was very big for a 1 bedroom unit, although the room was comfortable it is beginning to show it's age somewhat. The one thing I was not impressed with was the lack of choice in the TV channels, something I believe raised by a previous reviewer. TBH I was gobsmacked by the limited choice 12 channels in total and 10 in Thai, fortunately the Gardengrove does have a speedy internet connection to download your own fav programs, however this is not free BHT 500 a week.
The staff once again were very friendly and helpful, seems to be a theme in all Thai run hotels.
Location was OK a bit far from Asoke 15mins walk but a free Tuk Tuk is available.
The area itself is quiet so you can escape the noise of Bangkok at night and get some well earned sleep.
Would I stay here again...only if they refurbish the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#128 of 863 in Bangkok
921 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
#156 of 863 in Bangkok
145 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Aspira D'Andora Sukhumvit 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence

Property: Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence
Address: 51 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #811 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a prime residential address of Sukhumvit Soi 16, Gardengrove Suites is just a short walk away from Asoke BTS SkyTrain station and the Sukhumvit MRT station. Conveniently located close to Queen Sirikit National Convention Center, The Stock Exchange of Thailand (SET) and international hotels, as well as schools, hospitals and major shopping centers, Gardengrove Suites also has easy access to Bangkok's central business districts of Silom, Sathon and Rama IV Roads. This low-rise serviced residence features 51 beautifully appointed suites, with solid wood flooring, balconies, and oversized windows overlooking the resort-style pool & garden or city vista. Bedrooms are airy with neutral-toned furnishings of rich textures. Bathrooms are spacious with separate bath and shower areas. All rooms are equipped with a study/work area. Select from one to three-bedroom suites with a choice of 15 different layouts to suit a variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardengrove Suites Boutique Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing