We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel Excellent price! Central Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok
Ranked #56 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel Excellent price! Central Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

The Courtyard is a superb hotel , looks like it's been recently refurbished. We paid 999 Bhat for a room plus taxes works out 1200 Bhat and is a superb quality hotel with the best breakfast we had in Thailand - they have everything

The hotel is situated 100 metres down the road between the Four Seasons and the Hyatt. It's walking distance to Siam Square and the main shopping centre, Literalling walk out of the hotel turn right for 300metres and at the cross roads use the skytrain bridge to cross over the cross over to the ZEN centre and your bang in the middle of Bangkoks shopping district

Our standard room had a flat screen TV with the usual Satelittle channels , mini bar and excellent wet room shower.

There's a superb food hall at the bottom of the discovery centre just behind the Zen Centre that has around 30 restaurants in it

Overall superb hotel centrally located nice clean usual Mariott bed which has to be one of the best!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonEllis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    928
    149
    40
    20
See reviews for
432
799
265
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Wow...

i was on a one month vacation in asia and made the bangkok courtyard my transit hotel.

Advantages for this hotel

- beautiful rooms (brand new building)
- nicely located (next to the sky train)
- staff is very helpful in helping you out with restaurants
- helped out also with a cooking school
- got us reservations at the rooftop Vertigo sky grill
- very nice gym and pool

Disavantages for this hotel

- hotel is really close to major construction sites
- price for internet is ridiculous
- taxi drivers do not know this hotel
- some staff do not speak english

However, this is the best deal in town!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank micharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

We chose the Courtyard on a quick shopping trip to Bangkok mainly for the good value (AUD$140 per night including breakfast) and location close to the shopping malls. We stayed 2 nights.

The hotel is down a laneway and next to a residential apartment block which makes it quiet but there are no views. It is less than 10 minutes walk to the shopping malls and about 15 to the sky train. There is a tuk tuk from the hotel to the station that runs regularly if you don’t want to walk.

The hotel opened in Nov '07 so rooms are still new with very firm beds, good bathroom facilities (with a massaging shower head), a safe, bathrobes, slippers and cable tv. There is also a small nightlight in the bathroom to stop you tripping over yourself in the middle of the night - a feature I find it strange more hotels don’t have. 2 bottles of drinking water are provided each day and there are tea and coffee making facilities and a minibar in the room.

Breakfast is great with a very wide selection but can have a long line for a table if the hotel is busy - get in before 9am and you should have no problems.
The restaurant is good value and the food is very good. We ate there both nights and found the food, service and value for money excellent.

Pool is small but nice and the gym is good.

We found the service throughout the hotel to be excellent.

Having stayed previously at the Novotel Siam Square and Amari Watergate, I would chose the Courtyard over both these hotels for the great value for money and great location for shopping at the malls.

  • Liked — Restaurant - great food and good value
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great for a short shopping trip
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SAM585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

I was attracted by the fact that it's a new property and believed the premise to be in new decor. It's only 6 months' old. The property is indeed new - so new that staff needs more training to be packed up to the standard of it's competitors nearby and let the taxi drivers get used to it. Four Seasons is just 2 minutes from Courtyard so you can instruct the drivers using Four Seasons as a location indicator.

I went there to stay with 3 other friends for 3 nights.

At the time of check in, twin bedroom was sold out. We got king size beds and larger rooms. Staff attitude was OK in this matter. My room was smelly - weird smell not sure of the source. I went to the reception to complain. Receptionist said she will ask house keeping to spray the room.

The smell lingered until the day we left.

The swimming pool is lovely because it's usually not congested with guests.

The bed was a killer. It was soooo hard as if I was sleeping on a piece of woodboard.I had shoulder and back pain after sleeping there for 3 nights. I woke up every hour and finally had headache on the 3rd day. My friend, who slept on the same bed as mine, was enjoying it because she had semi-serious shoulder and neck pain. Hope this is a good indication for those who will choose this hotel. You either hate or love it....

Be ware for those who plan to take hot baths in the tub - forget it because there is no bath tub. Maybe not in my room (#414). Better double check before you book.

One of my friends who is a frequent Thai traveller said other 4 stars in Bangkok are better. The problem is solely because it's too new.

I will try out other 4 stars for comparison next time.

  • Liked — Location,pool,new property
  • Disliked — bed,food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aleung1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
186 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

For a brief stop over in Bangkok booked the Courtyard primarily as it is a new hotel and seemed well located. Paid £70 a night B&B, plus Bt 1000 dining allowance through Trailfinders.

Location seems OK - but the hotel is tucked down a side street as others say, and in Bangkok heat this is quite a walk to the nearest Skytrain station if you miss the tuk-tuk (Ratchadamri - as a minor station is stairs rather than escalators - about 100 to platform!).

Check in excellent and room modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Only negatives to room is that there is no bath and shower pressure weak, also being in the corner other rooms looked into each other. Surprisingly for a Thai hotel there is no nightly turndown service.

Pool small, but pleasant enough - there is building work immediately adjacent so you'd not want to spend long at the pool. Gym good.

Room service food good, and restaurant average. There is not a bar as such - just a corner by the restaurant - which was disappointing. The hotel has a shop selling beer, papers and the like - cheaper than the mini bar - but much more expensive than 7/11 or supermarkets in nearby malls.

Other reviewers comment on breakfast - 1st morning it was chaos - full of tours (I think Korean), and barely a table free. The buffet was being cleared quicker than it could be restocked, and queues for eggs, toast etc excessive. Next morning had an early start and breakfast was a delight - moto is start early, avoid the tours and all is fine.

Was a little reticent on food, as letter from hotel in room advised that they were treating ground floor with chemicals during the night to eradicate ants and cockroaches - think I would have preferred not to know.

There are great canteens in local malls - they offer a greater variety and authenticity in meals - and are great fun to eat in and people watch.

Overall a fairly good 4* hotel. Functional rather than luxury - for that you need the 5* chains such as Shangri-La.

  • Liked — Tidy new hotel
  • Disliked — Tour groups
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

As a Marriotts' member, we were given preferential treatment and treated well. The service is excellent like all brand name hotels.

The pool is great and we can even dip in it way part midnight for hotel guests just that it was dark. Wish they could accomodate our request by letting the jacuzzi jet "on" and minimal lightings. It was warm in Bangkok even at night.

Many group tours used this hotel. There was a big group of Taiwanese or Hong Kongers? Noisy and not well mannered. Breakfast was not pleasant as we had to wait for some time but we chose the patio as none of these groups prefered to be in the sun. Bf was the same , not much change day to day.

Prefer if they catered to Muslim guests as there are quite a number of Middle Eastern stayers at the hotel. Management should see to this to attract the Arab clientele.

Just that ,Front office should be more diplomatic and very friendly when conversing with client. Service to client is very important for me as a business traveller. They should be more accomodating to customer.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — quite small and hard bedding and no bathtub
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cadallaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Truly one of my very best hotel stays...very clean, comfortable rooms, great staff, excellent management..food was excellent. I'm not sure what they could do better. an excellent choice!

  • Liked — Great service, clean wonderful rooms, world class management
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Baan Rajprasong Serviced Suites
Cape House, Bangkok
#73 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok
Address: 155 / 1 Soi Mahadlekluang 1, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Courtyard Bangkok)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#59 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore this central Bangkok hotel. Comfort and convenience combine seamlessly at the Courtyard Bangkok. Boasting a central location near Silom and Pratunam Market, as well as CentralWorld, our hotel welcomes you with 316 well appointed rooms and suites, all of which feature Bangkok views. Additional room amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, pillowtop mattresses, in-room safes, and 24-hour room service. Dine on international fare at our hotel restaurant, MoMo Cafe, or sit outside by the pool and enjoy the sunshine. If you're planning an event in central Bangkok, you'll be delighted with our nearly 4,200 square feet of function room space and creative catering. And of course, thanks to our prime hotel location, the very best of the area is right at your fingertips. Explore Pratunam Market, discover Silom and the vibrant Central Business District, or attend an event or convention at the Bangkok International Trade & Exhibition Centre. The city is yours to enjoy when you stay here at the Courtyard Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bangkok
Bangkok Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing