We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #271 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had just 24 hours in Bangkok on our way to Chiangmai, so we needed to be close to the places we wanted to visit. This hotel is ideal, and I just wish I had longer to spend there. They efficiently organised a taxi from airport, a boat trip and gave recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was lovely served in the outdoor coffee shop by the river. We lost a phone in Bangkok and the staff kindly called round police stations and bars before calling us back in our next hotel. Only downsides: river view rooms are lovely, but an extra bed for a child fills the room and is impractical, there is no bar- but thee is one just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Aurum The River Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

I would certainly recommend this family run hotel based on the river, that is only a short cab drive out of Bangkok city. From the start they were super helpful, with finding us transport to the hotel and even providing us with a map to show the cab driver (in case we needed it) on how best to get there, they even stored some of our luggage (a massive bag with surfboards in it) for 4 weeks while we travelled to the South of Thailand.

The hotel is very clean, neat and spacious and even though its only 4 stories it has a lift (we noticed that in many hotels with more stories that there were no lifts). The floors are marble, and the ceilings are very high giving it a comfortable, European style. The lobby area leads into a communal lounge that has a few tables and chairs for reading or relaxing. A nice breakfast is served outside at the riverside, unless raining, in which case its inside.

Our room was a river view room, which had a 180 degree view of the river in front. The room although not massive, was big enough for us for the few days that we spent there. The bed was big, comfortable and had clean linen, the only thing that may concern some visitors is that the shower is in the bath, the boats in the river are failry loud in the morning and the small size of the TV, but we were so busy checking out the city that that we never even turned the TV on!

Location wise its great and there are several restaurants along the river that you can walk to within 5 minutes. Its walking distance to the Wat Pro, the Grand Palace and its close to several other temples. The Wat Arun is a five minute walk and then a ferry across the river away and if you want to get into the centre of town take a cab for 15 -20 minutes or catch the boat from the pier and then the sky train in to the CBD.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Non river view rooms may be slightly more quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only had 2 nights in Bangkok at the start of a 2 week holiday. This could not have been better. Staff SO helpful. Location perfect - short walk to the major sights - Close to Pier for river taxis - some good places to eat (both local and slightly more western to keep everyone in the party happy) - 7 11 store round corner - and just great to be able to walk back to hotel to cool off, recharge the batteries - have a shower - quick snooze - during the day before heading to next thing as we got over jet lag and acclimatised. So much better than staying in one of the larger hotels that are further away. On final morning hotel staff arranged a long tail boat trip for us round the canals etc. last minute decision as we had to leave at 11.30. Asked reception at 8am where we could get a one hour boat trip from. They had a boat arrive at the hotel jetty at 9am for a two hour trip (much better - see so much more) - back at 11 am - walked off boat - quick shower and change - then left for the airport. Perfect! Hotel itself had everything we needed - clean - super rooms - nice breakfast in cafe at side of river. Seriously - was perfect start to a great holiday. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MHA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

When choosing a hotel in a big city you also choose what slice of the city you will have a taste of. Aurum The Riverplace offers a slice of old Bangkok and river life.

I stayed here for three nights and I loved it to pieces. The staff does everything to make your stay an enjoyable one, giving practical advise or help with bookings - all with a big smile.

I had a river front room which I truly recommend if it fits with you budget. The view adds to the whole Asian river life feeling and ferries and boats cruising up and down stream make you forget that your share Bangkok with another 7 million.

The room was impeccable, robes and slippers ready to use. The decor is both elegant and fresh.

I took the local ferry to Taksin and the BTS from there to go shopping and see central parts of town. Easy, quick and a total relief not to be stuck in the horrible Bangkok traffic.

At Aurum's doorstep awaits two riverside restaurants with a tasty menu and a lovely view of the Wat Arun. Both The Deck at Arun and the restaurant at SalaArun are 5 minutes walk from the hotel and highly recommendable. On my last night I dined under a moonlit and starry sky in an Asian metropolis - what more can you ask for?

If you're not into night clubs and the high life I trust you will take a liking to my slice of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Aurum is in a peaceful spot on the river, right near the Grand Palace, etc. and an easy walk or tuk tuk ride to other old city sights. We had an amazing views of the river from the windows of our 4th floor room and the staff were extremely helpful with transportation, directions, restaurant recommendations, and reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great stay, it was such remarkable experience I can't wait to go back soon! The rooms have an European touch and are nice. The service was great, from the time you book until the day you leave. They provide a Thai description for the cab driver how to get to the hotel from the airport, that was really helpful! We got a small gift when we left and all our wishes were fulfilled. The breakfast is served in a private little oasis garden- just beautiful and the omelets were the best I ever had, also the Thai option was very tasty! There is a nice place for lunch close by, called "the gate: it has great curries. Also there is a rooftop bar opposite Wat Arun, called Arun Residence, it has great drinks and you see the temple lit up at night- very special.

If you want a hotel with heart and soul and not some sleek modern no-name skyscraper hotel, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel in the old part of Bangkok, very close to some main attractions as, e.g. Reclining Buddha, Grand Palace. Right on the river and so great for travel around the city.
Staff could not more helpful, even to walking us to river ferry to make sure we caught the right one at the local (not tourist) rate.
Ms Jin prompt and courteous in answering our emails and making local arrangements. I cannot thank her and the hotel staff enough for making our stay so delightful and hassle free.
A lovely boutique hotel with lovely staff - I cannot recommend too highly.

Room Tip: Partial river view worth the extra but hotel is a bit hemmed in by surrounding buildings. All rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PolarRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#209 of 881 in Bangkok
299 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#167 of 881 in Bangkok
325 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#41 of 698 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#48 of 1,283 in Bangkok
123 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#63 of 1,283 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Sala Arun
#57 of 698 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing