We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
148
51
13
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
51
13
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower marketwat arungrand palacebreakfast is servedboutique hotelthai breakfastreclining buddhaboat trafficbangkok attractionspublic ferryquiet at nightrobes and slipperswithin walking distancethai optionssmall hotelthe location is perfectminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 222 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 perfect nights in February 2012 and found it to be an outstanding location for a few short days of sightseeing in the historic city.
Getting There and Away:
The car service, (1100 baht) booked through and payable on arrival at the hotel, was a godsend after 30 hours of travel to Bangkok. The car and driver were at the airport to meet us at 1:00 am because we didn't want to hassle with taxi negotiations when we were cognitively and physically spent. It worked flawlessly. Just exit from baggage claim and turn right, and then keep searching the several "pods" of people holding signs until you find the person with your name and the hotel.

For the return to the airport, the hotel can book you a metered taxi which also worked flawlessly and cost under 400 baht.

Hotel Room:

The hotel itself is in a perfect location for touring the palace, Wat Po, and Wat Aurun. One can easily walk to the palace and Wat Po, and the 6 baht r/t river shuttle to Wat Arun is just down the street. The hotel is is on the river at the end of a quiet little street which we found charming. You can buy your bottled water supply for 8 baht per bottle from the lovely family restaurant on the left as you exit the hotel and head to the street.

The room had excellent beds (quite comfy and not the hard-as-cement beds we found elsewhere during our 3 weeks of travel.) We had a partial river view, and the air con was great. The water in the shower fluctuated from too hot to too cold without the ability to really get a steady comfortable temp, but then, one simply took a quick, refreshing dip and all was well. We experienced this same minor issue in another hotel on our trip, so perhaps it is a Thai issue.
Food: The breakfast was superb and served in the extremely pleasant garden right on the river. I branched out and ordered the Thai breakfast on 2 of our 3 mornings, and it was absolutely delicious. The soup was marvelous, and the fried rice (with eggies and fruit) or the what I think was tofu were just wonderful.

I can't imagine a better location or more pleasant hotel for a quick trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: We had the partial river view which was wonderful. Viewing life on the river was fascinating.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of several major temples in Bangkok -- you will see the line of tourist buses when you walk there -- and ferry stop (#8). The roof terrace has a 360 degree view of old Bangkok with Wat Arun just across the river. The breakfast on the river bank is a very pleasant way to start the day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1r0s1a5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in the Aurum for 3 nights in Jan 12. It was quiet, very clean, great breakfast, lovely staff, all at a reasonble price. Little Gem of a Hotel. Thanks Aurum.

Room Tip: Go for the river view if its available
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterr519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Returned to the Aurum with my college-age son for 10 days in Bangkok. I can't imagine staying any place else due to location, price and excellent serice. My room was ready at 2:00 in the morning, they arranged my bus connection to visit Hell Fire Pass 3 hours from Bangkok, opened up their private pier for a long boat tour of the old klongs, held our belongings while we went to Cambodia, you name it they did it for us. I will go back with Child #3 next year, my Bangkok home away from home..

Susie Flores
San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susieflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Just finished a 2 day stay at Aurum The River Place Hotel at the end of a 3 week trip to Thailand. What a perfect hotel for us, very close to all the major attractions, most of all the river, right out the door. The staff were very helpful with transit solutions, restaurant suggestions. The Supatra across the river from the Maharaj ferry stop is great, good views, food and service. The deck at the Aurum residence was great as well. Most of all, quiet at night, not for people who want a club scene. Staff allowed us a late check out, perfect for our departure time, what a bonus. Strongly recommend this hotel, Bangkok is wonderful, but a little refuge is also wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcbikeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews