We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget solution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Siam Guest House I
Ranked #156 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great budget solution”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for a budget accommodation not too far from Khao San road and New Siam I was a good choice.
Of course don't expect luxurious room but the bed was large and comfortable, air con was operational and you definitively need it! Room is a little bit small but for some nights it's ok. What we appreciated was the fact that you don't hear the noise from the street.
Overall the hotel was quiet clean and staff more or less helpful, depending to who is on the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    129
    83
    24
    16
See reviews for
12
111
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

New Siam's good points are location (very close to Khao San and the pier for the boats), the cost (620 Baht for an aircon room) and the fact that it's quiet for the area.

The rooms are basic but clean, but worn down and a bit old. The air con fluctuates between arctic cold and non-effective (it was a huge unit for a small room). If you don't use aircon you will stay in a sauna. The shower is pretty feeble but has warm water.

Overall an ok basic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We didn't even spend there the night because we had a bus in the evening... we arrived 6 am and told by the receptionist that they have 1 room that cost 620 baht and to wait until 7 and we couldnt see the room yet. so we waited at the restaurant, about 6:30 a couple came and I see that they gave them a key to a room so i went to ask and i hear the receptionist saying to the couple 370 baht, i adked why she didnt offer me the cheaper room and i got
No answer... they got the room immediately and we had to wait until 7:15 and pay almost double. Besides that the staff is not nice at all, the wifi cost 30 baht and not good also...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The guesthouse have really good location, close to Khao San Road, yet far enough to have a good sleep, close to a river ferry. We stayed at the beginning with air-con room with bathroom - but changed to a cheper fan room. Fan rooms are very basic, but clean, with big comfortable beds and shared bathroom. Bathrooms are cleaned on regular basis. Good location to recommend to budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

By my opinion, this place is nice regarding the low price of accommodation. I was in a single room, it was small, but clean. And I had a bench to put my staff and a mirror, small chair and a bed, so it was enough. The best thing is a mosquito net on the window, I loved it!

Be aware, if you are staying in the single room, these rooms are only on the 5th floor and there is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage you will have to carry it up... And there is only shared bathroom at the end of the hall. But the bathroom was clean and there was hot water and pretty amazing, but I never had to wait for taking a shower :)

Wifi is good, great signal. For 24 hours the price is 30 bahts, for 2 days 50 and if I remember correctly price for 3 days of using Wifi was around 70 bahts. Just pay for that at the reception and get there user name and a password. Also, there are computers in the lobby, if you put a 10 baht coin in it, you can use internet for 15 minutes. That's also a fair price.

Employees at the reception are young, but professional. For every request I've had they gave me polite answer and assistance. Also, near the reception there are safe boxes, just bring your own padlock. And about the safety, there are cameras at every hallway.

New Siam has great location, it's in Khao San Road, but not in the center of it, it's few minutes of walking. This is good, cause during the night it's peaceful, no noise. Everything you need is very near, 7/11 store just around the corner, many places to eat, go out, shop and a Buddhist temple just few minutes away.

If you make reservation via internet be aware that they take reservations at least 3 days before your check in. And you need to wait for confirmation mail after sending them a request. If you do that on Saturday, it's possible that you will have to wait for an answer until Monday. So it's good thing to have this in mind.

If you want to leave your stuff at this place for couple of days or longer they can organize it for a fair price. Also, there is a laundry service, ironing service and a travel agency here, and a small restaurant in the lobby.

I would recommend this place :)

Room Tip: Single rooms on top floor, on the front side of Siam I are looking at the near Buddhist temple and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great at new Siam, rooms were very basic but clean- fan, twin beds, and a mirror with a shared bathroom. All very comfortable however and at a great price and location. However, we found Staff at the restaurant downstairs very rude, so didnt bother eating there after the first time. Right across is very delicious Thai food.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

New Siam is located nearby Ko San Raod, the room i had was clean, good value (650 baht with airc and priv batroom), the only thing that annoyed me was the constant noise of closing doors of people leaving or arriving at their rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#547 of 858 in Bangkok
573 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#328 of 858 in Bangkok
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#34 of 643 in Bangkok
814 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#48 of 643 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House I

Property: New Siam Guest House I
Address: 21 Soi Chanasongkram, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Siam Guest House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House i Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing