We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value in a Nice, Quiet Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ranked #572 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Terrific Value in a Nice, Quiet Neighborhood”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

At $32 a night through Agoda, you'd be hard-pressed to find better accommodation in Bangkok. I especially liked the Soi 10 location, about 150 meters S of Sukumvit. You're in a neighborhood of posh department stores and hotels at a fraction of the cost you'd expect and this isn't one of those places where fat old men drag their 19 year old Thai girlfriends into, so you're spared the terror of seeing one of those guys in Speedos around the pool. While Soi 10 isn't a busy street, the hotel is further set back around 30 meters from the street with no rooms facing the street, thus cutting down the noise level. Not sure if I had one of the renovated rooms (I don't think I did), but it was perfectly adequate with a comfy bed, good water pressure, hot enough shower and clean, yet by no means elegant. The staff speaks good enough English and is always friendly. The A/C is not regulated by the guest and there were times I wish it was a bit cooler but consider that a minimal complaint unless you've a wife subject to hot flashes. I'd suggest a room facing E since it would no doubt stay cooler in the afternoon, though there is an extremely noisy bird (sounds a bit like a peacock) in a residential backyard below that squeals most of the day, so there's a trade off. At least the bird goes silent in the late afternoon and seems to not arise too early.
Complaining about a bird might seem strange, but my white noise machine and earplugs can usually silence a fire engine siren, but not this particular bird. The internet was sometimes spotty, but in general worked very well and there are routers every other floor. I sometimes had to switch from one to the other, but was never without service for more than a few minutes.
Since I have a 1:30AM flight tomorrow morning, the hotel staff was generous to allow me to overstay by 9 hours at a charge of only 50% of the normal daily rate. Finally, you're only a few minutes walk to two BTS stations or the MRT subway line. Plenty of street food vendors in the area, some glitzy malls, a local 7-11, an easy hop to Bumrungrad if you need to see a Dr and KFCs, chain pizza joints, McDonald's, Starbucks, etc for those missing Western food. I'd surely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better, yet since it's a concrete hotel, you won't hear people above you. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
10
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed three times this year for a total of four weeks and continue to value its proximity to the Sky Train, the new Terminal 21 shopping plaza, street food and restaurants, and beautiful Benjakiti park for jogging. Reasonably priced, quiet, and secure, considering its Sukhumvit location, and rooms continue to be renovated floor by floor. Free Wi Fi, small pool, and several English-language TV channels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We found this little hotel by walking in the neighborhood and decided to stay for couple of days. We loved it. It is great for a family with a little swimming pool and a restaurant. Our kids loved it. It is near everything, parks, shops, restaurants and public transportation (BTS and MRT). The room is a little small but good enough. Will definitely recommend to anyone who want to travel to Bangkok!

Room Tip: Even room number has park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parisbuttlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

On my third stay this year, I appreciate more than ever the convenient, quiet location between Nana and Asok Skytrain stations and a short distance from nearby Benjakiti Park, where I can start the day with a pleasant jog amidst bougainvilleas and frangipangi trees.
The rooms are good value and have free and fast wi-fi internet, and more and more rooms are getting a makeover with new curtains and cool tile floors. Nearby facilities include banks for changing money, morning food vendors on nearby Sukhumvit Road, and good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have stayed here many times over the years and have always been happy. They have made more improvements to the rooms and the work is on-going.
The hotel is QUIET ( no girls leaving all night), very central to the train, restaurants and markets.
It's my home away from home. No frills but all I need at an affordable price. Nearly forgot! Huge windows to watch the world go by!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

It is convenient, safe, quiet and inexpensive hotel in the middle of busy city. Thai Food is great and coffee is good by swimming pool makes me feel just relax. They have Tailor on Ten at the location for business suit which I do not have to fight with Indians on the street. Will go there again and again.

Room Tip: Many rooms have been upgraded to carpeted and non
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I've stayed here for a total of four weeks over the past two years, appreciating its location on a quiet soi 200 meters down from Sukhumvit Road and between Nana and Asok Skytrain stations.
The top floors were being refurbished on my last visit, with carpeting being replaced by tile flooring and fresh paint in the hallways and lobby. The small pool appears well-maintained, but I haven't used it.
The bathroom's plumbing is a little dated but has plenty of hot water, and the rooms are bright thanks to large windows. Amenities include a small fridge and two movie channels in English and free WiFi.
There's plenty of street food nearby on Sukhumvit Road, and down the soi in the other direction is Benjakiti Park, built around a large pond and ideal for a morning jog.
I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blokototerminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Hotel
Ruamchitt Hotel
#489 of 858 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#492 of 858 in Bangkok
186 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#721 of 858 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Promenade Hotel
The Promenade Hotel
#397 of 858 in Bangkok
127 reviews
Sukhumvit
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#679 of 858 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#475 of 858 in Bangkok
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruamchitt Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruamchitt Travelodge

Property: Ruamchitt Travelodge
Address: 11/1 Sukhumvit Soi 10, Sukhumvit Road | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruamchitt Travelodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruamchitt Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bangkok
Travel Lodge Bangkok
Bangkok Travel Lodge
Bangkok Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing