We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Situation close to Silom and skytrain BTS (10min walk), confortable, would need a refurbishment.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urbana Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Urbana Sathorn
Ranked #322 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Situation close to Silom and skytrain BTS (10min walk), confortable, would need a refurbishment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Situation close to Silom and skytrain BTS (10min walk), confortable, would need a refurbishment.

The plus:
. Handy locatin close to Patpong night market and to BTS skytrain station of Sala Daeng.
. The suites are vast (65 sq.m.)
. Suites include bedroom, kitchen with fridge and electric cooker, and sitting room with couch and cable TV.
. Bed is confortable.
. Staff is friendly, smiling and helpful.
. Easy check-in/out.
. The room is well cleaned every day (though no replacement of the shampoo and soap used).

The minus:
. Special requests are not taken into account: I asked for a room on swimming pool side and got a room on another side of the building.
. Design of the rooms and hotel is old-looking.
. Some water-taps are leaking.
. No chair nor table on the balcony, it's a pity that you can not enjoy seating there.
. Not enough deckchairs around the swimming pool.
. Overpriced wifi if not included in the room's price (350THB for 24hrs). For an hotel of this standing it should be included in any case.
. Description of the room doesn't match exactly what is provided: no ironing material, no slippers.
. The free toiletries are not replaced when used.
. Kitchenware is really minimal (though not so important when you eat everyday out).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christophe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear christophe p

Thank you for choosing to stay at Urbana Sathorn. We appreciated how you specified each of the pros and cons that you had experienced during your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and service though you find some inconvenient matters. We always try of our best to fulfill every guest’s room request; however, it is also depending on the room availability. On the other hand, if you plan to visit us again, our team would always be glad to provide with what you need.

We would be focusing on your reviews and would ask each department to maximize their service in order to provide quality rooms with all of the guests. We would be delighted to see you again in our property in the future. And thank you for taking your time in putting your reviews.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    261
    121
    49
    42
See reviews for
165
125
76
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: (deluxe) had a washer, kitchenette

Cons: service, from top to bottom was very poor. Location.

Started by my friend asking the bell men if they got all the baggage out of the cab. Then we had to run to stop the cab WHO WAS DRIVING AWAY WITH OUR LUGGAGE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT! Bell men just looked on!!
No hot water 3 of 5 days. Got no help from managers so asked to speak to the GM. Response was that he does not talk to 'customers' and if I don't wan't to talk to her I can hang up and she'll send a letter. ?? A letter to say sorry.?? We could not get a refund if we wanted to leave because we paid already through a travel site....Stay Away!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatCookTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear EatCookTravel

Thank you for sharing you reviews with us. We are sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had.

We do apologize if we didn’t reach your satisfaction during your stay. The management is well-informed about the problems and we are taking a serious measure in improving our staff’s service standard.

We do hope would give us a chance to give you better service in the future.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here upon entering the country.
Was an awesome hotel about 10 minutes from the nightlife and the sky train with friendly staff, a iPad to use with wifi at reception and an incredible pool, gym and room!
Was great value for money for what we paid for 2 people, and was a great start to our trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Lorenzo L

Thank you very much for booking with us and sharing your experience about your stay. We do appreciate you for taking time to give us your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, facilities and services. Our swimming pool and gym are indeed one of the highlights in our hotel with a good view of the city. To fully indulge in our property, we recommend you to try our squash, badminton and half basketball court and our fitness staffs would be more than glad to assist you.

You could always reach any of our staffs if you have anything you need upon your next return. We will do our best to give you the best service and we do hope to see you again at Urbana Sathorn.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Urbana Sathorn with some friends. We wanted to have a shared living room to hang out together & this was one of the more reasonably priced 3-bedroom apartments. Apartment was clean with nice views of BKK. 2 of the rooms had ensuite bathrooms with a bathtub in the master bedroom

Location was alright with taxis readily available...abt 15min ride to the main malls or Sukhumvit.

Most taxi drivers were not really familiar with the property though so we found it easier to say Sathon Road Banyan Tree...Urbana is 100-200m further down from Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suvarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear suvarna

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bangkok. We enjoyed reading your reviews and we are delighted to see positive comments from you in regards with our facilities and service.

Rest assured that we would be delivering more of the great service to all of our guests. We hope to extend more of our hospitality with you in the future with better service and facilities.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had stay here for 3 times since october and every time i stay it getting worse and worse especially the internet speed. From 10mbps speed they have dropped less than 512kbps speed and they still dare want to charge 354baht per day for it. I was given the free wifi use for the 1st two times when i stay here. So it was outrageous when the 3rd time i came they said they had change the systems and required to pay for it. I wont pay for the lousy internet speed. In the reply comments on other people review, the management said they had rectify the problem, but thats why i believe and went to stay for the 3rd time, but believe me, its crap, the speed is so low it take forever to send a picture online and they tell me its sharing speed.

And its my 3rd time stay here and i found out theres no consistency of the room type. I stay the executive room 1st time, and washing machine was not included but their website show it have it. When i complained abt it, they dont bother explain or upgrade and just say no. 2nd n 3rd time i stay here in the deluxe room, finally washing machine was included but i notice the utilities in the room 06 and 08 is different. No consistency of the deluxe room type. Some utilities was missing in the other room and i lazy to complain to them again to ask them get for me.

I wont stay in this hotel anymore..

Room Tip: If you book deluxe room, the room 06 is away from the sunrise direct to your room, so you can have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tan D

Firstly, we thank you for choosing Urbana Sathorn as a place to stay in Bangkok. We do apologize if for the 3rd time of your stay, we didn’t exceed your satisfaction.

Regarding the wireless connection, we truly apologize if this system didn’t satisfy you. We are still looking for the best solution to solve this problem. Also, we appreciate you in informing us about the consistency in the rooms. We have informed the management and the concerned departments about these problems to prevent future occurrence.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we do hope that you could give us a chance to give you better service.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We chose as we wanted to cook for ourselves. good sized rooms with handy location. plenty of room to relax and it was great to have a balcony to step out onto. Good selection of food for breakfast.

the loungers by the pool are huge and the most comfortable I have laid in..so easy to fall asleep. the view is also great from here.

Operates more as a serviced apartment vs a hotel. .check deals on booking.com with free breakfast. Hotel will offer you same rate with free wifi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jeff S

We highly appreciate your comments on this review. Thank you for staying at Urbana Sathorn. Also, we thank you for your suggestion that you shared about booking channel.

Each booking channel has the different advantages. In the future, you can book directly with our hotel website which comes with various complimentary packages. Your compliment will be forwarded to our staffs to maintain service standard. We are looking forward to serving you again on your next trip.

Sincerely yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Not great, average rooms, aircon in our lounge didn't work, have to pay extra for WiFi which kept disconnecting, nice breakfast but tiny restaurant and problems to find the table as extremely busy all the time during the breakfast, curtains in bedroom didn't close all the way and not sure where the advertised fireplace disappeared as there was none in our " deluxe suite ". Also small things like complimentary tea and coffee which are widely available elsewhere were not provided. Staff just doing their jobs no smile or pleasant CS. Won't be staying again. There are better places to stay in Bangkok for the same amount.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Michal L

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We appreciate every single comment that would determine the source of customer’s satisfaction.

According to your review, the management team has cooperated with I.T. department to identify the cause of internet issue. We have got the response that I.T was reconstructing the internet system in order to increase the speed. The system has been recovered and it works even better. Also, the coffee and tea complimentary are available upon request.

We apologize that we could not reach your satisfaction. We do hope that you will give us a chance to stay with us again.


Sincerely yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#130 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#206 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#97 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbana Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbana Sathorn

Property: Urbana Sathorn
Address: 55 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#105 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#203 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Urbana Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Urbana Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Urbana Sathorn Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Urbana Sathorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing