We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is terrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Urbana Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urbana Sathorn
Ranked #329 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Madrileño por el mundo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service is terrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Half an hour for check-in, poor English speaking employees, no wi-fi at all (unless you pay) and they tried to charge us for things I didn't use/asked for.

Taxi divers didn't know where the hotel was, had to ask for near Marriott.

Room was great, we booked a 2 bedroom Suite with kitchen and it was tidy and good views of sorroundings.

Price was great for the room but forget about good service!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelerista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaki B, Group General Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear hotelerista,

Thank you for choosing Urbana Sathorn for your stay.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the great price we offer and enjoyed your stay in our 2-Bedroom Suite with full kitchenette and paranomic views of Bangkok city.

However, I am concerned after hearing of the negative experience you had with regards to the check-in process and WIFI. Please be informed that the WIFI is complimentary for every guest staying at Urbana Sathorn from September 2012 onwards.

Kindly reach out to me directly as I would be happy to investigate on your booking and discuss these issues with you further in detail.

Your comment has been very valuable to us and please accept my apologies for the shortfall you mentioned. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards
Zaki Baz
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    263
    123
    50
    42
See reviews for
169
126
76
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The suite was very spacious and well equipped, much nicer than stopping in a hotel for that reason. The breakfast choice is extensive, and the evening meals represent good value for money.
The facilites in the accommodation are not well sign-posted and the staff didn't explain where to find things when we checked in.
Overall, it's a little tired looking but good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouldLikeToBeThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaki B, Group General Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear WouldLikeToBeThere,

Thank you for choosing Urbana Sathorn for your stay.

It is my great pleasure to learn that you had a comfortable stay in our spacious and well equipped guestroom. The new breakfast line has recently been introduced with even greater and wider variety, I am glad you appreciated it.

Thank you for your kind feedback with regards to the accommodation facilities and the service during check-in, please rest assured that this will be considered for further improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Urbana Sathorn again soon.

Best Regards,
Zaki Baz
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

2 kids, hubby and I stayed here for 1 night - wish it had been more.

We had a 2 bed apartment - amazingly huge suite with the most amazing view. Kids had their own bedroom, with TV and own bathroom. Plus a small balcony. Our room had floor to ceiling windows with TV and ensuite with large 2 person shower. The separate bath was very deep and luxurious.

Then there was the living area - a very large sitting room - another flat screen TV - with desk and chair and spacious kitchen off of it. Kitchen had washer/dryer, fridge and microwave. Bottled water provided too. LOVED LOVED LOVED IT.

Check in staff friendly and helpful, as were all staff encountered here.

The large infinity pool was a real delight - out on a rooftop - beautiful saltwater pool. Couldn't believe we could see from one end of the pool to the other, it was so clean. There was also a spa area off the pool as well as a shallow pool for younger guests to use. There was a sauna and hot tub in the changing room to use as well.

Breakfast was included and staff were attentive, choice was limited but the food was of a high quality. Wifi not included in our rate, so can't comment on its speed. When I enquired about the cost, it was something like 300 baht for 24 hours - expensive compared to other Bangkok locations.

Great location for the sky train (5 mins walk) and for accessing local shops, facilities and attractions.

Very happily stay here again - wish we could have had longer here.

Room Tip: The 2 bed suite is amazing - book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaki B, Group General Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear bylromarha,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Urbana Sathorn!

I am delighted to read that you had a great and memorable experience in our spacious 2-Bedrooms and appreciated the friendly and attentive service of our staffs. I am also very happy to read that you have enjoyed our large infinity pool on the rooftop, the sauna and the hot tub that have been well maintained for the absolute satisfaction of our guests.

With regards to the breakfast and the internet, please be informed that we are currently on the process of improving and introducing our new breakfast line and upgrading the speed of current internet system. Your constructive feedback has been greatly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to Urbana Sathorn.

Best Regards,

Zaki Baz
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Its defiantely more value for money to stay here than a hotel, Its more spacious, even the 1bedroom apartment. Location is average, it is near to Patphong Road (about 15 mins walk). Unit layouts are odd, and some units have ensuite baths and some dont. Ask! They throw in a buffet breakfast and free wifi which is essential for business travellers like me. They throw in 2 bottles of mineral water to tide you over a day or 2,(great!). Will stay there

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, ask for a unit with an ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel has a great pool, its very friendly
But the wifi is so weak and drove me crazy
Also while the rooms are spacious some are oddly shaped in the corners and i wouldnt advise these - mine was like this
Breakfast is ok - there is an egg station that will cook you an omlette

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoestringtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaki B, Group General Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear shoestringtraveller,
Greetings from Urbana Sathorn!
Thanks for your kind review.
The property has very nice and large pool. Rooms are large and with very nice city view.
We serve international breakfast at the restaurant placed at the ground floor.
Regarding to your comment about the internet service... I would like to inform you and inform our guests that now we are on process of developing the signal strength and internet speed in the entire building, and hopefully will be done very soon.
Please let me know your next visit and I'll be glad to handle your booking and accommodation by myself.
Thanks again and all the best.
Zaki Baz
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed here in a 2br apartment. It was fantastic and so much better than staying in a hotel with 2 adults and 2 kids. Large, stylish apartment, fabulous pool, good restaurant for breakfasts and dinner. Just cross the road for a 7-11Convenience store, or walk down Convent Road for great restaurants and street stalls, and to the Sala Daeng sky train station. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APerkins74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
210 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in 2 bed room appartment . Actually this is my 3rd stay in this hotel ,understand that henceforth Fraser shall not be managing this hotel.
I travel to Bangkok regularly and if i travel on business then i stay in this hotel for simple reason . located in CBD ,huge rooms, good breakfast and two fabulously thai restaurants located near to the hotel.
I am sure once you stay in this hotel you will never stay in any other hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#132 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#202 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#95 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbana Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbana Sathorn

Property: Urbana Sathorn
Address: 55 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#107 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#207 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Urbana Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urbana Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Urbana Sathorn Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Urbana Sathorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing