We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #134 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice hotel, great location, great breakfast. Lovely staff. Our shower/bath could have done with a touch up of grout or a good bleaching. I hate black/dirty/mouldy grout in hotels. If I can clean it at home, a hotel can clean it too! If you are going to Bangkok soon, this hotel is located in the vicinity of the main protest areas. We had to walk through the protest to get to the shops and each morning we were woken at 5.23am by amplified prayers. Hoping the beautiful people of Bangkok Thailand find peace soon as they made our holiday special, especially the staff at Siam@Siam.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor. Make sure you have dinner one night at the rooftop restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00LIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear 00LIZ,

Thank you very much for taking time to post this review regarding your recent stay at Siam@Siam Design Hotels and Resorts.

I am sorry that you were confronted with traces of mouldy grout. We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel are kept spotlessly clean.Your comment is very important, so that we can continually improve our services.

Thank you very much for the great praise to our staff, your comments will be passed along to the concerned parties.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 3,644 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We found this hotel to be excellent for a quick stopover in Bangkok. It is a five minute walk to the sky train and BMK shopping mall. It is also a short walk to Jim Thompson's House. The decor of this hotel is interesting and the rooms quite different to your normal hotel room. The pool area is great for a relax after a long day. Both breakfast and dinner were also very good. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I stayed here for 5 nights and I loved everything about it - the decor, the room, the restaurants and breakfast, location, etc. We had an executive room on one of the top 2 floors which gave us access to the executive bar doing free canapes and drinks from 5 - 7 pm. This had an AMAZING view over Bangkok. We made sure to use this space every night, and it has definitely stuck in my mind ever since (even 2 years on! Stayed here Jan 2012). The staff were very friendly and always accommodating. I had stayed in another 5 star hotel in Bangkok before this trip which I wanted to stay in again but it had sold out - and I'm so glad it did because this one is even better! Great swimming pool and central location too. I would recommend this hotel to all Bangkok travellers.

And this breakfast was the best out of all my trips to Bangkok, Phuket and Koh Samui!!

Room Tip: Pay extra to get an executive level room - you will not regret happy hour every night!! Makes you fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Holly J,

Thank you very much for posting this great review.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We are really happy that the Siam@Siam Hotels and Resorts made a lasting impression. Many thanks for your kind words regarding our staff and our amenities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night on the last day of our holiday. The hotel is well located at the end of the Sky Train line but is located near one of the main protest sites in Bangkok. All of the facilities were 1st rate and the rooms are very stylish and contemporary. The infinity pool is great. Service was fantastic and amenities very good. Roof top bar was wonderful and the view great. All in all a lovely place to stay. Sleep quality was affected by the trains and the protest but both only went on till about midnight but the trains start early approx. 5 am and you can hear them coming and going if your on the front of the hotel

Room Tip: Quieter rooms in the back and if your looking at this hotel for use while the protest is still going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halli102003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Used the Siam @ Siam hotel for our 3 day stay in Bangkok and it suited us well.

Well located for trips via the skytrain to various destinations but there isn't much around it in terms of dining so it's definitely a base from which to explore.

Room was nice size and pretty decent. Bed was very comfortable and overall no complaints at all. Air con worked well which is pretty essential here and we had free wifi which sadly is still not the norm so credit to them for that.

Outdoor pool is on one of the higher floors and looks out over the city. Great pool but beds are limited in numbers so sometimes they were all taken but we never had too long a wit.

Breakfast was pretty good with a wide selection and they were happy to make espresso for a coffee fiend like me.

There are several bars; the roof bar is nice but the view from here is ok but nothing to take your breath away and the bar closes at 11 which seemed unusual. The ground floor bar is nice and service was always excellent, this stayed open slightly later until 11.30.

Note: the hotel is right on the edge of the protestors camp but, apart from having bags checked as you came and went and a little more traffic,MIT caused us no issues at all.

We'd happily return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pwils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear pwils 10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us.

Many thanks for your kind words regarding the quality of the service and the comfort of the bedding, your comments will be passed along to the concerned parties.

We will take your comments regarding the pool and the bar opening hours into consideration for further improvement in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Plus's are proximity to the BTS National Stadium Train Station making it well located and easy to get around from the central location.
Minus's are the proximity to the BTS National train Station, making sleep very difficult. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room del away from the noise from the trains which start very early and run with monotonous and intrusive regularity.
Rooms are otherwise very comfortable and well appointed with great decor and warmth and an eclectic design.
Service is so-so. The bar service in the ground floor Bar 11 is as forgettable as the food. The roof top bar service is slightly better but still is average at best. There is an air of casual disinterest with most of the staff. After the usual polite greeting they made you feel it was an effort for them, and would prefer if they didn't have to bother.
The protests right out side were a minor inconvenience but didn't really affect our stay. The main effect was on taxis which were unable to bring you right to the front door - you have to walk about 45 metres from where the protesters make the taxis stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not affected by the noise from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peciacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I honestly can't complain about the hotel! The location is right by the shopping centres, and my advice for mbk is go to the 6th floor for a bargain and pass all the shops first. And eat in the siam shopping centres as they have a huge choice of western foods and restaurants! But back to the hotel, they were good enough to check us in early after a long overnight trip from dubai, the staff are cautious and friendly, although they insist on taking 2000baht as security on arrival, so make sure you get this back. The hotel itself is a very strange looking hotel, but once your used to it you will see all the nice little touches it has to offer. We are here now and the protests are happening outside and while the media portray it as a problem it's little more than a nuisance with roads being closed and a bit of a walk for taxis or tuk tuks.

The hotel has a good little gym, the steam room and jacuzzi isn't up to much though! The massages are over priced for thailand but they are good, the best advice I can give is 2 minutes walk from the hotel is a great cheap massage place, which will give you a 1 hour full body massage for £3.60/$5.

There is no consistency in pricing in the hotel neither, the bar at the ground floor is cheap as hotel bars go and is lively until the 10pm cut off point. The pool bar is above average on prices but ok, and the sky bar is over priced but a great photo setting location.

The pool is awesome and worth a picture at the very least, you may struggle to get a sun lounger but you will get a seat and with what goes on around bangkok you won't want to waste to long lounging around.

A few small tips I can give and wish I had known previous for this location are:
Taxi prices are negotiable so agree a price prior.

Tuk tuks are a cheap alternative but you will have to visit the sponsors of them, which will be a boat trip or a jewellery centre, it takes 10 minutes of being polite and saying no and you get a great trip around bangkok cheap.

After 10pm most things close, so get any currency exchanged before this time if you require.
If you are stoping while protests are on, fear not the siam square protest is safe, a bit noisy but definitely an experience, and when you arrive it looks scary but trust me it's fine.

If you are used to home comforts go to siam shopping malls first, they are brilliant and the clothing is genuine, the mbk is a bit more hustle and bustle but you can get a great deal.

You can get a taxi to khao san road, for 200 baht (£3.80/$5) and this is great for nightlife, don't shop here as the quality of the products are same as mbk but more expensive. drink is cheap here though and is a experience to behold, if your looking to do something different on a night try it.

There is a tesco store 2 minutes walk from the hotel and has everything you need, and I mean everything, from cheap food and drink to toiletries and other essentials and it's all a fraction of the price at home, next to tesco you will find a pharmacy and they are all over.

You won't see any bugs but bring mosquito spray as I'm writing this epic huge post at 5.30 am as my foot is swelling from my bites.

All in all this hotel for me is 4/5 it's really good and if you get it cheap enough as we did £60/$100 per night it's worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#81 of 884 in Bangkok
1,212 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#96 of 884 in Bangkok
2,179 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 884 in Bangkok
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $84 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing