We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #126 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Overall the hotel is very nice, nice decore, good facilities and the breakfast wasn't too bad.

The gym was nice and the pool is pretty spectacular.

The down side to the hotel was communication, there was a bit of miscommunication involved so that sort of dampened the stay a little.

The other bad side was the smell in the bath room. I think that's a design fault with the bath room. It's just trapped moisture that's all.

Overall though, the staff tried their best and they were very friendly.

Location wise. It's not too bad. It's about a 5 - 10 min walk to MBK. The hotel's nearest BTS is National Stadium.

If you're staying on a biz class floor, there's free internet and you have the option of having breakfast in the Biz lounge or the usual area.

Fairly good place for honeymooners and younger couples.

Ka Kwok

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,443 of 3,763 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2007

We recently stayed here for 2 nights stopover after a 10 day trip to Phuket. Very funky hotel with lots of polished concrete, exposed beams etc...I would think it wouldnt suit all tastes! the pool is magnificent on lobby level (it just drops off the side of the hotel) Staff are very friendly and helpful...just a small hiccup at check in and we didnt recieve our bags for 3 hours! other than that, they were very lovely. Hotel is in great location, only 5 minutes walk from MBK shopping mall which is well worth a look! Some great bargains there! We found our room to be very small, so small in fact that the twin beds were actually pushed against one another to fit! We also found it quite noisy ...so if you are a light sleeper, let the staff know, or ask for a room away from the main road as it is very busy all night! We had a buffet lunch in the restaurant on ground level for around $10AUD that was very good and I would recommend it! I personally probably wouldnt stay here again, but only due to personal taste, rather than there being anything wrong with the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kiwinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Loved the hotel. We checked into a Business Deluxe Suite and it was amazing - loved the quirky details, giant twin king beds, the attention to design detail (tree lamps, cosy and thoughtful lighting, well-designed bathroom). Cool lobby. Only small drawback is that the breakfast buffet is not great. But the hotel was special enough to more than make up for it. Oh, and there's great streetside food right outside. Staff are polite and friendly - great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jetsetter741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Great hotel, great location, great staff, great service, great value - just great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Donsfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Fantastic hotel in the heart of it all. Short walk to the sky train, and close to 2 major shopping centres. The hotel itself is amazing, from the polished concrete floors to the funky TV holder, attention to detail shows here. I've stayed at "nice" hotels that cost 3 x more then this, and truly could not compare service, cleanliness and accomodation. Will not think twice about where to stay next time we're in BK.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We just spent a weekend at this 8-month old hotel and loved every minute of it. The design of this hotel is a welcome change from the typically victorian style or classic type hotel - yes the place is all concrete, including your bedroom walls and floor, but this only adds to the swankiness of the whole experience. Instead of floral prints and wallpaper, you have steel lighting and dark wooden furniture. The choice of oranges and whites for fabrics also make the room very cosy. It's the kind of room you want to return to after a long day shopping. We chose the basic room and they gave us a corner room which came with a lovely view of the stadium. Do ask for a corner room (we stayed at 2107) as you get an extra large window which helps brighten up the room, esp. if you're not used to all the concrete. We especially loved the comfortable futon sofa and the wall-hung TV set. After reading the reviews about the bathrooms, it is true that the bath tub height makes it difficult for anyone who is short or old to get in and out. The bathroom is small but layout is intelligent so as to make good use of the space. You never feel cramped at all. Other nice touches - there are bathrobes and slippers in the wardrobe. There is also a turn-down service and chocolates/ candies are left on your bed in the evening. Service was impeccable, with staff attentive and always greeting you and even making small talk in the lift. We tried the spa which was heavenly. All the treatment rooms (I am assuming) face the waterwall feature, so massages are really comforting. Do ask for their male therapist (he makes the herbal oils) who is excellent! We did not manage to find time to swim but the pool, though small, looked inviting. Location-wise, this is perfect. We had some trouble with the taxi driver who could not find the place as this is a new hotel. Although the airport taxi service translates your hotel name into Thai for the driver, it seemed he was still lost and we ended up spending 1.5 hours in the cab when it should have been only a half-hour trip from the airport to the hotel. Cost about 400 Baht, and an additional 80 Baht for expressway taxes. We took the airport limo when we went back to the hotel, even though it cost 1000 Baht. Stay here if you like shopping. Best of all, you never hear the traffic outside (the sound-proofing is amazing). It's just a short walk to the skytrain. MBK is 5 minutes away, and the rest of the shopping malls are just a walk down. We decided to walk and took the bridge (overpass) to get to Siam Discovery, Siam Paragon and Central World. The shopping in Bangkok is quite amazing! Go to the Ocean World in Siam Paragon - the displays were spectacular and well worth the 450 Baht entry fee. Food-wise, we had a meal at the one and only restaurant in the hotel, which had a very hip-hop design so it was not very romantic. Breakfast is also served here and the spread is pretty decent. Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay at Siam@Siam again (but this time we will take the hotel limo!).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spookybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This is a relatively new hotel so everything is all brand new. The decor is quite modern with a retro twist which we loved to bits. We booked the Leisure room which is their 'standard' room however it far exceeds that expected of a standard room. The room size was quite generous, we had the equivalent of 3 big luggages full of shopping - bkk was the last stop on our trip through singapore and malaysia - and we ended up buying another bag for all the shopping we did in bangkok and we didnt feel cramped at all. The bed was just divine and much appreciated after a full day of shopping/sightseeing. The staff were excellent and very helpful and always greeted you with a smile. Location was exccellent as the other reviews mentioned, literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the skytrain and MBK for all you shopaholics. We had a corner room so we had a fabulous view of the National Stadium. As all the non-smoking rooms were occupied we had to take a room on the smoking floor and we didnt notice the smoke at all - maybe since its only new the smell hasnt seeped in yet. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of food (which was always hot when we had brekkie) and we swam every morning in the gorgeous infinity pool. The bar downstairs was open till late and had a great band and drinks were reasonably priced. They also had free internet which is an added bonus, either via wi-fi in your room or via the business lounge which had pcs. Will definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrisilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#78 of 891 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#91 of 891 in Bangkok
2,244 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 891 in Bangkok
5,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $83 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing