We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A back alley hotel with windowless standard rooms”
Review of Diamond City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond City Hotel
Ranked #742 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our scammer travel agent in Bangkok (ITAT) put us in this hotel. Otherwise I would not have stayed here unless you paid me. Their standard room is windowless and the headboard had been torn off the wall and left only the mounting holes. The in room lights only worked when they were in the mood. It is located in a depressing back alley but the overall location is not bad since you can walk to some major shopping areas. In room Wi Fi was free and worked. Breakfast was OK but overcrowded with other poor souls who stayed here. If it was $10 a night it would be OK to stay here. We got scammed by the ITAT travel agency which is a fake government travel agency. Don't believe anyone you talk to in Bangkok including anyone who looks just like you and pretends to be a fellow traveler! The better English they speak the more likely they are to scam you some way. This includes tuk tuk drivers, taxi drivers, offical workers at tourist stops, etc etc.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 409 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

First of all , i am quite impressed that with all that facilities provided in this hotel. This hotel is rate as budget hotel. Its the best place for me to stay at the convenient costs and location which near to Siam Paragon (less than 15 min walks) or 3-5 min by taking BTS.

This hotel impressed me in terms of even it is budget hotel - it able to provide wifi free and 24 hour free flow drinks of orange juice, warm water , cold water and tea. Most of other budget hotel wont provide you this.

The room was really good except the lighting is not too bright. Having a bit trouble to see the mirror. But the room was good air-cond is cool. Most of all i like the bed was comfortable and they even provide 4 pcs of pillow per person.

i really satisfied with staying here. thank you all the staff n management there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myra214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Diamond City hotel for 2 nights. I received 2 superior rooms, which I hoped to be connected but they were opposite each other. Rooms are simple and quit run-down but OK for short stay.TV had mainly Thai channels but no CNN, BBC or other western English channels. Rooms had AC, but in one of them the fan control was broken it blew cold air straight into the bed. MBK and other markets in the area are withing walking distance. There is also 7/11 just one blog away. Hotel offers water, tea and coffee (not drinkable) 24/7. Breakfast was interesting - noodles, rise, chicken etc.
I would not stay here on a business trip, but it is fine for vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel looks pretty on the inside and the rooms are nice. No use taking a room with a balcony, because you are overlooking a very smelly and dirty part of Bangkok.
It is a great place to stay because it is very close to MBK where all your shopping takes place and also close to the Sky Train that will take you anywhere in Bangkok.
The area surrounding the hotel is apalling... but if it is a one night stay over, this might be it for convenience and budget.
They do serve breakfast,,, nothing to really write home about.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xRachellex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Where to even start...

1. THE DESK STAFF CANNOT BE TRUSTED! The staff are touts, working in cahoots with some of the Tuk Tuk/Taxi scammers and the bogus travel agents who pose as the government tourist authority (TAT) to try and rip off tourists. If you are taken to a travel agent that claims they are the government authority and they try and book a stay here for you, DO NOT BOOK IT. The proper TAT don't make bookings, they only give advice. The touts get a commission for booking you in here. Be wary.

2. The desk staff are also very obviously working with at least one taxi-driver to rip off patrons. I asked the front desk how much an average taxi ride to one of the markets would cost and was advised "200 baht". I asked if a Tuk Tuk would cost less and was told "no, this will also be 200 baht" so they suggested I use 'their' taxi service for 200 baht. I felt that this was fishy, so I went out and hailed my own meter taxi and the ride ended up only costing 70 baht on the meter. NEVER USE A TAXI THAT WON'T USE THE METER. METER IS LAW IN THAILAND.

3. I asked to purchase breakfast and the man at the counter quoted me 300 baht per person. I later found a hotel price-list that showed the most expensive breakfast listed as only 200 baht. He very obviously lied to me, and whether it was his intention to pocket the extra cash himself, I don't know. They're also responding to some complaints on here that they have a 'free buffet breakfast' - this is not at all true.

4. The map that they show on their brochures is massively inaccurate and not near as close to any attractions as it would have you believe. The hotel is in quite a scary dark alley with lots of industry/mechanical shops. Walking the alley at night both my partner and I felt quite threatened and had lots of men staring at us. I would not advise that anyone make that walk alone. The redeeming feature is that in the DAY it's an easy walk to MBK and the sky train.

5. Someone went through my bag while I was not in the hotel. All of the signage around the hotel stating that if your things get stolen out of your room (OR EVEN THE SAFE THAT THEY PROVIDE) the hotel is not responsible make this scenario almost comical.

6. The room was dirty, dusty, and had not seen fresh air in what seemed like decades. MY BEDSHEETS WERE RIPPED AND STAINED. There was also thick black hair all through my bed - it was not my hair, I am blonde. The air-conditioner was ancient and didn't work properly. The hot water was only sporadic. The 'standard' room was crammed with so much dusty old furniture that there was little space for moving around. Also, the hallways stink.

For the same price you can get a decent, clean, SAFE hotel in Bangkok. The only time I would ever advise that you stay here is if you need to get the express train to the airport. Otherwise, AVOID.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChildrenOverboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyDen, Manager at Diamond City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Your comment is quite misunderstanding sir. Please kindly refer to our comment per below as followed as to your comment.

1. First of all, if you would like to complain to the tour operator that you have booked. Please kindly write complain directly to them. We are different company. We are hotel sir not TOT tour. So your comment should have been given to your tour not with us sir.

2. The hotel taxi service is the service the driver wait and drop. The hotel would not be able to know how much it would take for taxi meter or how much tuk tuk outside will charge. There were many of times that guests got stolen their back from the taxi outside. So there prefer to use our service to be safe. We have always mention to our guest that we DO NOT or CAN NOT know how much the taxi would cost since we are not running the taxi business and it is also up to the traffic, the direction and so on. We just say that the cost can be around this much depending on the TRAFFIC. As all ppl know, traffic in Bangkok can be pretty bad and the taxi meter can go up as the traffic sir.
We never force any guest to use the taxi from anyone. IF you don't want to take, it is your own choices too sir. We do not understand if you would actually choose and complained to us like this after. IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN YOUR CHOICE TO CHOOSE TO TAKE OR NOT TO TAKE.

3. ALL reservation is inclusive breakfast unless and the breakfast will apply the next day NOT the same day of the check in date. If guest would like to have breakfast on the first day guest check in, the breakfast will apply. As we have mentioned, it is a buffet breakfast and the price is applied throughout the same. NO ONE RIPPED YOU OF sir. If you don't want, you don't have to pay anything sir. It is up to your own choice. Your vouchers even stated that room inclusive breakfast so we don't understand what you are coming this comment from sir.

4. We are in the center of Bangkok sir and near shopping area. The area is safe and has no criminal stuff going on. So we don't understand who or what will threaten you. Please kindly understand us to that the city is BANGKOK and the area will be the same like these the whole CITY. There would be shop, motorcycle, small road and etc. It won't be the same like in your country sir. Others guests seem to have never once told us that they feel threaten.

5. There has been noone reported of their stuff stolen in the room sir. If you would have, we would actually got a notice from you and investigate. I think you might mistaken with something sir. We also have safety box if you have any valuable to put in sir.

6. Our maid clean everything and make up room everyday and we would definitely not allow the stuff you have mentioned occur. We don't understand if you actually see, how come you don't mentioned to ask at the reception. We would definitely check and offer you a free upgrade if there is anything happen like what you mention sir.

Our hotel is budget hotel with the price you pay not over 38USD from TAT with free breakfast, free WIFI, free tea, coffee, and soft drink.
Hope to seek you kind understand on your side as well. What you have mentioned was quite misunderstanding and mislead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is perfect.. about a 20 min tax from the Air Asia Airport. When you arrive they greet you with smiles complementary juice and fruit. Our book In was quick and fast (and painless) and I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nothing extravagant about this hotel.

There is indoor swimming pool which is always vacant due to renovation work at the area.

The breakfast is normal.

The location is about 5 to 10 minutes long walk, from Rachathewi BTS,especially at night.

Not so near places though it can be reached by walking.

Didn't really enjoyed much as there is nothing to do at the neighbourhood.

It does not look like a hotel. I actually got frustrated and tired just looking for this hotel.

Hotel staffs are nice but can be better.

Room Tip: Look for other hotels first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evanchinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#756 of 887 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Samran Place Hotel
#426 of 887 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#378 of 887 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok City Hotel
#265 of 887 in Bangkok
1,068 reviews
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#766 of 887 in Bangkok
53 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#338 of 887 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond City Hotel

Address: 594/23 Soi Payanark ,Rama 6 Road | Thanon Phetchaburi,Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #742 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $28 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Diamond City Hotel, BangkokExplore yourself in this boutique hotel styles in the center of Bangkok with our friendly staffs that will always welcome you, cater to your every needs, and anticipate your every desire.At the heart of Bangkok, Diamond City Hotel is located in the best shopping area and at the core business area. Please visit us and enjoy our warm hospitality at a reasonable price with excellent services, newly furnished guest rooms, convenient location, security and privacy, and not to mention our delicious cuisine available 24 hours.Here you will receive 5-star service from our team with years of experience and friendly staffs that will go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that your stay with us will be a comfortable and memorable one.We offer hotel accommodation within your budget. Diamond City Hotel embraces and takes pride in our boutique mood setting, situated in the heart of Bangkok.Location: Minutes away from Siam Square, MBK Shopping Plaza, Pratunam, and Siam Paragon. Less than 10 minutes to Ratchathewee Skytrain Station Less than 2 minutes walking distance to 7-eleven, local markets, and variety of authentic Thai Restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond City Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing