We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$47
View deal
Booking.com
$33
View deal
FindHotel
$16
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/20/21
eDreams$33
Agoda.com$33
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
48
118
135
76
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
118
135
76
73
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 450 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 and it was terrible. Room did not have windows, although there was a curtain covering a wall, bathroom was dirty, hallways smelt overly perfumed and worst of all, the front desk staff could not be trusted. I felt like they were working with the taxi drivers to overcharge us. The taxis the hotels provided, did not turn on their meters and we were overcharged to go to JJ market and other tourist attractions. Of course because this was Thailand, all the ripping off was done with a smile. Also there is a "deposit" for everything, deposit for the room key as well as a lock for the safe in your room.

Breakfast was mediocre, overly cooked gray eggs, weird hot dogs and usually noodles that looked like they've been sitting out for hours.

Pool is in an extremely weird area at the front of the hotel, I'm not sure I saw anyone using it.

I know this is a budget hotel but i think you could use your money elsewhere for a more enjoyable stay and beware of the Front Desk staff!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyDen, Manager at Diamond City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Customer,

Please kindly be informed that our standard room has no window. If you would wish to have a window, please kindly informed us so that we can arrange room accordingly to your preference. As you have mentioned the smell in the hallway, please kindly be informed that all hallway has been put with the light of essential oil smell not a dirty smell. We have not heard any guest complain about the smell in the hallway in the past. If you do not like the smell, please kindly inform us. Our hotel is more than happy to remove the essential oil machine from your floor.

Moreover, most of hotels would require certain deposit. It would be either by credit card or cash to ensure the extra spending during your stay. If the guest has not used any mini bar or room service, all the amount of deposit will be return back to guest when the guest check out. Please kindly be informed that the deposit amount is 500THB (16 USD) or one ID card.

With the transport that you have mentioned, please kindly be informed that the transport service was being ordered from the guest and the price has been told before the guest's confirm. If the guest think it is expensive, the guest do not have to order the hotel transport service. Please also be informed that the hotel DO NOT have the taxi meter service. The transport charge is the hotel transport car for your own transportation. Arrange in the time the guest wish, waiting at the different point of stops as the guest's wish. It is acted as guest's personal transportation. Therefore, the charge is impossible to be accordingly to the public taxi meter. We hope for the guest and all readers to deeply understanding us in this perceptive

We are budget hotel in the center of Bangkok with the rate not over 35USD for the lowest room category with Free buffet Breakfast, Free WiFi, Free tea, coffee, and soft drink 24 hours. We have tried our best to provide the most we can possibly do for our guest to enjoy their stay with us.

We hope to seek all your kind understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the manageress who could not do enough to help us and seemed to work a 15 hour day. Having stayed in other hotels on this street I would choose this one because at least the rooms have a window and balcony (which another hotel doesn't) and the staff treat your wife with respect.
Yes it is on a long street but if you want the authentic Thai experience then this is the best hotel
in Bangkok.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen4pinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is good only a short walk to the bts station and easy to find however it is a bit out of place where it is. You have to walk down a road which is full of street vendors and small slumish houses/shops. Not pleasing to the eye. You also have to give a 500 baht deposit when you check in something we were not aware of or had budgeted for. The pool is next to the lobby and seating area with no privacy at all there is a massive waterfall feature in the middle of the pool hanging from the ceiling making it very difficult to do anything apart from getting splashed in the face. When we booked via late rooms it said the hotel offered a free tuk tuk service to the bts station this however is not the case and you have to pay to use it. The tuk tuk service was good however to go to the grand palace, it takes you directly there for 200 baht which saves the hassle of getting the bts then the boat however you do need to make your way back. The room was no where near a superior room, the shower was built into the wall and extremely weak most of the water ran down the wall and the shower curtain did not come to the wall where the shower was so water splashed everywhere. There were no bathroom towels only two large shower towels. We had a balcony which consisted of a maximum two foot slated ledge with a table on it but no chairs and the chairs in the room we're to big to fit out there. The wardrobe is very small and you won't be able to fit much in it. The maid stole some loose baht coins that we left on the side, she also tidied the room perfectly on the second day refilling toilet roll making the bed and giving us new towels etc however the next day she just put the pillows back normally and folded the towels onto the table. The air con is very poor it keeps directly underneath it cool but did nothing for the rest of the room. There are 3 sets of curtains and a tinted window I presume so no body can see in. The bed was very comfortable so were the pillows it was not a standard hard Thai mattress. The security at the hotel is very poor late at night they padlock the doors together with a bike lock. The wifi is not very strong in the rooms. Outside of our room was what looked like a storage area which had items dumped on it and there was also a room balcony which directly backed onto it.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank EMMAW275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel during our Bangkok stay.For us this was a good hotel. We had a clean and nice room and the staff was friendly. Low price and quite convenient location .

Its very near to all shopping malls if you don't mind a bit of walking . This hotel is 15-20 minutes walk to Bangkok's most famous shopping destinations - Pratunam, Platinum fashion mall, Pantip Plaza. In fact, it is just 15-20 minutes to Indira market. Very convenient for those who want to do shopping and come back to hotel to sleep.

For shopping and dinner we never hired any vehicles or tuktuk.

We never rang-up for cleaning room but everyday when we returned from our day trip found room cleaned .
They have very small swimming pool but its cute and attractive too.
We enjoyed their Buffet breakfast also . They look after every tourists taste too, indian thai etc ect .
Near the hotel can enjoy lots of sreet food and variety kind of local fruits during evening.
As the BTS very near to the hotel we tried sky train and rail link upto airport on the day of return . Its took 30 minute to reached to airport and spend 120 baht for 2 person .

One think annoyed us when we asked to use safety box they charged small deposit or passport I asked the guy at the reception, isn’t the copy of my passport enough but they insisted , ok we managed for hotel manager's polite behavior.

Room tip: we stayed in 312 its good
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arnabbthika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent around 8 hours, basically one night at the hotel and had enough! The street of which the hotel is located is NOT AT ALL SAFE.You will find drunks and junkies all around--in fact, the hotel has put up boards at places asing you to be wary of strangers right outside the hotel. The hotel has NO GATE...you step out of the premises and it's the road.

Coming to the hotel itself--it's musty and smells like it's been smeared with Vicks all through. There's a 'pool' right in the lobby and if you dare to take a dip, be prepared for a lot of stares. The rooms are OLD...NOT well maintained--you'll find old murals hanging and don't bother parting the curtains to look out of the window--there's not view anyway. The sheets were clean, but the bed was damn shaky...my husband (90 kgs) sat at the foot of bed and we felt it would give way. Bathroom fixtures were OK but the shower was rusty or dirty--couldn't figure out what..
All in all, what they show on their website/brochure is complete sham. The entire hotel gives you a gloomy, creepy feel.

Breakfast was strictly okay...but the diary creamer was stale. The only saving grace is--it's very close to the airport rail link at Payathai. but i'm sure there are better hotels around. and Oh, they have their own tuk-tuk service to the payathai station for 70 bahts and that's nice too. We were so glad to get out of the hotel and hop onto that tuktuk

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chitra622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews