We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western service for Asian price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Back Home Backpackers
Ranked #30 of 1,337 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed May 5, 2014

First of all their bunk beds are amazing! Definitely the best bunk beds I have ever come across on the many hostels I've visited. So big and comfy... In addition, there is perfect temperature in the dorms, nice pillows, good toilets, everything is clean, and everyone will definitely have a good sleep at this place.

Secondly, this hostel is nothing like the typical hostels you find in Asia where they only thing they care about is your money and the second you check out you don´t exist to them anymore. These guys takes care of you even after you have checked out and they don't charge a penny extra like all those other greedy hostels. Seems like the place attracts nice people and the owners are always there and participating in the social life...

Loving atmosphere and a cool lounge/bar to meet people. In addition its located really nice and it's close to the party streets...

And one more very important thing. One of the owners Lasse knows everything about south east Asia, where to go, how to get there, what to do.. Seems like he's done everything you can do here and his tips have helped me a lot on my journey. Just ask him and he will love to answer your questions or tell cool or horrible stories :p

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philryge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is not your typical dorm backpackers Hostel. The dormrooms are very clean and cozy. They feature fancy wooden beds with big thick mattresses! The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are hot. All around a great place! You will enjoy your stay here! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great place to stay during your time in Bangkok.
Friendly staff, very clean rooms and a great location that is far enough from Khao San Road to
be more quiet, but still close to it and other touristic ventures.
Really cute place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosefineHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was walking near Khaosan Road to look for a good place to stay when i was suddenly "shouted" by a good looking energetic girl named sophie, the owner. She and the other stuff are awesome! Friendly, Helpful and Cool.Talking with them is worth! If you need any help, they can help you for sure! If you are not staying there it is still worth to go there and drink a beer and hang around with the people. It is a Super Atmosphere
The Doorms are nice. They are clean, good temperatured and CHEAP! Same forr the Bathroom and the Hostel.
Check out this place and see by yourself. You won´t get dissapointed :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Super friendly people. Clean bathrooms. Cleanest dorms I've seen and exceeded my expectations, I'm really happy that I also got to make a few new friends and I will be returning. Great prices, beer pop bottled water wine. By far the best place I've seen!!! Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-mac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

So I arrived early into Bangkok and this is one of the few places iv seen that you can check in early. Because the place is very new not many people know where it is, however I was greeted by one of the owners near the hostel which he then showed me where it was. Both of the owners are amazing, there such nice people and will go out of there way to help you out. There very sociable people and like to get all the guests involved with things like nights out. There's a cool sitting area where you can chill and meet the other guests. This place is perfect for backpackers. The hostel it's self is really nice and of a very good standard with AC. Everyone has a little lock box under there bed which is useful for things like passports. The hostel is about 5minute walk away from koh san road which is the main place in Bangkok. I would definitely recommend this place to either a single or group travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#24 of 1,337 in Bangkok
293 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#32 of 1,337 in Bangkok
376 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#27 of 1,337 in Bangkok
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#17 of 1,337 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Ari
VM1 Hostel
VM1 Hostel
#12 of 1,337 in Bangkok
130 reviews
Banglamphu
Once Again Hostel
Once Again Hostel
#40 of 1,337 in Bangkok
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Home Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Home Backpackers

Address: 72 / 2 and 72/3 Samsen Soi 2 | Street opposite the 7/11, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,337 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $16 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Back Home Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Property is newly renovated, with clean bright rooms, hot showers, Air Con, Free Wifi,and fresh towels on arrival. All rooms feature a balcony through sliding doors access. Our funky Bar downstairs is a sanctuary for our Home stayers. With a selection of chilled beats, cushions, games, guitars, hula hoops and selected art supplies if you're feeling creative. Aussie and Thai ownership. We can help with all or any of your further travel needs, dive certificates, elephant care projects and local knowledge is our specialty. Our hostel is located close to all temples, shopping and transport whilst being on a local street with a warm Thai community that welcomes you as you stay, you might even have a game of soccer or two with the local kids on the block! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Back Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing