We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, better owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tealicious Bangkok

Tealicious Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: Tealicious serves delicious authentic Thai dishes including the famous "Tom Yum Goong", "Pad Thai" noodles and spicy fresh "Somtam". Every single dish is cooked fresh to order and we will cook each dish to your desired spice level. We are very aware of allergies and we can adapt each dish to exclude any allergic ingredients such as peanuts. Our dishes take a little longer to serve than many other restaurants, but the taste will be worth the wait. We serve a large variety of vegetarian dishes as well, our "Penang" vegetarian curry is very popular as are our homemade vegetarian spring rolls? Our international dishes include our rich creamy spaghetti carbonara served with homemade garlic bread, steaks and Caesar salads to name but a few. Our English breakfast consists of eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, toast, orange juice and a choice of either tea or coffee. We bake our own bread and cakes on the premises, our French chocolate cake is "to die for" and our "Club" sandwich is delicious. We have a large selection of fine teas, such as Earl Grey, Lady Grey, Yorkshire, English Breakfast, Marks & Spencer Gold, Tetley to name but a few. Our herbal selection includes Peppermint & Nettle, Mango & Cinnamon, Blueberry & Apple, Blackcurrant & Vanilla, Lemon & Ginger and Liquorice. We also offer delicious fresh smoothies, such as mango, banana, pineapple and mixed berries as well as freshly brewed coffee. We look forward to welcoming you at Tealicious and we are sure that you will not be disappointed.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, better owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My last review somehow didn't show up properly so I am writing it again, the first time I'm doing this, because I feel like this little place deserves it, so here it goes...

First of all, for all those people who complain about the food, what you are getting here is home styled unpretentious cooking that does curry and spicy dishes really well. If you are looking for something more haute cuisine, well, there is nahm and bo.lan, or you can always go for the street food in the MBK center or on one of the sois at night. But as an English-Thai family run cafe with such reasonable prices, its actually quite a reasonable place to grab a bite and drink if you are in the area.

But what really sold me were the friendly owners, who not only provided impeccable service, but also gave me the most down to earth and straightforward advice regarding the city itself, with tips on staying safe, which areas to visit, and such.

I had a great experience here, the food was good, the people who ran it, even better. So drop by if you are in the area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank yeeehawwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tealicious-Bangkok, Owner at Tealicious Bangkok, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a second review, it is really appreciated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our curries and the other dishes your ordered.

It was a pleasure talking to you and we hope that our advice was helpful.

Best wishes from all the team at Tealicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,437
    382
    110
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Little Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Went here after reading previous Tripadvisor reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed. In fact we were there when it became number 1, best papaya salad, spiced just to my liking, so good I went back for another go the next day for lunch. Great little cafe with the warmest of welcomes.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tealicious-Bangkok, Owner at Tealicious Bangkok, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Tealicious on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Somtam and that it was not too "Ped" and thanks for coming back for another visit.

We hope to welcome you back to Tealicious in the future.

Best wishes from all the team at Tealicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Is this a joke?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

As it is one of thr best ranked among almost 8000 restaurants, I stupidly followed the suggestions of the writers and went to this restaurant. I made especially a big tour to find this place. Not easy to find at all.
It was so disappointed in all aspects. We ordered one Thai food (fried rice) and one Western food - a steak. They did not ask about the cooking of the steak and brought it almost like stone, uneatable.

The rice was nothing special at all.

I completely don't understand how such a place can be ranked number one ??? There are thousand of places where you can eat much better for same or better prices, and no need to make special drive to get there.

I am really sorry for the owners because they were very friendly, this is sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ffbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tealicious-Bangkok, Owner at Tealicious Bangkok, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to hear about your visit to Tealicious and that you were so disappointed, please accept our apologies.

Would you please confirm the date and time of your visit to Tealicious so that we can check our records.

Our restaurant is a little hard to find we agree, was it not possible for you to phone us and ask for directions? We receive phone calls from taxi drivers and customers and we direct them to Tealicious without any problems.

We are sorry to hear that your steak was in your words "uneatable", why did you not request how you would like your steak, ie medium/rare, well done etc when you placed your order? Why did you not ask to see the Manager so that we could have replaced the steak for you?

Also the same applies to the rice, if you were that unsatisfied, why did you not ask to speak to the Manager when we would have had the opportunity to replace it for you?

Once again our apologies, we are certainly "not a joke" as you can see by the other reviews here on TripAdvisor.

Regards from Tealicious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try something else and still locally”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice and coxy little restaurent and tea house in one of Bangkok's many intriguing side streets. It's a "need to visit"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tealicious-Bangkok, Owner at Tealicious Bangkok, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your submitting your review, we hope that you can come back to visit us one day.

Best wishes from all the team at Tealicious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to try this small cafe out. We were very happy we did! The owners were so friendly and knowledgeable- giving us great tips to plan the next days excursions. The food was also the best Thai street food that we had eaten in our 3 week trip. Very reasonably priced too. Thank you to the lovely staff who made it such an enjoyable evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tealicious-Bangkok, Owner at Tealicious Bangkok, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nicole, thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope that one day you will come back to visit us.

Best wishes from all the team at Tealicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tealicious Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Tealicious Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing