We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sqeaky clean & well-positioned guesthouse off Khao San”
Review of Lamphu House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu House
Ranked #18 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really enjoyed this guesthouse for the value. Had a lively traveler atmosphere in the open-air lobby & restaurant downstairs. Very peaceful and relaxing at the same time though. The rooms are quite simple but good-looking and well-ventilated. It's a good choice if you need to take a step up from the dorm-room setting for a few days. I would either stay here or at Wild Orchid, which is a similarly good option. Had a single fan-cooled room for 250 baht. Bathroom/shower area was spotlessly maintained at all times. Friendly, mellow staff. They have wifi, the only thing is that you have to re-enter a new password every few hours which I found a little annoying, once you get it rolling, it works well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl0recitar0ckera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lamphu House enjoys an excellent location. You can reach most of the main attractions in downtown Bangkok conveniently by foot. Despite its close location to Khao San it's quite and not too busy around!
The rooms are very well quipped with nice teak furniture. The room as well as the attached bathroom are spacious and outstanding clean. We had a superior double room which additionally had a nice balcony facing the hotel yard. We arrived early in the morning, they kindly allowed us to keep our luggage in the storage room untel the room was ready for use. We even got two snippets with login data for the WIFI (5 hours free WIFI per user). The staff was friendly throughout our stay and solved any issues immediately (e.g. repairing bedside lamp). The guesthouse also possesses a tour desk where we arranged our airport transport by minibus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiskyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here at the start and end of our trip to Thailand.
The first night was faultless. Quiet location but only a few steps away fromt he main action. Staff are brilliant. Bare in mind you get what you pay for. We paid 600bht per night. The shower, bed, aircon and balcony were spot on for what we paid.
The second stay was slightly less ideal with the leaking aircon and the towels that smelt of fish?!?! not sure if it had a bad wash day but we air dried rather than use them. This would have been easily rectified if we had asked them to change the towels but we weren't that bothered really.
It's such a secluded place considering you're in the middle of Bangkok that it's amazing.
Great location, great tranquility and great prize!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent our first 3 nights of 57 away here - first time in Thailand.

The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke good English. The rooms were superb, clean and spacious and at a good price too (we had a twin superior but still only 750 baht a night!)The location is good for Koh San Road and only a small Tuk Tuk journey away from other places such as the market and temple.

Would recommend and we have booked another 2 nights at the end if our trip before the flight home!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Firm and friendly staff. Googod value for the money you have to pay. Central place, not far from night life at Kao San Road and not far from the main places like Grand Temple and Wat Po. Esay to reach frome al places.

Room Tip: Just relaxe in the small oase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff can be unpredictably hostile and caustic, but the rooms are fantastic and the ambiance in the common area is quite nice. Room prices are reasonable (550 baht for double with private bath and fan), but the breakfast is not included and the restaurant is quite expensive (we spent 330 baht for two breakfasts this morning) - however, given the proximity to Koh San, there are plenty of cheap eats in the immediate area.

On our first stay I would have given this place four stars (not five due to the behaviour of the staff), but after the strange verbal attack we received yesterday, it is hard to give this place a higher rating than two stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveling_Daire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Lamphu House for two nights - we wanted to extend but they were full, so we ended up a far-lesser place down the road. For us, Soi Rambuttri was the perfect location - close enough to Khao San Road, but a bit away from the craziness. Lamphu is set back off the Soi (look for an alleyway between a 7-11/Money changer and a massage salon) so it's nice and quiet. There is a pleasant courtyard where you can sit and use the wifi and have a beer/snack.

We had a fan double with bathroom on the first floor - 560baht. The room was smallish and sparsely furnished but clean and the fan was excellent as the heat in Bangkok was a bit of shock to the system after the UK winter. The bed was comfy and we could access the wifi too. The shower was warm and they supply mini shampoos and soap.

The staff weren't super friendly but not rude or agressive - you're not going to get many hugs and smiles in a budget hotel in Khao San area so don't expect it. You have to pay a 500baht key deposit but hang onto your receipt and you'll get it back once they've made sure you haven't trashed the place when you check out. There are lockers for valuables in a locked room in reception which we found useful.

All in all, Lamphu House and Soi Rambuttri was a perfect introduction to Bangkok for us and we would stay there again. We did try to book for our return to Bangkok but they were full - so book early. The web booking system is a bit convoluted but you get there in the end.

Room Tip: You can (just about) access wifi from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#146 of 887 in Bangkok
1,854 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 887 in Bangkok
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#21 of 887 in Bangkok
1,766 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#35 of 728 in Bangkok
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu House

Address: 75 Soi Ram buttri, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $13 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lamphu House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing