We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worn out hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I-Residence Hotel Silom
Ranked #303 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worn out hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

i have stayed at this hotel 4 times now , and the latest a month ago , its gone downhill ,as far as im concerned , and should not be rated 4 star , maybe 3 at the beat . stayed in a grand deluxe room on the 4 th floor , which was awful , views of outside walls , dirty smudge marks on the walls , horrible smoke smell , shower fixture broken, , check in staff and breakfast egg station cooks were all sour . and the breakfast was so poor , salad bar was filled with lettuce and some cold meat . will not stay here again till service smartens up , and rooms refreshed , far better places to stay in the area , at the same price , lift your game i residence

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    765
    285
    111
    56
See reviews for
87
253
160
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice and cozy hotel at Chong Nonsi BTS station. Excellent breakfast buffet. Very affordable. Silom road is next to hotel with night market and nightlife. The rooms are quite large with a nice bathroom. WIFI is fast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VidNikolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel for the location only, although the rooms were clean and spacious if you had one with a kitchenette, they could have done with a little bit of updating. The breakfast did not blow me away and i found it quite hot in the eating area as if they had no air con on at all.

The Pool area was nice especially at night if you wanted to have a relaxing drink just chilling, the menu was ok nothing to write home about.

I would not by choice use again, i think their are much better options in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Generally the hotel is well located with the BTS station is just few steps away, with lots of street foods along the road, center of the city, etc.

The hotel rental - I will say is value for money IF & ONLY IF .... All the followings is not on charge !!!

1) WIFI - I suppose a lot of cheap hotels are providing free wifi as well, anyway I should knw that this hotel is not providing fre wifi, but the thing I can't accept is, I paid for the wifi & is only can use for one gadget !!! Which means, we have 2 ppls in a room, each of us have to pay for it & also if each of us have more than one devices .. Say 2 gadgets, then total we need to pay is 200THB for 3 days x 4 gadgets = 800THB ..

2) Request to help to make a local call - well .. Is much ridiculous that they charged me RM2/min !!! I suppose this is their favour to help up their customer as their customer can't speak Thai ? & in fact the call, I thk is not more than 30second & they still charged us !! So bad !!

3) Breakfast not included - in other way, charge again

4) Room's Mini Bar - Everything is charged except the 2 small mineral waters ...

So ... Conclusion ! They only attract u with their lower room rate to attract u but when u are here, everything they charge ! So my advise is, is ok if u only stay for sleep only ... Then is fine .. In term of relaxing .. That I suppose u mau request more .. Then pls make other choice !

To the Hotel Management: Please improve !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaceyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Location is good to Thai nightclub area of Silom (walking distance). BTS Skytrain, (airconditioned public transport) Chong Nonsi station is right at the front door that takes you all over Bangkok. Local food sold at night all around the hotel. New Super Deluxe suites are cleaner, bigger and more modern than the older rooms. If you don't care, take the regular rooms. Breakfast and Pool on the rooftop is nice too. Really nothing to complain about at all. But remember the hotel is NOT the Hilton or Marriott so don't expect perfection. Staff are friendly and polite. Wifi/Internet is not free any more. But just 100 Baht for a 24 hour block (can log in and out to make it last longer).

Room Tip: Choose Super Deluxe (if you want newer rooms with more space) but pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The good: The rooms are comfortable and clean but a little worn around the edges. The price is unbeatable ($30 USD/night). The location is very convenient. The rooftop pool looks very lovely in the evening.
The bad: The quality of the rooms varies from one to the other. The service is about as warm as an ATM machine. The first impression the hotel gives is not great because it looks more like a check cashing company than a hotel. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom were rusty and loose.
They completely ignored my request for a non-smoking room. BUT, they did fix it after MUCH insistance on my part.

My experience in travelling through mid level hotels in Asia seems to hold: They will generally give you a room that suits THEM not you, despite your requests. If you have a special need, or if you are unsatisfied with the room, you must make it very clear to them when you arrive, and you must hold firm and they will usually accomodate you. I particularly can not stand hotel rooms that smell of smoke (sorry smokers), and I always ask for a non smoking room. This hotel sent me into a room in the smoking building (there are two buildings, one allows smoke, one doesn't). As soon as the elevator door opened, it was clear this was a smoker's hotel. The bellhop told me to see the room first. The room was large, and comfortable but it smelled badly of smoke. There was even an ashtray. I told the bellhop that I can not sleep in this room and he called the desk and they apologized and said no other room was available this evening. After I was polite but firm, they managed to find a room in the non smoking building. The room was much smaller, but it did not smell of smoke at all. Again, make your request known BEFORE you book, and politely make it clear what your needs are.
The room had a rattling air conditioner, but it was mostly a comfortable hotel. The shower ran hot and cold but nothing too bad. It was certainly not a 5 star luxury hotel, but it is the kind of place that a lone traveler, or a fun couple could happily call home for a few days. And the money saved on the room could be put to a daily massage or two.
One note for the squeamish: The "mini-bar" included a couple of packages of condoms for sale. This didn't mesh with the general vibe of the hotel, but, after all, it is Bangkok. The majority of other guests I saw were also from Taiwan, but there were a few Frenchies, Germans, and Australians there as well. All equally ignored/tolerated by the staff.

Room Tip: Smokers should be happy with the smoking tower. The room they showed in that building was quite lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are with a group of friends total we've booked and fully paid to the PYO travel on early Jan 2013. All together we have booked 12 rooms in I-Residence at Silom. When we booked we had remarked that we will check in late. When we check in the hotel today we are totally disappointed because the hotel only gave us a total of 10 rooms only and while our full payment booking were make are 12 rooms. The lady who claim herself as General manager at front desk are so rude and bad attitude and telling us we only can have 10 rooms to cater for about 24pax of us. Means some of my friends going to squeeze in 4 pax a room. Hotel reason with the room shortage is because of air-conditioner down and also is Songkran festival so hotel is fully booked. With this reason hotels still charged us the extra bed charges. This is ridiculous!

We fully paid for the 12 rooms fees, but you only get 10 rooms, with the extra bed for some of my friends they have to pay the extra bed charges. What is the hotel policies ?

Cleanliness, The reception area there is a foul smell of dead rodent. Room very small, interior furniture bad and smelly. Bad in-room sound proof, our room are just right beside the lift, foot step, phone tone, doorbell is so annoying.

We booked the hotel is because of the great location to celebrate Songkran Festival, with the bad experience and the attitude of this hotel, is totally spoiled our holiday mood. With this rate, we can find other better hotel at this area.

NO more 2nd time for this hotel. The ever worst hotel experience in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antzhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#312 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#728 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#179 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#185 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#279 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-Residence Hotel Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-Residence Hotel Silom

Property: I-Residence Hotel Silom
Address: 93 Narathivas Rachanakarin Road Soi 3, Silom | Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I-Residence Hotel Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable boutique hotel in Bangkok with a location that will please the tourist and the businessman, just steps from public transportation. Situated between Silom and Sathorn district, adjacent to BTS Chong Nonsi Station surrounded by business area and shopping attractions, i-Residence Silom Bangkok Hotel provides a full range of facilities, 24 hour services as well as a trustworthy security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your I-Residence Hotel Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Residence Bangkok
i Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing