We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, just one unfortunate incident”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I-Residence Hotel Silom
Ranked #304 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel, just one unfortunate incident”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the price that i paid, about S$50 per night, it is really value for money, location is good, bed is clean, room well maintained hardly anything to complain about

however, an incident left a bitter taste..
one early evening about 7pm, after my friend and i went back to the hotel, i cant find the key card, and we went down and tell the front desk that i might had left the key card in the slot by the door..
A front desk staff escorted us up to the room and open the door for us and there i saw that the card was not in the slot
i told the staff that i might have lost the card, then she informed us that there will be a charge of 100thb which i accepted it, and i ask her to get me a new card now..
she then told me that she can only get me the card at 10pm! (three hours later!)
i asked her why does it have to take so long to get a new card, she tried to explain to me, but i cant understand her, then i just accept my fate and tell her i will get it from her later then

and just before she leave the room, she removed the card that turns on the power in the room and a minute later, my friend and i were left in the dark and air conless room.
my friend and i were so dumbfounded by the stupidity of the staff that sat in the dark room for a few minutes whether to laugh cry or get angry

luckily, my friend checked his wallet and realised the key card was with him all along but that is besides the point.

i have read in trip advisor that an incident like that had happened before, and i cannot believe that it actually happened to me and obviously the management didnt take feedback seriously and yet they still hang a trip advisor.com plaque on their wall..

based on the price that i had paid, i didnt have much high expectations, i have overheard some other guest asking for extra pillows, towels, and got upset because they will be charged extra, but hey.. it's only s$50. i think everything else about this hotel is good except the above unfortunate incident

i have written (yes, hand written) a two page letter to the manager because i think it's a good hotel, other than a stupid procedure that can be fixed easily to make it an even better hotel.

i will definitely choose this hotel to stay again, and either hope that they have fixed this problem or safe guard my key with all my life

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank utonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    769
    288
    113
    57
See reviews for
89
258
161
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spacious room I got at RM 911. Easily accessible to BTS. Now if only mid-price hotels in Bangkok can give a free wi-fi access then it really is amazing Thailand.I would definitely stay in my future visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is fairly good. Nearby to many roadside stalls, markets and walking distance to Patpong if that is your thing.

The hotel is clean. Prices are average. Do not expect much from the buffet, but the taste isn't too bad.

There is a BTS stop right outside and also a 7/11 with loads of food. If you can, make sure to try their pork sausages. It's really good.

The room itself is not bad. The only thing was the water heater is a little wonky. Sometimes it's just nice and at other times it can either be too hot or too cold.

I can't say much about the staff other than that they are friendly during check ins and check outs because we didn't need to ask for any help. However, from my observation, they do try to help as best as they can but sometimes they won't be able to understand your question because their english is rather limited.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with more than 1 other person, do take the taxis instead as it would be much c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dldc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and were upgraded to the new wing. Spacious room and great bed. The mattress was so good that we slept so well. Didn't expect too much since it's cheap. The worst thing was the shower. I could never control the right temperture. If you like taking cold water shower, it will be ok. I didn't really mind because of the pros. It's just right next to the bts chong nonsi station.
The room rate includes the breakfast buffet. What else can you expect?
There is a infinity pool, small but clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwingogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good hotel to spend few nights while in the city. Centrally located, well accessible. Surraunding area not luxury, but most of Bangkok like this. Price is very reasonable. Spend here two time for 1 night each and have nothing to complain for price paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here two nights and was happy with most things room was clean and spacious and quite modern.Breakfast was average but it did have a chef serving your eggs to the style you required.The best thing about the hotel was the location right next to chong nonsi bts and there were lots of street food vendors coffee shops and great markets around the hotel.All in all a hotel well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chealySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 7 guys on a trip to Bangkok. Our original reservation was with the I Residence Sathorn. But when we reached the hotel we were told that they were having problems with their water supply system and that we were requested to move to their other property in Silom. We didn't have any problem with that. However they also offered us an upgrade to complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience caused. We thought that was a great gesture.

The Silom property was pretty good with a roof top restaurant and pool. The rooms were reasonably large and well appointed. The breakfast was a pretty decent spread, specially if you are a meat eater. The location is little far from Bangkok's main attractions but there is a metro station right outside. There are lots of eating options nearby right from restaurants to street food.

A special mention is necessary for the super polite and courteous staff in both hotels.

Overall I would rate the hotel a very nice option.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#305 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#747 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#179 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#187 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#294 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-Residence Hotel Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-Residence Hotel Silom

Property: I-Residence Hotel Silom
Address: 93 Narathivas Rachanakarin Road Soi 3, Silom | Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I-Residence Hotel Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable boutique hotel in Bangkok with a location that will please the tourist and the businessman, just steps from public transportation. Situated between Silom and Sathorn district, adjacent to BTS Chong Nonsi Station surrounded by business area and shopping attractions, i-Residence Silom Bangkok Hotel provides a full range of facilities, 24 hour services as well as a trustworthy security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your I-Residence Hotel Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Residence Bangkok
i Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing