We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arun Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arun Residence
Ranked #39 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent our last night in this beautiful boutique hotel on the banks of the Chaophraya river with stunning views over Wat Arun. The hotel and rooms were really well designed with lots of character. We had complementary drinks in the rooftop bar watching the sun set over the temple (tables with views were in high demand!) and then went to the restaurant for a really delicious dinner. A wonderful last night. Wish we could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinseyDenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    102
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
42
174
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice place but way over priced, the main attraction is the fact that the hotel is located front row to the river opposite to the temple but it comes with a price… 24 hours aqua traffic and noise coming out of ferries, cargo boats, tourist boats and you name it. the rooms are clean and well designed till the smallest details but if you don't get your self one with a balcony then you can forget of any windows for fresh air, a perfect aquarium with Glasses (which you can barely see the view from) but no option to open a window at all.
Breakfast was beyond a doubt the poorest if not the worst we had during our 2 weeks vacation in Thailand. The hotel has a nice panoramic Bar on the roof floor but get ready for some nasty mosquito bites due to it's location so close to the river.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in the Jasmine Suite for three nights. We did have to wait awhile for check in. The room was clean and beautiful. The wifi was pretty spotty. The view we had of Wat Arun was amazing, and we were within walking distance of Wat Pho and the Grand Palace. The area was really quaint and it was easy to take a boat across to Wat Arun as well. The restaurant was pretty good, but we would have preferred more local options. Overall this was a great little boutique hotel right on the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westcoast4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

we stayed in Arun residence for 3 nights at the end of our trip. Location was good, staff were professional and friendly and we had the Lotus suite which was nice. I wouldn't suggest this is a 5 star hotel, I might suggest a boutique hotel.
The one reason above any other hotel to stay here is the view- you can see the wat Arun temple and watch all the boats go past whilst having breakfast in the morning and have a drink in the evening and watch the Wat Arun light up. it was spectacular. The location is the key to this hotel, again the views are stunning.
I would say that the rooms themselves aren't that spectacular, we had a small window which overlooked the river but it also mean the people in the restaurant could look straight into our room if the curtains weren't drawn. I definitely think the hotel could have made a bigger ferature of the view in the rooms. The shower is small. My partner couldn't actually stand in one part of the room as the ceilings were so low. However the rooms were very clean, tidied daily and although may be starting to show their age they are still well maintained and looked after. it is lovely and quiet too. The AC was great too. Rooms were spacious.

It is well located and you can easily walk to the peir to cross the river (be careful of the tuk tuk/ scams (4o bhat and they take you around, whilst stopping at many shops ''to get petrol voucher'' refuse to go to the shops and take a GREEN tuk tuk which are local drivers, you aren't doing the drivers a favour visiting shops- Be careful of the sapphire/gem scam- if it sounds too good to be true it probably is!) We found there were many tuk tuk drivers waiting around this area- genuine and non- genuine. There is an awesome taxi driver who hangs around at the end of the road in the evenings- hes hilarious!!)

Generally this hotel was nice, worth the money we paid and we would stay again
Overall the hotel was nice- we got a flash deal so paid £40 a night. I would suggest its worth that. not necessarily more. No pool but then you probably wont use one in Bangkok anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want a great position on the river with great views of wat arun and right next door to wat po and the grand palace this is a good place to stay. Rooms are comfortable but try to get one of the suites where you have a view of the river and a balcony. Food in the restaurant is really good. The only downside of this location is at night there are not many open restaurants nearby (although the neighboring 2 are great as well) and lack of public transport means it's a taxi home if you want to go back closer to the city. If you want the bangkok buzz you may want to stay somewhere closer to it. Best and cheapest transport is up and down the river via express boat but it stops at 7pm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarionB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have come back to this place for the view of the arun temple. Hence one must ask for a river view. No point being here if no room with river view. The rooms are beautiful, rather large and beautifully decorated. The view of the temple is magnificent. Wat poh is just across the road and royal palace too. Those are positive aspects of this place. The negative are that is can be loud until 2 am or so as guest in the roof restaurant stay late and get drunk. Transport to and from the hotel is by taxi or public boat service but that stops running on the evening. Hence great touristic sites but not that week placed transport-wise. Finally, its �100 per night in a double room. Despite the views, I think this is too pricy. But as I said, the view IS magnificent and this is why I did come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Coming there more over 6 years now it's still one of the most beautiful, welcoming and romantic places in the old heart of Bangkok's Rattanakosin Island on the banks of the Chao Phraya River
near the King's Palace & Wat Pho Temple! A calm Boutique Jewel in a old wonderful restored Teak Warehouse you find 6 lovely decorated rooms with a wonderful view
& a great Restaurant The Deck & Amorosa Bar on the Roof with Wat Arun View! The Arun Residence has now two also charming sister hotels in the neighborhood, Sala Arun & Chetuphon Gate !!!

Room Tip: My preferred room is LEELAVADEE ! Very great choice too is the smaller CHABA or the ARUN SUITE with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#290 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Banglamphu
Sala Arun
Sala Arun
#53 of 604 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#79 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn A Day
#5 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#65 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Banglamphu
Arom d Hostel
Arom d Hostel
#164 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arun Residence

Property: Arun Residence
Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong | Maharat Rd | Bangkok 10200, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, by the river, opposite Temple of Dawn. Guest will enjoy authentic Thai service with Sinology-Portugese architect - it's original set up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arun Residence Bangkok
Arun Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing