We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view of wat arun”
Review of Arun Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arun Residence
Ranked #37 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of wat arun”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want a great position on the river with great views of wat arun and right next door to wat po and the grand palace this is a good place to stay. Rooms are comfortable but try to get one of the suites where you have a view of the river and a balcony. Food in the restaurant is really good. The only downside of this location is at night there are not many open restaurants nearby (although the neighboring 2 are great as well) and lack of public transport means it's a taxi home if you want to go back closer to the city. If you want the bangkok buzz you may want to stay somewhere closer to it. Best and cheapest transport is up and down the river via express boat but it stops at 7pm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarionB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    107
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
45
181
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have come back to this place for the view of the arun temple. Hence one must ask for a river view. No point being here if no room with river view. The rooms are beautiful, rather large and beautifully decorated. The view of the temple is magnificent. Wat poh is just across the road and royal palace too. Those are positive aspects of this place. The negative are that is can be loud until 2 am or so as guest in the roof restaurant stay late and get drunk. Transport to and from the hotel is by taxi or public boat service but that stops running on the evening. Hence great touristic sites but not that week placed transport-wise. Finally, its �100 per night in a double room. Despite the views, I think this is too pricy. But as I said, the view IS magnificent and this is why I did come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Coming there more over 6 years now it's still one of the most beautiful, welcoming and romantic places in the old heart of Bangkok's Rattanakosin Island on the banks of the Chao Phraya River
near the King's Palace & Wat Pho Temple! A calm Boutique Jewel in a old wonderful restored Teak Warehouse you find 6 lovely decorated rooms with a wonderful view
& a great Restaurant The Deck & Amorosa Bar on the Roof with Wat Arun View! The Arun Residence has now two also charming sister hotels in the neighborhood, Sala Arun & Chetuphon Gate !!!

Room Tip: My preferred room is LEELAVADEE ! Very great choice too is the smaller CHABA or the ARUN SUITE with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ontario
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This place will depend on what type of traveller you are. We stayed here first 3 nights of our 1 month SE Asia tour on honeymoon. If your a first timer to Bangkok as we were this probably isn't the place for you. It's hard to get too, it's in old city.. Only close to temples but nothing else Bangkok has to offer. No reasraurants close to eat at etc. Arun doesn't provide enough service for tourists. For instance we asked about tours but they didn't know about tours listed in service book in the room when we inquired.
Overall nice little B&B style, rooms are nice, food good but there is
better to be had for the first timers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlovers7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This boutique hotel's location, directly across from Wat Arun, is a treat - very little street noise, which is a major plus in the busy Bangkok district. However, The noise from the river boats starts early. We stayed in the suite on the top floor, which had a private balcony, living area and a very comfortable bed with super soft sheets. We loved the little touches in the hotel. For example, ceramic shampoo/soap/ lotion dispensers instead of plastic. As many people have said, taxi drivers will have trouble finding the street. Ask them to take you to Wat Po and find it from there - make sure you have a printed map! The only reason I am giving this hotel four stars is due to breakfast. For a tourist in Bangkok, you need to get a early start. When we arrived, they told us breakfast would be served at 7:30. All three mornings of our stay, we were waiting for them to set up. One morning, there was no service until 8:30am. The third morning, we gave up and decided to get porridge by the dock. Plus, the coffee was terrible. For the price, I would have expected better. Otherwise, I'd recommend this hotel to someone staying in Bangkok for a few days.

Room Tip: Get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights when we first arrived in Bangkok. Had some trouble finding it as the 1 taxi and 1 tuktuk driver had know idea where they were going. Best bet is to get them to had to the grand palace and have a printed map with you.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were beautiful and very charming. The views from the bar and restaurant at night at fantastic.

It is a bit out of the way but if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Arun for our first 3 days in Thailand last weekend. As everyone mentions, it is perfectly situated, right on the river and directly across the river from the Temple of the Dawn. The temple was the first thing we saw every morning when we got up, and every night before we went to bed. It was a stunning sight!

Our room, the Ratchapruek Suite, was large, with a sitting area, a huge bathroom and a deck, although it was too hot to enjoy the deck. It is on the top floor, so the view from the floor to ceiling windows was terrific. It is up several flights of dark stairs which made navigating tough at night or when carrying suitcases. The only issue was that the bar was above us, and while we couldn't hear talking and laughter at night, we could hear footsteps and dragging chairs until about 11 pm. Also, neither our safe nor our TV worked, and while neither posed a major problem, the fact that neither was fixed in 3 days underscores what I consider the issue with the hotel.....service.

I asked to change $100 US into bahts and was told it was impossible to change US dollars. I asked how we could check out at 5:30 am and was told no one would be around. I asked how we would leave the hotel our final morning, and was told I would have to unlock the front door to get out. Luckily our driver agreed to come up to the top floor to get our suitcases.

We loved the location in the old part of the city ( many people won't) and we ate in the restaurants in the " neighborhood" so we were not bothered by cab issues. Several main tourist attractions are very near. Our complimentary breakfasts were great, if you ordered something simple. No one had a clue what a fried egg over hard was, so I got a runny white and yolk! In fact , I only saw two people who were fairly fluent in English (the manager and a waitstaff person), which wouldn't have been an issue if they were around a lot.

If I could be assured that the service issues would be corrected, I would recommend this little hotel to anyone. It has a lot going for it, but the service issues, at this point, are significant.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early, better to choose the Arun Suite, which may be smaller but won't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#219 of 867 in Bangkok
293 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#271 of 867 in Bangkok
194 reviews
Sala Arun
#54 of 670 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 670 in Bangkok
437 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#35 of 1,245 in Bangkok
118 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#64 of 1,245 in Bangkok
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arun Residence

Property: Arun Residence
Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong | Maharat Rd | Bangkok 10200, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, by the river, opposite Temple of Dawn. Guest will enjoy authentic Thai service with Sinology-Portugese architect - it's original set up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arun Residence Bangkok
Arun Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing