We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok location”
Review of Arun Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arun Residence
Ranked #35 of 741 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This place will depend on what type of traveller you are. We stayed here first 3 nights of our 1 month SE Asia tour on honeymoon. If your a first timer to Bangkok as we were this probably isn't the place for you. It's hard to get too, it's in old city.. Only close to temples but nothing else Bangkok has to offer. No reasraurants close to eat at etc. Arun doesn't provide enough service for tourists. For instance we asked about tours but they didn't know about tours listed in service book in the room when we inquired.
Overall nice little B&B style, rooms are nice, food good but there is
better to be had for the first timers.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovers7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 317 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

This boutique hotel's location, directly across from Wat Arun, is a treat - very little street noise, which is a major plus in the busy Bangkok district. However, The noise from the river boats starts early. We stayed in the suite on the top floor, which had a private balcony, living area and a very comfortable bed with super soft sheets. We loved the little touches in the hotel. For example, ceramic shampoo/soap/ lotion dispensers instead of plastic. As many people have said, taxi drivers will have trouble finding the street. Ask them to take you to Wat Po and find it from there - make sure you have a printed map! The only reason I am giving this hotel four stars is due to breakfast. For a tourist in Bangkok, you need to get a early start. When we arrived, they told us breakfast would be served at 7:30. All three mornings of our stay, we were waiting for them to set up. One morning, there was no service until 8:30am. The third morning, we gave up and decided to get porridge by the dock. Plus, the coffee was terrible. For the price, I would have expected better. Otherwise, I'd recommend this hotel to someone staying in Bangkok for a few days.

Room Tip: Get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights when we first arrived in Bangkok. Had some trouble finding it as the 1 taxi and 1 tuktuk driver had know idea where they were going. Best bet is to get them to had to the grand palace and have a printed map with you.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were beautiful and very charming. The views from the bar and restaurant at night at fantastic.

It is a bit out of the way but if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Arun for our first 3 days in Thailand last weekend. As everyone mentions, it is perfectly situated, right on the river and directly across the river from the Temple of the Dawn. The temple was the first thing we saw every morning when we got up, and every night before we went to bed. It was a stunning sight!

Our room, the Ratchapruek Suite, was large, with a sitting area, a huge bathroom and a deck, although it was too hot to enjoy the deck. It is on the top floor, so the view from the floor to ceiling windows was terrific. It is up several flights of dark stairs which made navigating tough at night or when carrying suitcases. The only issue was that the bar was above us, and while we couldn't hear talking and laughter at night, we could hear footsteps and dragging chairs until about 11 pm. Also, neither our safe nor our TV worked, and while neither posed a major problem, the fact that neither was fixed in 3 days underscores what I consider the issue with the hotel.....service.

I asked to change $100 US into bahts and was told it was impossible to change US dollars. I asked how we could check out at 5:30 am and was told no one would be around. I asked how we would leave the hotel our final morning, and was told I would have to unlock the front door to get out. Luckily our driver agreed to come up to the top floor to get our suitcases.

We loved the location in the old part of the city ( many people won't) and we ate in the restaurants in the " neighborhood" so we were not bothered by cab issues. Several main tourist attractions are very near. Our complimentary breakfasts were great, if you ordered something simple. No one had a clue what a fried egg over hard was, so I got a runny white and yolk! In fact , I only saw two people who were fairly fluent in English (the manager and a waitstaff person), which wouldn't have been an issue if they were around a lot.

If I could be assured that the service issues would be corrected, I would recommend this little hotel to anyone. It has a lot going for it, but the service issues, at this point, are significant.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early, better to choose the Arun Suite, which may be smaller but won't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is located right on the riverside of Chaopraya River with a gorgeous view onto What Arun.
The hotel combines great atmosphere with very tasteful interior design and top notch service. Also the staff are very friendly and will do everything to make your stay a pleasant one. Our room (Jasmine Suite) was very spacious, had a very nice bathroom, nice furnishing and a marvelous view onto the beautiful What Arun.
In addition to all of this the hotel is also located in one of the best areas possible. Three minutes walk to What Arun (with the lying Buddha), five minutes to the Grand Palace and amulet market and around a 10-15 minutes walk to Pahurat (Little India) and Yaowarat (Chinatown). One really couldn't wish to be in a better location.
We definitely will come back there and can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while in Bangkok. Location was good close to many of the places we wanted to visit. Right near Wat Pho, and Grand Palace with a short walk to an interesting night market that was full of produce and good street food. The view from the bar of Wat Arun is amazing. The room it's self was good. We had a little loft. Only problem with it was the ceiling was a little low down stairs, but I am 6'5" so I have that trouble quite frequently in Asia. One of the previous reviewers had trouble with the cabs. We had no trouble getting one as the staff at the front desk called without a problem, but not speaking Thai does seem to make it much more likely that taking a taxi will be difficult.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Arun Residence for our first two nights in Bangkok before flying to Chiang Mai. The hotel was lovely and our room, which was called 'Chaba' was a cute little suite with the bedroom up a little staircase. The bathroom was particularly nice, with a big rain forest shower- and actual conditioner as well as shampoo, which you don't often get in hotels! The staff were very polite and helpful and breakfast was very nice, and cooked to order. The view from the restaurant is indeed lovely, and the food was good too, if a little pricey.

Our only issue was that, when we went out to eat on our second evening, everything had closed by the time we made it out, after 9pm. There were a few restaurants on the same road but they had all closed around 8pm, which left us the options of getting a taxi to take us somewhere else, or getting food from the 7-Eleven and/or the street vendor outside it, which we did! Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel- but do be aware that eateries in this area seem to shut early.

The hotel is right next to Wat Pho and across from the Grand Palace. Other sites seemed to be quite far away and we did a lot of walking, but we didn't have any issues getting taxis to or from the hotel, as another guest has described.

Overall we loved this hotel, and it was a great start to our trip round SE Asia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#286 of 891 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#192 of 891 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sala Arun
#57 of 741 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 741 in Bangkok
475 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#53 of 1,385 in Bangkok
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arun Residence

Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong | Maharat Rd | Bangkok 10200, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 741 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $97 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, by the river, opposite Temple of Dawn. Guest will enjoy authentic Thai service with Sinology-Portugese architect - it's original set up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arun Residence Bangkok
Arun Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing