We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok gem”
Review of Arun Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arun Residence
Ranked #40 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Here is a genuine boutique hotel. Just six rooms, quirky but exquisite in an incomparable position tucked into an alleyway on the river's edge, opposite the Temple of the Dawn and in the heart of the historical district. The Arun Suite, small but well appointed, has its own private balcony. Tourists and Thais in the know fill up the water's edge restaurant. A charming owner and friendly staff make this my favourite BVangkok hideaway hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 312 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been to Thailand many times and stayed in major hotels, but when a friend of mine decided that we should try a smaller but boutique like; that was how I discovered Arun Residence.

We had dinner at The Deck, the Arun temple is lit up and boats pass by Chaopraya River ever 5 minutes make this place feel amazingly romantic. It's a rare feeling for Bangkok

The food at The Deck hotel is good, the bar on the second floor is very cosy and the prices are reasonable. My room feels very much like living in a nice house in Asia.

I now have a new favorite place to stay, dine and wine whenever I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank born2taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A friend recommended this place...and now I am grateful to him. The hotel was difficult to find but I called them up from the taxi and then it was fine. One reason I will stay again is the superb food. Good views...comfy rooms..great service and Thai ambience...all at affordable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuruR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a really solid property tucked away in an unbeatable spot. It is on the river, in easy walking/ferry distance to four of the top sights in town. If you can spring for the Arun Suite, do so. The private porch overlooking the river and Arun Wat at sunset is well worth it.

Room Tip: Book the Arun suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a relaxing week at Koh Samui, we checked into Arun Residence. One could feel that it stands for its name "A Residence", a place with Warmth rather than the usual stereotypical Hotel Courtesy elsewhere. The wooden staircase leading to the Simple but Exotic Room with Wooden Floors, low ceilings, low lying beds took us in surprise and gave us such a feel-at-home experience which we've been missing living in Abu Dhabi. That was only for Starters. "The Deck" is a Restaurant and Bar which gave breathtaking views of the Wat Arun by the River. With the city settling after a bustling busy day, we were in the midst of an exhilarating sun-downer sipping our lovely cock-tails to some smooth jazz and chilled out beats. Overall, we recommend this place for people who appreciate the sweetness of simplicity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad_Explorer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arun Residence made a great base for us. We stayed in Bangkok for 2 weeks catching up with friends and showing our son around for the first week of his first visit to Thailand. There is so much to see within walking distance of the guest house and at this time of the year it is a relief to be able to come back to a spotless room have a shower and a nap and then head out again refreshed. The staff have been extremely helpful and attentive to our requests.
The location right on the river is great - beautiful view to Wat Arun out of our window - and the river is surprisingly peaceful at night.
So - its been great, and highly recommended to anyone.
PP

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here last October and have only just got around to writing a review... This place was everything its meant to be! Wow....

Firstly there was great communication. Bangkok was flooding when we were due to stay there, and the hotel kept in contact with us in the days leading up to our stay to give us the latest news. They assured us we would be fine, but if we wanted to change our mind they offered us a full refund!

We stayed in the top suite facing the river and what can I say... WOW ... from the moment we walked in I didnt want to leave... it is everything a boutique hotel should be. Flowers on the window sill, a balcony with views to die for, a luxurious bathroom and the worlds most comfortable bed... facing the amazing view! I was quite happy to be flooded in to that room! LOL

Breakfast included was great, including champagne which was lovely for our last day of holiday!

I honestly cannot rave about this place enough. We were lucky to get a 30% discount on the room but if I went back to Bangkok with a loved one I would definitely find the extra cash to splurge here!

Excellent staff (although maybe the only complaint was that the breakfast staff spoke minimal English and got our order wrong... but hey we are in thailand so maybe next time I will order it in Thai!), excellent service, beautiful room... very romantic place to stay... We were lucky to be able to sit on our balcony and watch a huge lightening show on our last night! Beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for Arun Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#277 of 890 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#204 of 890 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 890 in Bangkok
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sala Arun
#57 of 731 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 731 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#53 of 1,345 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arun Residence

Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong | Maharat Rd | Bangkok 10200, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $94 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, by the river, opposite Temple of Dawn. Guest will enjoy authentic Thai service with Sinology-Portugese architect - it's original set up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arun Residence Bangkok
Arun Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing