We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”
Review of Arun Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arun Residence
Ranked #36 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
1 review
“perfect stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

First night of honeymoon and stayed in the Arun suite, beautiful view over the river looking at the temple, thai food at restaurant yummy and service top notch. Would definitely recommend staying at this traditional Thai style boutique hotel. The manageress is lovely, very helpful and speaks perfect English.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    105
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
45
176
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovely place to stay with your family and especially for a holiday with your bromance.

Such a fantastic place to observes the nice view of Wat Arun.

The place is clean and the staffs are very friendly and helpful.

Yet we sure to come back for a second stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakamol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

amazing little boutique hotel, beautiful rooms and friendly staff... best view on the river, and a great central location!
all amenities are there, including fast internet, bottled water and nice breakfast... a must for everyone visiiting Bangkok!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart30VDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My family of four stayed 2 nights in the Jasmine Suite. The room view afforded us to see the local people working and living, the tourists enjoying the dinner cruises, and the Wat Arun illuminated in the backdrop. The suite was spacious and clean. The location of the hotel is in walking distance from the top tourist destinations in Bangkok. The area seemed to close down after 6:00pm but a quick Tuk tuk ride and you can be at a restaurant or market in no time. The staff did not speak English well but we had no problems communicating. The hotel was a bit expensive in comparison. However, we felt we had a more authentic experience staying in this hotel than the chain hotels we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After reading many good reviews and seeing the photos of the views from this hotel, we decided to stay for a night in transit from Chiang Mai to Krabi. I'm very happy we only booked one night. Upon arrival, it took a very long time before we were even acknowledged at the front desk. It was dinner time and the reception person was busy taking care of checks for the restaurant servers. We finally got to our room and were disappointed to only have a partial view of the river/temple. There was a window in the room, but outside the window was a hallway and then another window which looked outside. If you stay here, I highly recommend you get a room with a balcony. We then decided to go enjoy the view from the restaurant and sat on the second level - it was beautiful. The food was good, but no better than many places in Bangkok. You are paying more for the view than the food. It was hot so I ordered a glass of white wine. The amount in the glass was so small I drank it in 3 sips - order a beer instead. On the positive side, the room was clean and very comfortable, but certainly not worth the cost. There are so many options in Bangkok for this price and you can get way more for your money at so many other places. Upon check out the following day, there was no one at the front desk and we had to go searching to find someone. Every person we saw just ignored us and treated us like we were a nuisance. We just wanted to say thank you and return the key. I don't recommend this hotel for an overnight stay, but a drink to enjoy the view is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

19th March 2012
We check into this hotel for 3 nights with our friends for our yearly reunion. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room and the wonderful staff who were so attentive to our needs to make our stay a great one. The hotel is near the pier that house the water taxis which will take us to various location within the city, it was great as we weren't caught in any traffic jam on any of our outings. View from the room was great, even though the staff spoke little English, it wasn't a problem but we do hope they'll improve on the breakfast menu in future. The hotel is also a walking distance to a few major tourist destination and food of various varieties are easily available within a short walking distance. Would recommend this hotel to our friends and loved one.

Room Tip: For longer stays, choose the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csfKuching_Sarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Arun Residence is a beautiful little boutique hotel in a stunning location opposite Wat Arun. The views are absolutely breathtaking and almost justify the hotel's steep price. But while we were there, the service was quite poor. First off, the concierge spoke little to no English. When we asked him to call us a taxi for a restaurant (Seven Spoons) he did not understand our request and instead tried to seat us at the hotel restaurant.

About that restaurant--our experience with it was terrible. At about 4:30, after touring the Grand Palace, we went back to the hotel to freshen up/grab a quick bite to eat before heading over to Wat Arun. We were seated next to a loud smoking party which could have been easily avoided considering there were numerous free tables. Although there were about 6 waiters milling about, none of them offered to help us. Finally, we flagged down a waiter setting up an adjacent table to order. We ordered two sandwiches assuming they would be delivered rather promptly. Instead, we waited over 30 minutes for them. And let me tell you, they were absolutely terrible. This whole time we had no contact with the waitstaff whatsoever.

Basically, service at the Arun Residence leaves a lot to be desired. If they could figure out how to treat their guests, this will be one of the premier spots to stay in all of Bangkok.

Quick note: This is a relatively difficult area of the city to get to. So plan for a long taxi ride or a few fun modes of public transportation. Coming from Ratchatchewi, I hopped on the BTS and then the express boat.

One other thing--if you are looking for a good, long rest, this might not be the place to do it. It is very loud in the mornings as you are in the middle of an authentic riverside community--thus they do authentic things like start the day at 6 am... etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#228 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#294 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Sala Arun
#52 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 628 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#54 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#56 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arun Residence

Property: Arun Residence
Address: 36-38 Soi Pratoo Nok Yoong | Maharat Rd | Bangkok 10200, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel, by the river, opposite Temple of Dawn. Guest will enjoy authentic Thai service with Sinology-Portugese architect - it's original set up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arun Residence Bangkok
Arun Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing