We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start a trip”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #72 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Baan Chantra for 4 days and LOVED everything about my time there. Kulthilda was the best hostess. She arranged to have us picked up at the airport which was greatly appreciated after 24 hours of travel. She helped us in getting around the city, tips on cabs, on what to see, on where to get great thai massages and she makes a great cup of coffee!
All in all a great place to start our 3 week trip to Thailand.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank 490dannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 263 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Very helpful and super-friendly staff. We felt at home from the first second. The location near kao San road (but not right in the middle of it) is just perfect. It's true the place doesn't come at a budget price but it's worth every Bath.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked this after reading other reviews, and were pleased that the positive reviews were wholly accurate. If you want to stay near the Kho San road but don't want the noise and grime, Baan Chantra is perfect. It's a beautiful traditonal wooden house about 5 mins walk from the backpacker streets round Kho San road, is very clean and well run by Kulthida and her family, who's home this is. There is a good choice of breakfasts, served in the libriary room, including good de-caf coffee-almost unheard of elswhere in thailand! The wifi worked well and there are also 2 apple macs available for internet access. We left early on last day so Kulthida had prepared a nice packed breakfast for us and helped us arrange a meter taxi to bus station. Cannot reccomend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floormaster900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

"Let me take your bags, you're on holiday," were the first words from our wonderful hostess, Kulthida.

Unfailingly friendly and helpful, once you express an interest Kulthida is full of the history of her hotel and the surrounding area, and with suggestions for things to eat and do in Bangkok.

There's no doubt that she herself loves Thai food. Our deliciously fragrant breakfast curry (eye-watering heat tempered with layers of coconut milk) was made with ingredients bought at the local market earlier that morning.

On her recommendation we visited a floating market where I was one of the few European faces, which was good enough for me to happily forego Chatuchak Market later that day. And I left Baan Chantra with a list of shop houses in the area to try.

A short walk from Khao San Road, Baan Chantra feels like an eye in the storm - calming, private, and (in our deluxe room off the library) quiet until the early hours of the morning, when you do start to hear some of the heavier traffic on Samsen Road.

Baan Chantra was originally a family home and still feels like one, with a variety of heirlooms and older furniture giving character to the rooms and public areas.

The deluxe rooms come with charming and private outdoor patios as well as an iMac with (fairly slow) wifi. Everything is clean and well-maintained and in my view easily justifies the price when added to the courteous and helpful service and that amazing breakfast.

A special place that we would happily go to again to make us feel at home when we're next in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Oasis in Bangkok, Baan Chantra

Location is close to the river and in a nice neighbourhood part of Bangkok. The river is close-by, as is Khao San Rd. Our host was very welcoming and the daily breakfast was outstanding. Every day the special breakfast was even more special, the host went way above and way beyond. Pics attached.
Our host was a source of a lot of great useful local knowledge. She told us about a non-touristy (non) floating market in the western part of Bangkok, several unfindable local (we were able to find them) restaurants and other useful tips. See Steve's and Jok Phochana elsewhere. Krua Dok Mai is another.
We had the downstairs room with a little private courtyard - a world away from the hectic, frantic BKK on the doorstep. The room also had a fridge, TV, iMac, free WiFi and AC. All presented clean and tidy. We were very comfortable at the Baan Chantra.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank acmejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Upon arriving in Bangkok after long flight and traffic jams in the city we immediately felt relaxed and at home in Baan Chantra. Refreshments were received and an early check in granted which set us up for the adventures ahead. Firstly, a great location in the heart of the city beside Chao Phraya and not far from Khao San Soi with easy access to the main sites. Breakfast was fresh and perfect and as we had an early flight on our 2nd day they prepared a lovely packed breakfast to take with us. A great stay - Khun Kulthida and her staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PapayaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Prices are too high for the basic room that we had in my mind,okay its in BKK but still i was a little bit dissappointed when we arrived.the pictures look more inviting then in real.
the owner of the hotel was really really nice and helpful to us,the rest of the staff was okay.
Breakfast was good,we were pleased about it.Location is good as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 728 in Bangkok
81 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 728 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Mungkala
Villa Mungkala
#49 of 728 in Bangkok
37 reviews
CHANN Bangkok Noi
#142 of 728 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#6 of 728 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing