We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in awesome location, with great service”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #82 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2013

"Let me take your bags, you're on holiday," were the first words from our wonderful hostess, Kulthida.

Unfailingly friendly and helpful, once you express an interest Kulthida is full of the history of her hotel and the surrounding area, and with suggestions for things to eat and do in Bangkok.

There's no doubt that she herself loves Thai food. Our deliciously fragrant breakfast curry (eye-watering heat tempered with layers of coconut milk) was made with ingredients bought at the local market earlier that morning.

On her recommendation we visited a floating market where I was one of the few European faces, which was good enough for me to happily forego Chatuchak Market later that day. And I left Baan Chantra with a list of shop houses in the area to try.

A short walk from Khao San Road, Baan Chantra feels like an eye in the storm - calming, private, and (in our deluxe room off the library) quiet until the early hours of the morning, when you do start to hear some of the heavier traffic on Samsen Road.

Baan Chantra was originally a family home and still feels like one, with a variety of heirlooms and older furniture giving character to the rooms and public areas.

The deluxe rooms come with charming and private outdoor patios as well as an iMac with (fairly slow) wifi. Everything is clean and well-maintained and in my view easily justifies the price when added to the courteous and helpful service and that amazing breakfast.

A special place that we would happily go to again to make us feel at home when we're next in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Oasis in Bangkok, Baan Chantra

Location is close to the river and in a nice neighbourhood part of Bangkok. The river is close-by, as is Khao San Rd. Our host was very welcoming and the daily breakfast was outstanding. Every day the special breakfast was even more special, the host went way above and way beyond. Pics attached.
Our host was a source of a lot of great useful local knowledge. She told us about a non-touristy (non) floating market in the western part of Bangkok, several unfindable local (we were able to find them) restaurants and other useful tips. See Steve's and Jok Phochana elsewhere. Krua Dok Mai is another.
We had the downstairs room with a little private courtyard - a world away from the hectic, frantic BKK on the doorstep. The room also had a fridge, TV, iMac, free WiFi and AC. All presented clean and tidy. We were very comfortable at the Baan Chantra.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank acmejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Upon arriving in Bangkok after long flight and traffic jams in the city we immediately felt relaxed and at home in Baan Chantra. Refreshments were received and an early check in granted which set us up for the adventures ahead. Firstly, a great location in the heart of the city beside Chao Phraya and not far from Khao San Soi with easy access to the main sites. Breakfast was fresh and perfect and as we had an early flight on our 2nd day they prepared a lovely packed breakfast to take with us. A great stay - Khun Kulthida and her staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PapayaPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Prices are too high for the basic room that we had in my mind,okay its in BKK but still i was a little bit dissappointed when we arrived.the pictures look more inviting then in real.
the owner of the hotel was really really nice and helpful to us,the rest of the staff was okay.
Breakfast was good,we were pleased about it.Location is good as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in a Standard Twin room. Our accommodations were simple, clean, and comfortable. WiFi and bottled water were provided. The beds were on the hard side, but not unusually so for Thailand. The communal terrace area - like an indoor garden - was lovely. The location was ideal for exploring Bangkok on foot. There is plenty to see within walking distance, but the neighborhood is a little less overwhelming than other parts of the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The first morning, we left for a tour before breakfast and the owner packed us a breakfast to go. She also made us a dinner reservation at Steve's Cafe, which was excellent, and allowed us to check out late when we had an evening flight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaceyRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this is a really comfortable and cosy hotel next to the district of Kaosan Road from Aug the 11th to the 16th. The rooms are simple, but really nice, furnished in Thai style and really clean and comfortable all with bathroom, very comfortable beds, air conditioning and excellent Wi Fi connection. At the first floor there is a little nice internal terrace where you can relax for a while before going to bed or in the breaks during the day. At night ( after 11pm the main door closes, but the concierge is waiting for you at any time at the back door).
Every Morning you can choose btw Continental or Thai or American breakfast and the quality of food is really good.
The Landlady is outstandingly nice, kind and supportive. She gave us suggestions for visiting the town as well as for restaurants ( she also proposed to book for us by telephone!!). I also forgot my passport at a bank where I changed money the day before and she was so supportive and helpful! She called the bank to check it was really there, she carried me to the bank, she talked to the Director to guarantee for me and made everything to have my passport back! She was simply wonderful!
A very nice place to be and where you will immediately feel yourself “at home”

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a long trip and found it a peaceful, relaxing and reasonably well located property.

We had the deluxe room, with the private patio, which was lovely, but it was thoughtful, personal touches, like the Mac in the room, which set the property apart from some others we have stayed in Bangkok. If you like the Khao San road areas then this is a perfect balance because it is less crazy, but still only ten minutes walk. Furthermore it has more of a local feel, which also sets it apart from the sex tourism orientated ghettos, like the 4/5 star hotels on Sukhumvit. We also discovered our new, favourite eating experience nearby, on Soi Samsen 2 (Joke Pochana) which served amazing food to both tourists and locals at very reasonable prices!

We walked, and used taxis to get about, as it was some way to Skytrain, Metro and Piers (remember to bargain hard for a flat price, or make them put the meter on-do not be afraid to walk away as there will always be another taxi just around the corner).

The staff were amazing, getting up with us at 4 a.m. to check out and get a taxi for us to Don Muang, so I would say this place deserves serious plaudits for 'going the extra mile'. Our only reservations were the slightly limited breakfast, and the fact that it is perhaps a little more expensive than superficially comparable B&B/small hotels. (This may be a result of long term inclusion in the Lonely Planet).

Room Tip: The deluxe room has the private outdoor space and you own Mac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#14 of 742 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 742 in Bangkok
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Methavalai Residence
Methavalai Residence
#54 of 742 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Sukhumvit
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
#68 of 742 in Bangkok
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing