We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and charming”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #71 of 698 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a long trip and found it a peaceful, relaxing and reasonably well located property.

We had the deluxe room, with the private patio, which was lovely, but it was thoughtful, personal touches, like the Mac in the room, which set the property apart from some others we have stayed in Bangkok. If you like the Khao San road areas then this is a perfect balance because it is less crazy, but still only ten minutes walk. Furthermore it has more of a local feel, which also sets it apart from the sex tourism orientated ghettos, like the 4/5 star hotels on Sukhumvit. We also discovered our new, favourite eating experience nearby, on Soi Samsen 2 (Joke Pochana) which served amazing food to both tourists and locals at very reasonable prices!

We walked, and used taxis to get about, as it was some way to Skytrain, Metro and Piers (remember to bargain hard for a flat price, or make them put the meter on-do not be afraid to walk away as there will always be another taxi just around the corner).

The staff were amazing, getting up with us at 4 a.m. to check out and get a taxi for us to Don Muang, so I would say this place deserves serious plaudits for 'going the extra mile'. Our only reservations were the slightly limited breakfast, and the fact that it is perhaps a little more expensive than superficially comparable B&B/small hotels. (This may be a result of long term inclusion in the Lonely Planet).

Room Tip: The deluxe room has the private outdoor space and you own Mac.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Baan Chantra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed for 6 nights at Baan Chantra on our arrival in Bangkok and another 3 nights prior to our departure from Thailand after three weeks holiday. We can't speak highly enough of this guesthouse. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were charming and comfortable. We enjoyed the deluxe room with it's lovely private patio and gorgeous greenery and we also enjoyed an upstairs room with direct access to a delightfully decorated verandah. Both just the thing after a day sightseeing in the busy-ness of Bangkok! The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly. The cleanliness cannot be faulted. Absolutely loved the delicious Thai breakfasts that were provided for us. The guesthouse owner, Khun Kulthida, is not only a charming and friendly host but also very knowledgeable about Bangkok and will help you get the most out of your stay in this amazing city. In the evenings there are restaurants within walking distance and there is also some delicious street food right at the doorstep! We very much thought of Baan Chantra as our home away from home & highly recommend this guesthouse. We are senior travellers who prefer small, friendly guesthouses and have stayed in many throughout Asia. This is one of the best!

Room Tip: The deluxe room is probably the quietest. The upstairs room at the front got some early morning tra...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff of Baan Chantra is simply wonderful. Such a great Thai welcome from the owner who went out of her way to advise us on all of our questions. The hotel is kept very clean, the breakfast is delicious and filling, and the location is in a fun neighborhood full of locals as well as some tourists. Only negative - Baan Chantra is just too expensive compared to hotels of similar quality in the neighborhood - although I think it would be difficult to find more caring staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right behind the breakfast room. Street noise was not a particular problem for...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundaworldin4months
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Baan Chantra and it never fails to impress us. It is always immaculately clean and the rooms are big and airy. The free wifi and free use of the computers are definitely a bonus. A breakfast made to order awaited us every morning. The owner Khun Kuthilda can never do enough for you to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxed as possible. At very reasonable rates we also had the use of a personal driver Khun Som who is so obliging and very friendly.
I cannot say enough about Baan Chantra. Definitely thumbs up for this one!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Speak to Khun Kuthilda if you have any questions regarding booking a room. She is very helpful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronlin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was referred to this lovely Guesthouse by friends who had stayed here before. If you are new to this amazing city, as I was, it can be quite overwhelming. I was put at ease even before we got to this Guesthouse. Booking our stay was an easy process online, and we received answers to our questions and a confirmation the same day. For a very reasonable fee you can include the services of a driver who will meet you at the airport and bring you to the Baan Chantra. We were offered and used their personal driver named Khun Som who made our visit a real delight. He is courteous,funny and very knowledgeable about Bangkok and its history, The proprietor, Kulthida, is a kind and gracious hostess. She was so helpful and attentive and gave us much need suggestions about places to see and things to do. She designed the unique and well-furnished rooms that are very cozy and clean, Our room connected to a private patio garden with a small fountain and comfy chairs. The scent of lemongrass candles added to the sense of serenity. The generous breakfast was served in a nice dining area and was delicious. You can easily walk to several nice restaurants by the waterfront for a romantic supper. All the staff was very welcoming and professional. I highly recommend this oasis in the big city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephie2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This small home/hotel was perfect for 2 of us, Mom and 19 yr old Daughter, fresh into Bangkok. We were greeted warmly every single time we came in and the place is enchanting. I loved having coffee or tea in the upstairs cove, and really felt that I was in Bangkok. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere. Sure, you can stay in the big hotels, and we did that too, but we both preferred our stay at Baan Chantra to any other place on our month-long adventure. It is safe, colorful, with a lovely breakfast and newspaper and great staff.
Yes, beds are hard, as are all in Thailand. I think they are all the same!
If you want to feel the culture, give this a shot, we loved it and will return. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: A/C a must! All are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Baan Chantra, a very nice and beautifully furnished guesthouse. The very clean and air-conditioned room with a little wooden balcony gave us entire satisfaction.
Well situated, 'Athiti' the nearest pier and Khao San road are at 10 walking minutes. Although Samsen road is busy during the day we have had quiet nights. Different types and generous breakfasts are served. Khun Kulthida was always very helpful and gave us valuable information and suggestions. I can but recommend Baan Chantra to all those who appreciate a friendly, family like atmosphere. I would not recommend the guesthouse to disabledThank you to Kulthida and her staff.
Chris and Tee

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 698 in Bangkok
550 reviews
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#90 of 698 in Bangkok
184 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 698 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#18 of 698 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#6 of 698 in Bangkok
284 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $55 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing