We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 years after we keep wonderful memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #44 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 years after we keep wonderful memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Thank you very much Kulthida for your loving and sincere welcome. It's been a wonderful stay and we hope to visit you again soon. For anyone looking for a super clean tasteful place in a safe and quiet environnement, this is a jewel. The area is still authentic yet close to everything. The staff and specially the owner go out of their way to make you're visit easy and memorable.
Many many thanks from the french couple you cared some much for.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    71
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
143
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Outstanding service, very clean, modern decor, modern rooms, very chic, huge beds, lovely breakfast, prices won't stay this low for long, catch it while you can !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Batheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

An extremely peaceful and well-kept small hotel. There are, I think, only seven rooms. During our seven day stay, we stayed in two of their rooms, and each room was extremely well kept. The owner of the hotel was one of the highlights of Bangkok. She is delightful, extremely helpful, and makes you feel fully at home. I always felt that if I had any questions about Bangkok, she would be able to answer them and would do happily. Baan Chantra is a peaceful retreat from the business of Bangkok and is located in an older part of the city, about a mile from the King's Palace, an extraordinary historic site. I particularly loved the Thai breakfasts cooked by their excellent chef. Each breakfast was an exquisite and heart-felt creation, and I felt that the chef had my tastes in mind, that he was cooking particularly for me. It was, truth be told, some of the best food I ate while in Bangkok.

I highly recommend Baan Chantra. If my wife and I return to Bangkok, we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent four very comfortable days at Baan Chantra and could not have been happier. The owner, Kulthida, cooks great Thai breakfast. We loved the reading nook on the second floor balcony overlooking a real local soi with wooden houses. The neighborhood is quiet and residential, but within walking distance of everything: Wat Pho, a boat taxi pier, Vinmanmek Palace. Kulthida spent a few years as a student in California so she speaks great English and has a laid back hospitality as well as a lovely decorating sense. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Location was good. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Outdoor, but covered, communal sitting areas with small fountains and lots of plants. Owners and staff very friendly, accommodating and helpful with organizing side trips and advice etc . Breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badtraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Baan Chantra. Kulthida and her staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcomed like family in this lovely hotel. She was there to welcome us when our arriving flight was delayed past midnight. She and her staff were so friendly and helpful during our stay. We really loved the breakfasts there. My wife would order the unbelievably delicious Thai breakfasts of curries with rice and I would order the croissants with a selection of sweet exotic fruits and we would share them with the great coffee included. Our room was large, elegant, with traditional teak floors and trim, with air conditioning, wifi, and a pc computer. There may be cheaper hotels in this area of Bangkok but I can’t imagine a better value considering the wonderful rooms and staff. My wife and I felt this was one of the best hotel experiences we ever had after traveling for more than 25 years.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallstein121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were looking for something cosy, familiar for our last night in Bangkok so we discovered the Baan Chantra which was simply adorable. The owner and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They answered my reservation request right away which helped us a lot. There is a very comfortable small lounge upstairs with armchairs, wonderful teak decorations and the stars above you, you're right in the heart of Bangkok, you hear all the typical noises and that's what we loved. The breakfast is wonderful, the night before you choose the style (Thai, fruits, Western...) you want and the time you want it to be served. Fantastic, very delicious and there was extra juice and extra croissants for us as we seemed so hungry. There are two big Apple screens with easy internet access for the guests. We could leave our luggage there after checking out without any problems.
We were very sad that it was only one night. One adorable night in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Blue Chang House
Blue Chang House
#155 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 604 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#32 of 604 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#41 of 604 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#82 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Property: Baan Chantra
Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn (between Soi6 and Soi8), Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing