We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal, An absolute dump dingy and in poor repair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome Sawasdee Inn
Ranked #539 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was booked for 1 night by travel agent. It has open front first thing you see is a group of cats running the around the lobby. A 50bht deposit for keys is required I was traumatised when i saw my room at the top of the building, no lift and i am on crutches. No towel or soap, just toilet roll. The room was tiny with basic, ancient furniture. The bed was lumpy, hardly any bed linen just an itchy blanket, I had to ask for a sheet. No hot water. Water in Wet room/toilet didn't drain just remained in a big puddle making floor slippery. Ac above the bed created a draft on my head. There was one electric socket which was hard to access. Missing louvre to window allowed mosquito's in Everything was grubby and dated. hotel was full of hippie back backers who seemed not to mind the poor accommodation. The plus is tv had English channels and sound proofing was adequate also staff were helpful. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleheavenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked our stay through STA when we booked our flights from the UK. When we arrived, there were stray cats walking all around reception and the smell of cat wee was awful. The receptionist was extremely unhelpful, and pointed us roughly in the direction of our room. As we walked to the back of the hostel to climb the stairs, there was a terrible stink of raw sewege. Bangkok doesn't smell great at the best of times but this was something else. When we arrived in the room, there were panels of the window missing so people could easily get in from the outside. There was damp all over the walls and in the toilet. There was a big hole in the floor of the bathroom and the shower was placed directly above the toilet and bin for toilet tissue. The bed was tiny for two people and rock solid with dirty sheets. The air conditioning dripped on us all night. All in all, the worst place I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was sold to us as part of a package booking including flights. Upon arrival we were shown the double we booked, which was very small. We had to pay the same price again as the original booking (roughly) to upgrade to a good sized double. There was a discrepancy between their lower estimate of what we'd paid originally, compared to the actual price paid, but this may be because the travel company took a big cut. The hotel had a strong sewage smell downstairs though luckily not affecting the rooms. There is a building under construction next door. The staff were reasonably accomodating as long as we paid the extra money, though not overly friendly. The room was basic but plus points were a large bed which actually was comfortable and a largish bathroom space with window, which you certainly don't get everywhere. OK for a night or two if you pay top whack for a superior room (expect them to ask for more), but there were much better looking places nearby...just have a wander around the adjoining streets!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJ780816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we arrived at 4.30am and the woman on reception was really rude. We had to pay 100 baht to get into the room early or wait until 11am. We spoke to two girls who were just checking out and they said don't stay here its awful but we had already paid and it was only for one night. There were 3 of us and we had 2 big double beds with air-con. I cant complain about the room, it was clean and cool and ok for 1 night in Bangkok. Its close to koh san road so great if you want to go out. The general cleanliness of the place was ok, but could have been better.

Room Tip: Get a private room, dorm rooms have just a mattress on the floor not an actual bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Missed some of the earlier reviews. Otherwise we would not have booked this hotel. Rooms have never seen any maintenance. Staff at the reception counter did not seem to like any one coming to stay there. No light in one bath room, water leakage in another room.. .Complaints were not even taken note of!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our second time stay there. Well, all I can say, for that price, what do u expect ? The most important thing, the air conditioner and water heater work well. We also got breakfast everyday. And the location, is really close to the center of the crowd in BANGKOK.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our travel accommodation people in NZ recommended this place as a cheap option.
First off, this place is down a dark alley and has a lot of construction next door.
The staff were near useless, the place was dark, unclean and smelly. They clearly don't clean anymore
We decided not to risk staying here as my girlfriend said "I really don't feel like getting raped tonight".
Do yourself a favour and walk 200 m to any of the other guest houses around here

1  Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,557 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 887 in Bangkok
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Sawasdee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Sawasdee Inn

Address: 5-7 Soi Rongmai, Chao Fa Rd. | Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $0 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Welcome Sawasdee Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15-minute walk from Khaosan Road, Sawasdee Welcome Inn provides free 24-hour receptionist with English speaker . It features eastern vintage’s lobby and free wifi in public area . All rooms are simple décor equipped with air conditioning and flat screen TV , offers mixed dormitories with a shared bathroom and rooms with a private bathroom. Sawasdee Welcome Inn is 300 metes walk to the Grand Palace and Chaopraya river and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Sawasdee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Sawasdee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing