We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Welcome Sawasdee Inn
Ranked #544 of 733 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we arrived at 4.30am and the woman on reception was really rude. We had to pay 100 baht to get into the room early or wait until 11am. We spoke to two girls who were just checking out and they said don't stay here its awful but we had already paid and it was only for one night. There were 3 of us and we had 2 big double beds with air-con. I cant complain about the room, it was clean and cool and ok for 1 night in Bangkok. Its close to koh san road so great if you want to go out. The general cleanliness of the place was ok, but could have been better.

Room Tip: Get a private room, dorm rooms have just a mattress on the floor not an actual bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Missed some of the earlier reviews. Otherwise we would not have booked this hotel. Rooms have never seen any maintenance. Staff at the reception counter did not seem to like any one coming to stay there. No light in one bath room, water leakage in another room.. .Complaints were not even taken note of!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our second time stay there. Well, all I can say, for that price, what do u expect ? The most important thing, the air conditioner and water heater work well. We also got breakfast everyday. And the location, is really close to the center of the crowd in BANGKOK.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our travel accommodation people in NZ recommended this place as a cheap option.
First off, this place is down a dark alley and has a lot of construction next door.
The staff were near useless, the place was dark, unclean and smelly. They clearly don't clean anymore
We decided not to risk staying here as my girlfriend said "I really don't feel like getting raped tonight".
Do yourself a favour and walk 200 m to any of the other guest houses around here

1  Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

DO NOT GO TO THIS 'HOTEL' . Not disgusting , vile piece of crap ever!!! I think I rather stay at Guantanamo Bay!!! Disgusting moulds curtains, moulding black fluffy things stuck to the ceiling, dead dog smell on the beds, me and my partner fled the hotel after 1 hour sleep. Was the longest one hour of my life. I would rather pay money to get it demolished. Disgusting eyesore!!!!!! We fled the hotel and didn't even bother going to the pattaya one. Makes me feel nauseous thinking about it. The name 'welcome sawasdee' is so sarcastic!!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Small bedrooms with a small bathroom but for the price this is what I expected. Reception spoke little english but were fairly helpful. We went for AC as Bangkok is so muggy which functioned well, we also had a TV - the rooms were a bit dusty but again suspected when booking cheap accomodation. The best thing about the hostel is its location, only a 5 min walk from Khao San Road but it is down a small side street so noice levels are low. I would recommend for backpackers for a cheap central accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tchillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked this hotel via travel agency at home. It was the worst place I have ever been, too (including 4 months of budget travelling in India...): Room looks like a prison cell, dirty walls, dirty ceiling, dirty bedlinen, [--] in the toilet, window not possible to close. Room was about 6qm, "bathroom" 1qm, no light in the bathroom, unhelpful staff. Only positive thing: AC worked and was not so loud during nights (but daytime there is a construction area very close to the hotel.
Folks, be wise don't go there, for the same price you get 1000% better rooms in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,639 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 891 in Bangkok
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Sawasdee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Sawasdee Inn

Address: 5-7 Soi Rongmai, Chao Fa Rd. | Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $0 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Welcome Sawasdee Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15-minute walk from Khaosan Road, Sawasdee Welcome Inn provides free 24-hour receptionist with English speaker . It features eastern vintage’s lobby and free wifi in public area . All rooms are simple décor equipped with air conditioning and flat screen TV , offers mixed dormitories with a shared bathroom and rooms with a private bathroom. Sawasdee Welcome Inn is 300 metes walk to the Grand Palace and Chaopraya river and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Sawasdee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Sawasdee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing