We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny wise Pound Foolish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Ranked #780 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Penny wise Pound Foolish”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The hotel has a good location, although inside a long lane but they have a shuttle service.
Rooms are horrible and the service is crapp, Break fast was as good as having nothing

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friend777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    136
    106
    83
    82
See reviews for
22
65
175
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Had the experience of staying at two different hotels in Bangkok in March, this one was given to us by tour operator Ms Tonk Tonk. The hotel is a budget hotel, the breakfast is simple but ok, the rooms are tiny, the airconditioning was very ordinary, one had to wait for 30 to 50 minutes in the room to feel its effects, especially during unsually hot days that i experienced, at nite it became unbearably cold with no thermostat control. The hotel did not agree to late checkout option for my group and asked for additional charges, contrary to what is stated on its web site. The best part was tuk tuk service and free wi fi service, had it not been there, i would have probably not stayed here as it is quite far from the main Sukhmvit road. Its totally a Budget Hotel, smiles are also budgeted.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGRA, INDIA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

It is a nice hotel with an excellent location and great tuk-tuk facility for monorail station. Rooms are little bit old but were offered in clean envoirment. However nobody at hotel told us regarding wi-fi . Breakfast was very very basic which is ok from price point of view . Overall a nice hotel with excellent location in the offered price segment.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — STAFF ASSISTANCE
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BRIJESH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed on 3 different short stints here in 3 different rooms over the course of about 4 weeks and observations from my earlier review were consistent this time as well. The worst maintenance issue was a water heater that broke down; I reported it but didn't really expect it to get fixed, and wasn't "disappointed." But I took it in stride.

Why put up with it? Staying here is a bit like shopping for your clothes at a thrift store rather than a department or even a discount store. Sometimes with a thrift store you discover a flaw at home that you hadn't noticed in the store (and almost no thrift stores accept returns!). Or maybe there's some other unexpected problem 15-20% of the time. So why do it? Because you're looking for something name-brand barely worn for 50 cents or less on the dollar, and you recognize that the occasional flaw or undetected problem is an unavoidable part of the game. But you've decided the value of the "wins" outweighs the cost of the losses, even as you recognize that others might not share your level of tolerance and would be better off paying closer to full retail under different conditions. And so it is with staying at the Royal Asia Lodge; it's not always a sure thing, but usually is close enough and can be a great value for the money.

If they're more aggressively maintaining the air-cons then that's excellent news, as I'd wager that a lot of the more bitter past complaints came from people who checked in late due to a later flight, got stuck with a room with a weak or non-working air-con and were then told by staff that they couldn't move because all the other rooms were full. So they had to spend that first night sweating and were understandably quite peeved.

Sometimes sites like Expedia will have targeted promo codes for $40 or $50 off 3 days; if you happen into a deal like that and apply it to rates for the Royal Asia Lodge you can walk away with a REALLY good deal for here. But even the regular rates on the travel sites are half what other hotels on the street are charging. And trust me on this one: Being near a Skytrain or subway station, like this hotel is, is a huge advantage in Bangkok vs being "off the grid" in areas like Banglamphu, Chinatown, or other parts of town not yet served by rail transit. You want to minimize your need of taxis or buses that are subject to getting stuck in traffic, and the Skytrain has an easy linkage to the riverboats at Saphan Taksin station, so you don't have to stay by the river.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The rooms are basic and some are in need of repair. The aircon is effective but loud. But I can't help but like the hotel. I live in Pattaya but come to Bangkok often, for a few days a month. So I am what you might call a regular. And I have never been disappointed. Ok you get what you pay for, but for 1000 - 1200 Bajt a night the RAL is hard to beat. The staff is friendly and effective. And the hotel has some kind of family feeling I find hard to resist.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiaYossarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed in this hotel from 27 Dec 2009 to 19 Jan 2010. It was just a nightmare. We had to paid 5000 baht to get the manager to opened a hotel safe for us. I lost my wallet and a key for safe in a wallet. At first they didn't want to help us at all. The manager also deducted his staff salary as well as charged us. Then on 15 Jan, we have been robbed while we slept in a room. They took gold necklace and some cash. Police told me, he believed it to be an inside job. Again the manager didn't even care. The room is very dirty and the service is very bad, the owner has such a bad attitude, uncaring and such arrogance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AoiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2010

There are some things you can tolerate in a budget hotel and some things which are intolerable. Our room was infested with baby cockroaches that crawled into our luggage, into the fridge and even into bed with us which was the final straw. Management were informed but couldn't care less. Advertised free wifi was down for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed but they gladly charged for use of the antiquated pc's in the lobby. Hairdryer was broken, bathroom flooded every time you had a shower due to ridiculous shower design and sheets were threadbare and should have been retired to a charitable homeless organisation a couple of years ago.....and don't ask them to store your luggage for a couple of hours upon checkout as it will be left in the open near the lift for anyone to rummage through instead of locked away.

AVOID!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#288 of 867 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#357 of 867 in Bangkok
136 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#722 of 867 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Suksawad Hotel
Suksawad Hotel
#534 of 867 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#356 of 867 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#574 of 867 in Bangkok
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Property: Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Address: 91, Soi 8 off Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #780 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the thick of the action near to Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok’s bustling hive of activity, this property is about a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS Skytrain station, which provides easy access to popular areas such as Central World, MBK Shopping Center and more, or 1 minute to the station by the hotel’s free shuttle service. Royal Asia Lodge offers 99 comfortable rooms equipped with standard amenities; satellite TV, air conditioning and IDD phone. Other facilities, includes a lobby lounge bar, restaurant, swimming pool, massage service, laundry/dry cleaning services and business center services with E-mail & Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing