We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2010

A beautiful place to stay! It's a little garden oasis in the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. We stayed for a few days and found it very conveniently located. Far enough away from the ugly tourism of Khao San but still within walking distance if you really wanted to see what it's about. We took the river taxi, just a few blocks from the hotel, to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and China Town - probably the fastest, easiest way to get around town. The room isn't soundproof - but it's on a quiet side street and it was nice to have some natural sounds. We really enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craggcravings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2010

Dear Guests, thank you very much for your comment. It's really great to know you enjoyed staying here. And yes, it's true that taxi boat becomes the fastest way in Bangkok!! We hope to see you again on your next arrival in Thailand, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

Although it's a bit more scruffy than in their webpage/folders, it sure is great to welcomed by the sweet staff. A nice homey feel, lots of nooks and crannies to explore and not too far from the banglamphu centre. We payed 2200THB for one night in the "giant" room with one double bed, one living room and two big bathrooms. Great for families, which are plenty. No elevator though, so if you're on the top floor it's quite a haul. Check it out !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Tripador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment and thank you for taking nice pics. The giant room is special, we hope you love it even it's on the 3rd floor^^ Enjoy your they!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed for four nights in Phranakorn Nornlen in late January, and I must say that it was one of my favourite experiences whilst in Thailand.

The hotel is gorgeously decorated, with the tranquil garden courtyard, and murals in rooms and the hallways (they had just started a new one on the third floor by the time we left). The rooftop garden is fantastic, and don't forget to check out the view of the nearby big Buddha, which gets lit up every night. The only downside is the mosquitos in the courtyard, but let's face it, Thailand is FULL of mosquitos and you should come prepared for them anyway. The hotel also provides mosquito repellent in the courtyard for you to use.

Location-wise it was also pretty good, it's about a 20min walk to khao san rd (and even faster by tuk tuk) but that extra little bit of distance makes it all the more quiet than other guesthouses in the middle of all the action. It's also relatively close to Wat Phra Kaew (Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha) and Wat Po (Temple of the Reclinng Buddha) and you can get there by tuk tuk for under 100 baht. I also reccommend the travel agent on the street nearby just down from the 7/11, They're licenced by the government, so you know they won't rip you off and they were very helpful to us in advising us on what to see and do and booking our tours.

The room we stayed in was great, and exactly how it was described on the website. Yes, the mattress is hard (and their website clearly states this) but I actually found it surprisingly comfortable and had some great nights sleep on it. The showers use an instant water heater, and a few prior reviews complained that the water was only lukewarm, which is what we experienced on our first night. However we quickly figured out that if you just turn the tap to low water pressure (thereby decreasing the speed at which the water passes through the heater) our showers were toasty warm!

The organic asian-style breakfasts are Phranakorn were fantastic in my opinion, but might not be to everyones taste, especially if they have a more westernised palate. The restaurant provides a wider variety of both thai and western food at very reasonable prices. I also highly recommend their blended fruit juices - a refreshing pick me up after a long day walking around in the Bangkok heat!

I'd also highly recommend the massages at Phranakorn. They're 300 baht for an hour, which is more expensive than what you'd pay out on the street but in my opinion it was so much better for the convenience and the ambience that you cannot get on the street. The ginger tea at the end is also a bonus :-)

We didn't travel with kids ourselves, but there were a few staying while we were there and I can tell you that Phranakorn is a very kid-friendly place. The staff adore them and there is a whole area filled with toys and a few prams near the bottom of the stairs.

In summary, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectlyflawed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Dear Guests, thank you a ton for your comment. We all read it three or four times a week ^^ We can say you know Bangkok and our area very well. We hope to see you again in BKK and we'd love to recommend you our new smoothies and breakfast menu next time!!! Have a great day even working in the office, dear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

A nice place.

The location is not ideal but it is certainly not bad either. The river is not far away which makes connections ok.

The room price is a little higher than perhaps it need be but in general I would recommend PN.

The innovative breakfasts make up, to some extent, for the higher costs.

Excellent free internet on site - three machines.

I found the beds to be perfect and not too hard but this is all down to personal taste I suppose.

Interestingly for our return trip to Bangkok there was no space at PN. The helpful staff at PN recommended Bann Dinso Hostel instead. Baan Dinso was both cheaper and of better quality than PN Hotel and this is where I will return to when next in Bangkok. I would therefore not recommend PN purely because of the alternative Baan Dinso.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment^^ Please feel free to let us know if any help needed when you arrive BKK next time, we're more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed here for about a week with two small children (1 and 3 years old). The atmosphere is very relaxing, the child-friendly staff is capable, the food is good and the garden pleasant. Great place to use as a basis for exploring Bangkok. The rooms are clean and airconditioned very well. The only thing missing is a cupboard or table to put some things out of the children's reach and to store clothes. Yes, the beds are hard and, no, there is no tv in the rooms, but we slept well and never got bored. Our stay here has been a refreshing experience. The next time we visit Bangkok we will go back to Phranakorn. We definitely recommend Phranakorn as an affordable and very pleasant alternative to all those not looking for just the plain and basic budget accomodations or for 5-star luxury. If you want to discover an original and agreeable lodging experience in Bangkok, you should absolutely go here. If you feel more comfortable with budget or high-end options, you will probably get disappointed in some way or another.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReisRinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Thank you very much for your comment, it's so lovely^^ If you plan travelling to BKK next time, please write to us, we'll help you if any special requests you may have. Have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in November with our 4 year-old daughter. There were many good points. The garden is lovely, and is particularly cool and inviting after a day out in Bangkok. There is a toy area for kids, which our daughter loved. We enjoyed catching the ferry. The nice thing about the location is that there is great street-food just down the road.
However, there were a few negatives that mean that we will not stay here again. The beds are really hard and uncomfortable. They are special health mattresses and have no ‘give’ in them at all. The rooms are beautifully decorated but there are no curtains, which means that the light woke our daughter up at 5:30am. The rooms are too small for three people. With a double and single mattress in the room, there was barely room to open the door to the little balcony.
It might still be the place for you if you don’t mind a very hard mattress and you can sleep despite the light….other aspects of the hotel made it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah_and_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Wishing you have great wealth and health :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I think I agree with a lot of the other recent reviews in regards to the accommodation, I had mixed feelings about this place.

First the positives, the hotel is very clean, the staff very helpful and the rooms quirkly and interestingly decorated with a beautiful outside area\garden that's great for relaxing and great for massages.

However I would say that it is a little over priced for the basic amenities that you receive and that the bed we had was extremely hard and the showers had luke warm water. We had booked to stay here at the beginning and end of our trip to Thailand but changed to a bed and breakfast, which was much cheaper with a better location and good amenities. If this place was priced better I think I would recommend it, however the location, amenities etc let it down for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perthteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Good day guests, thank you very much for your feedback, it's important to us :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
723 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,566 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $79 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing