We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in old Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in old Bangkok!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staying at PN has been quite an experience. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and all the spaces have great details. Breakfast was fantastic and the ambiance at the lobby and dining room was peaceful and charming. The neighborhood is close enough to all attraction and pier to pick the river boat is 5 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChileWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear "Eduardo K",

Thank you so much for your review : )

We would love to welcome you back again if you come back to Bangkok.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    459
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
661
967
213
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A colorful artsy hotel close to kao sun road. Nice rooms. Good food (lovely breakfast with good coffee) and super roof top. Opportunity to wash and dry clothes. Massages by professionals. Public Transport is a bit far away besides busses. Smoking Free zone also on the terrace. Price value is really good! Booking in advance recommended. The staff is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enilorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear "Enilorc"

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Nice to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We are not close to the sky train but you can still use bus, taxi or even the river boat where the pier is only 5-10 minutes-walk.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is more than a hotel. We felt so at home and the staff were superb. A lovely atmosphere with lots of social space to hang out - chairs, tables, benches, raised platform with day beds and cushions, upstairs night time roof restaurant, childs play room (a fantastic find!), great area, walking distance to the river, great massages, lovely quirky rooms, tasty quick food, lovely breakfast, mini bakery, fresh fruit on sale... I mean I seriously don't have a bad word to say. Stay here! We stayed in the family room which was two separate rooms; double bed in one room and single bed and a huge day bed in the other. Little balcony too. Suited are needs perfectly. For those who are not mobile - no lifts so expect to walk up the stairs (or ask for first floor room). Very family friendly , lots of families with kids so my two year old always had some kids to play with plus the staff were super lovely with him.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room if you don't want to walk up the stairs, or ask for a top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear "Carly K",

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : ) We also happy to know that you had a good stay here.
Really hope to see you and your family again next time if you come back to Bangkok.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Phranakorn Nornlen is not just a place to stay. It is an experience in it self, beautiful, cosy and very inspiring. I stayed there with my husband and 3 kids december 13 and again january 14. I am in love with this place and it's motto "have a slow life". A perfect "home away from home", especially for families with children, but I would also stay here as a couple or a single traveler. The service and staff are world class - so nice and helpful!! The place is very clean and everywhere you look the decor and interior is creative and beautiful. We loved the CD player in the rooms with music that fits the place. We also loved the rooftop terrace, the playroom, the wallpaintings - well just everything about the place. A little tiny thing to improve is the breakfast. The "Thai-version" was good, but for the kids the "continental version" with eggs and pancakes was boring after day number 2. We would have liked options with fruit, yoghurt and vegetables. Lunch and dinner was good though. We liked the area too. There are not many tourists and you get to see "everyday life in Bangkok". A walk to the standing Buddha, the food marked and the Tewet pier is nice and a must. Ask in the reception and they can draw a little map :-) All in all: Don't hesitate to stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear "Nanna M" ,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) It is great to hear that you and your family happy to stay with us. Like you said this place is not only for a family with kids but also suit for any traveler. If you like our concept and style, you will not disappointed to stay here.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a find ! We loved staying here ,in fact we are going back in march ! it is a little oasis off the beaten track down a side street and as you enter the gates you are transported to a bygone era ! The public space is so airy and light,charming and relaxing with quirky shop fronts from long ago,gentle music wafting around and charming,smiley girls and boys to aid you in anyway.The decor is fantastic ,hand painted murals on every wall,so creative ! The room was perfectly adequate ,we were on the first floor so able to get wifi in our room. The view from the roof terrace was lovely facing a stunning standing buddha of 45 metres !
Breakfasts were very quirky , but eggs are available too and lovely fresh juices.We also had lunch and dinner there.It is a little way from the action but easy to reach the river ferry stop and taxis,tuk-tuks etc.We both had an outstanding massage too ,really good ! We are very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear "Gabalotte",

Thank you so much for you nice review : )
Great to know that you like our place, we would like guests stay here with the feeling of home. What's the home should have? Relaxing place, good food, useful facilities and the most importance is the member. Our staff here always willing to assist you as much as they can. So please feel free to be our friends ^ ^

Looking forward to see you again next month.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved the decor and murals.
Friendly staff, closeness to the flower market and the river boats to get to the reclining Buddha.
Family friendly and fantastic. The public space is charming. only Stairs no lift to the 2nd and 3 rd floors. Restaurant on top floor with great views. Basic menu using the organically grown veg garden on the roof. They have their own bakery and make cosmetic products, have a massage parlour and kids play areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear "yumyum2012",

Thank you very much for your nice review : ) We are happy to know that you had a good stay with us. We would like guests be here with the pleasant stay and leave with the good memories.

Hope to see you again next time if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This guest house cum hotel had all the things one would like to see in a hotel. The hotel was full with latest and well maintained furniture. The items were chosen in a very accurate manner and I must say that the hotel was something that made my visit perfect. The best thing I liked in the hotel is the system followed to entertain clients. We were not pushed to restrict our stay and even we were given some discount on rentals. The hotel is a perfect place to have good warm nights and make the most out of your trip. We had a recreational trip to celebrate the good exam result of my son. He really deserved a gift from me after performing in such a brilliant manner and passed the exams in flying colors. What better gift would be than having a trip in Thailand?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear "Lucille M",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Congratulations to your son for the good exam result, I hope this is a good experience for him to come to Thailand.

Hope to welcome you back again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing