We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved the decor and murals.
Friendly staff, closeness to the flower market and the river boats to get to the reclining Buddha.
Family friendly and fantastic. The public space is charming. only Stairs no lift to the 2nd and 3 rd floors. Restaurant on top floor with great views. Basic menu using the organically grown veg garden on the roof. They have their own bakery and make cosmetic products, have a massage parlour and kids play areas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumyum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear "yumyum2012",

Thank you very much for your nice review : ) We are happy to know that you had a good stay with us. We would like guests be here with the pleasant stay and leave with the good memories.

Hope to see you again next time if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This guest house cum hotel had all the things one would like to see in a hotel. The hotel was full with latest and well maintained furniture. The items were chosen in a very accurate manner and I must say that the hotel was something that made my visit perfect. The best thing I liked in the hotel is the system followed to entertain clients. We were not pushed to restrict our stay and even we were given some discount on rentals. The hotel is a perfect place to have good warm nights and make the most out of your trip. We had a recreational trip to celebrate the good exam result of my son. He really deserved a gift from me after performing in such a brilliant manner and passed the exams in flying colors. What better gift would be than having a trip in Thailand?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear "Lucille M",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Congratulations to your son for the good exam result, I hope this is a good experience for him to come to Thailand.

Hope to welcome you back again.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at phranakorn nornlen during our first two nights in Thailand. Although it is a little expensive here if you are on a budget, it is worth the splurge! The rooms were small but cute with unique artwork in each one and the complimentary breakfasts were amazing! The highlight of this hotel for us was the lobby. It is a very beautiful and relaxing area which can be hard to find in the heart of Bangkok! The only downfalls for us was that the wifi did not reach our rooms, and it is a little far away from the main attractions in bangkok, such as khao San road and the old city if you are walking. It is very easy to get a cab to these locations though. If you are concerned about the wifi, it may be a good idea to stay in floor 1 or 2 if possible, we were on the third floor. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 403travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear "403travellers",

Thank you so much for your nice review. :)
The relaxing area at the lobby we call "SALA" , the sala could be found in the Thai local house which have enough space. They use sala for gather the family member in order to join, to eat, to spend their time together. The open area make the wind flow through so it cooling the weather.
Sorry for the inconvenience with the internet wifi, we found out that the signal could disturb the brain while you are sleeping so the main connection are at the lobby and the rooftop cafe.

We hope to welcome you back to PN again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

It's the 4th time to stay at PN, the first time I stayed here was about 4 years ago.

thus, all the comments below are compared with "PN before"

*Renovated at 2013, the entrance hall becomes less airy and the living space has less sky above.(quite pity)

*Kids' space & rest deck is enlarged, getting more comfortable

*Lunch is far better than dinner, smoothie is still good.

*Breakfast menu has bread, pancake and variety of eggs; I understood western tourists prefer "bread & egg", but the menu 2 years ago was more creative in my opinion.

*almost of the staffs are new, the atmosphere of slow life and family has changed.(couldn't blame on it)

*the air condition in the family room blows directly to the bed(mine room is 210), ไม่สบาย, CD player isn't work at all.

PN is still a nice place in total, but memories of my 1st~3rd visit are always the best.


Stayed: January 2014
Thank archchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear "archchu",

Thank you so much for your feedback and for coming back to PN again.
We try to improve PN to be better so something may change but we still insist to provide the best thing for our guests. Your comments are really useful, we will see what we should do to make it better.

Hope to see you again and again ^^
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We are in love with this wonderful place. We first visited several years ago with our older child, who remembered sitting quietly reading a book in the lovely courtyard. This time, his five year-old sister joined us and has declared it the best hotel ever, and these kids have stayed in more than most adults. Tranquil common spaces, simply but beautifully decorated, clean common spaces, gracious staff, nice location in a residential area in the heart of Bagkok.. Do take a marked map if you head out for adventures, as taxis have a hard time locating this tucked-away gem. And indulge in a wonderful massage while you're there...this was the best I've had in Thailand. The food and smoothies are healthy and inventive. With kids, request room 203 with its sleeping porch...could easily tuck a crib into the lower part, and the upper bunk makes a great fort or sleeping place for older ones. Love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear "Stevens K",

Thank you so much for your review and your return : ) it is always nice to see the return guests again, feel like welcome back our old friends. Many things have changed but we hope that you could feel the the atmosphere still remain the same. Kids always make us happy with their joyful so we would also like to make them enjoy the stay. You could leave the kids play around while you relax with the Thai massage or reading a book at the lobby.

Hope to welcome you and your family back here again.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

a very nice lounge place and the design of the hostal is amazing and inspiring, very nice persons who were always friendly and they have a great hospitality.
Fine breakfast and good coffee, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear "Joke K",

Thank you very much for your review : )
Great to hear that you like our place. Guests like friends so we really need our friends to stay comfortably with us.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at PN over New Year's, and the hotel organized a wonderful complimentary New Year's Eve buffet incl. games for children. A very warm, family-like atmosphere. Their courtyard is wonderful - a great place to read a book, relax or socialize with other guests.

Room Tip: Very good for families. Unfortunately no closet nor even hangers in the room. Can be a bit noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear "C K",

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : )
It's great that you had joined the New Year party with us, it is fun and was a good experience right?
We have the activities almost every event so guests can join us and get the new experience which you could not fine in your country.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
723 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,566 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $79 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing