We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great, relaxing, family friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 833 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great, relaxing, family friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Awesome place to stay! Very clean, great food&drinks, very friendly staff. We travelled with our 1year old daughter and she loved playing in the toyroom or being entertained by the staff:-) Also great location. Would be completely perfect if they had a little pool for cooling down..We'll be back to enjoy the new roof terrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vetjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review : ) We are happy to hear that you and the little girl like spending time here.
We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the playground that under renovation. We should have more space for your kid.

Hope your daughter enjoy our new play area when you come again next time : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    422
    56
    17
    3
See reviews for
590
901
189
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and were in awe of the beauty of the hotel, rooms, friendliness, cleanliness, politeness of entire staff including trainees! The location was great, the food excellent and the complimentary mini bar very unexpected but appreciated! We've stayed at many hotels around the world and this has to be one of our favorites!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice message, we will keep your comments in mind and will always improve : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatenay-Malabry, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, in a very convenient location (not in the middle of Bangkok, near the river with frequent boat service to most touristic and business places). Nice market going to the Thewet pier.
Warm welcome from the staff, caring at all stages (arrival, information on the city, storage of luggage).
Original and pleasant design of the rooms and bathrooms, simple but well-equipped and clean. A little overpriced in my opinion, though.
Tasty breakfasts and a few good dishes served all day long.
It is more a family hotel than for business travelers (rooms not equipped to work, and hot temperature in the common areas), but it was very calm and I enjoyed my stay a lot.
I will certainly stay again at this hotel, if I have to travel to Bangkok.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and interesting on their own. The ones with the view on the golden buddah ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your time writing us the feedback : )

We are located in the old Bangkok area, easy to go to each place by public transport. The river boat is the easiest way to get to the Grand palace, you also could see the view along the river which is very nice.
Like you said our common areas is quite warm with the hot weather, and who want to stay in the room all day, so we have our living room with the air condition for guests to chill out there, please feel free to use our facilities and service ^ ^

Thank you again for stayed with us : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a perfect start to our month-long trip. We stayed at PN in the second week of March and found it warm, welcoming and memorable. During the time, there was an annual festival going on in the nearby wat and there was constant chanting in the air, but it only added to the atmosphere. From our balcony, we could see a gigantic statue of a standing Buddha and it was a delightful sight at dawn.

I have to mention that the staff accommodated our request of checking-in early and after a London-Bangalore-Thailand flight, we were just so grateful. Thank you!

The best things about this place are its location, atmosphere, staff and delicious breakfasts. The Thewet pier is a short walk away and from here you can take a ferry and check out the historical sights of Bangkok. It's convenient, fun and one of the best ways to see the city. I enjoyed the walk to the pier as the path is lined with plant nurseries - just seeing beautiful lotus flowers in small ponds and pretty plants spilling out of cute pots made me feel like i didn't need any more to make my day. But of course it only got better.

With its soothing vibe, friendly staff and comfortable rooms, PN helps you relax and unwind with ease. It's got that magic touch that makes it stand out and the beautiful courtyard only adds to the charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us the review.

I am grad to know that you had a good time here, not just with PN but also every detail while you were this area.
I hope you also visited the festival at the temple behind us, that was fun and provide you new experiences.

Hope to see you again when you come to Bangkok ^ ^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Even though the hotel is generally more family-oriented, we as a couple in our 50s still were happy with the services. It was very clean, the food was great and we were especially thankful for the great help the staff offered us when we missed our taxi on the last day. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay here : )

We are family hotel, so everybody is like our family member even you come alone or come as a couple, you are all welcome here ^ ^

Have a slow life : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klein-Winternheim, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was there for the second time and it was great .Everything is fine even the rate for the rooms are a bit overpriced. Going to most of the tourist attraction is very easy. Especially by boat from Thewet pier. Close to the Thewet pier is a nice flower market. Also a nice and not touristic market ist across the bridge.
Food at the channel close to the hotel is very good and clean and healthy.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review ^ ^

As you said our place is close to the pier, just 5 minutes-walk. You could reach the Grand palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun etc. by take to boat about 15-20 minutes.

Nice to hear that you try the food from our neighborhood, the price is good and also nice taste ^ ^

Have a slow life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have such a good time in PN!Nice food、beautiful room、lovely smiles..,we just be treated like family、old friends.we can relax after busy traval ,and sit down in the lobby,take a drink that be made by fresh fruit,and enjoy a truly slow life..just like they said!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback ^__^
We are really happy to know that you had a good time with us.

We try to make the lobby to be the most relax part for all guests, and we also now have some renovation on the garden area. We will keep update the progress via Facebook.
Thanks again for your stay ^ ^
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 833 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#2 of 833 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 833 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing