We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one of best hotel in Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of best hotel in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and were in awe of the beauty of the hotel, rooms, friendliness, cleanliness, politeness of entire staff including trainees! The location was great, the food excellent and the complimentary mini bar very unexpected but appreciated! We've stayed at many hotels around the world and this has to be one of our favorites!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice message, we will keep your comments in mind and will always improve : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    427
    56
    17
    3
See reviews for
599
919
193
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chatenay-Malabry, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, in a very convenient location (not in the middle of Bangkok, near the river with frequent boat service to most touristic and business places). Nice market going to the Thewet pier.
Warm welcome from the staff, caring at all stages (arrival, information on the city, storage of luggage).
Original and pleasant design of the rooms and bathrooms, simple but well-equipped and clean. A little overpriced in my opinion, though.
Tasty breakfasts and a few good dishes served all day long.
It is more a family hotel than for business travelers (rooms not equipped to work, and hot temperature in the common areas), but it was very calm and I enjoyed my stay a lot.
I will certainly stay again at this hotel, if I have to travel to Bangkok.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and interesting on their own. The ones with the view on the golden buddah ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your time writing us the feedback : )

We are located in the old Bangkok area, easy to go to each place by public transport. The river boat is the easiest way to get to the Grand palace, you also could see the view along the river which is very nice.
Like you said our common areas is quite warm with the hot weather, and who want to stay in the room all day, so we have our living room with the air condition for guests to chill out there, please feel free to use our facilities and service ^ ^

Thank you again for stayed with us : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a perfect start to our month-long trip. We stayed at PN in the second week of March and found it warm, welcoming and memorable. During the time, there was an annual festival going on in the nearby wat and there was constant chanting in the air, but it only added to the atmosphere. From our balcony, we could see a gigantic statue of a standing Buddha and it was a delightful sight at dawn.

I have to mention that the staff accommodated our request of checking-in early and after a London-Bangalore-Thailand flight, we were just so grateful. Thank you!

The best things about this place are its location, atmosphere, staff and delicious breakfasts. The Thewet pier is a short walk away and from here you can take a ferry and check out the historical sights of Bangkok. It's convenient, fun and one of the best ways to see the city. I enjoyed the walk to the pier as the path is lined with plant nurseries - just seeing beautiful lotus flowers in small ponds and pretty plants spilling out of cute pots made me feel like i didn't need any more to make my day. But of course it only got better.

With its soothing vibe, friendly staff and comfortable rooms, PN helps you relax and unwind with ease. It's got that magic touch that makes it stand out and the beautiful courtyard only adds to the charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us the review.

I am grad to know that you had a good time here, not just with PN but also every detail while you were this area.
I hope you also visited the festival at the temple behind us, that was fun and provide you new experiences.

Hope to see you again when you come to Bangkok ^ ^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Even though the hotel is generally more family-oriented, we as a couple in our 50s still were happy with the services. It was very clean, the food was great and we were especially thankful for the great help the staff offered us when we missed our taxi on the last day. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay here : )

We are family hotel, so everybody is like our family member even you come alone or come as a couple, you are all welcome here ^ ^

Have a slow life : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klein-Winternheim, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was there for the second time and it was great .Everything is fine even the rate for the rooms are a bit overpriced. Going to most of the tourist attraction is very easy. Especially by boat from Thewet pier. Close to the Thewet pier is a nice flower market. Also a nice and not touristic market ist across the bridge.
Food at the channel close to the hotel is very good and clean and healthy.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review ^ ^

As you said our place is close to the pier, just 5 minutes-walk. You could reach the Grand palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun etc. by take to boat about 15-20 minutes.

Nice to hear that you try the food from our neighborhood, the price is good and also nice taste ^ ^

Have a slow life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have such a good time in PN!Nice food、beautiful room、lovely smiles..,we just be treated like family、old friends.we can relax after busy traval ,and sit down in the lobby,take a drink that be made by fresh fruit,and enjoy a truly slow life..just like they said!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback ^__^
We are really happy to know that you had a good time with us.

We try to make the lobby to be the most relax part for all guests, and we also now have some renovation on the garden area. We will keep update the progress via Facebook.
Thanks again for your stay ^ ^
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderfully decorated and landscaped hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly and hotel in a good position for exploring Bangkok. Breakfast was very good and the smoothies amazing! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you like our service and the food.

We hope to see you again and enjoy our slow time ^__^

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 839 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#3 of 839 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing