We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Banglamphu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #4 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lovely, helpful staff. Place full of character. Loved the murals and the overall design of the place. Courtyard / cafe area great oasis within Bangkok mayhem. Extremely satisfied. Good value. Easy walk to Thewet pier for the river boats - definitely the way to travel in the heat of April. Vegetarian, Thai style breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarafieldSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Really nice to hear that you had a good time with us : )
Like you said, from here to the pier is very easy just 5-10 minutes-walk and travel by boat is a good way; avoid the traffic and also you can see the view along the river.

Thanks again for your stay and hope to see you again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    413
    54
    17
    4
See reviews for
547
885
186
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lavender bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

one of the best hotels we stayed in South East Asia by far. The murals are unique, very nice concept with lots of plants and tree in the garden. Location is not really in city center. The service is good and the breakfast is yummy although quite pricey with the add ons. The room is clean and comfortable with themes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bella r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review : )
All the murals in the rooms has their own theme, hope you come and try another room next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall experience at Phranakorn Nornlen was very good. Staff and gardens are absolutely beautiful. However, whatever you do, DO NOT USE their airport transport service (more below).
Now, top/bottom three features of the Hotel/B&B.
Top 3:
1. Staff. Absolutely wonderful staff. From the front desk, down to the Housekeepers, everyone makes you feel right at home;
2. Food. We felt the breakfast was very good. Alternating between an English/American, to what is close to a light Thai breakfast on alternating days; the breakfasts were a good way to start the day. I also believe that the food and drink is locally sourced;
3. Location is very good. In Bangkok, this hotel is not in the proximity of the SkyTrain or any type of Metro, but taxis and (the fun!) water transport (from the Thewet station down the street), will get you anywhere to the tourist sites in Bangkok. Boat ride is only 15 Baht!
Bottom 3:
1. DO NOT USE THE AIRPORT TRANSFER SERVICE. Overpriced and may be a Thai scam. I notified them three times of our arrival. Pre-paid them (a mistake) an exorbitant amount of 1,250 Baht ($42 USD) and THEY WILL NOT refund. Followed their instructions, and wandered around the airport for over an hour. Guess what? No one to be found. Took a taxi for 300 Baht (yes, one quarter the price), and got delivered right to the doorstep of the B&B. Just make sure the taxi drops the meter;
2. No electronics. No TV, radio, or even radio. So don’t expect any of that. A little disappointing given the price one pays to stay there;
3. Little inconveniences. We were in room 313 and were woken up every day around 5:00 am by a dog barking (now, that is the alarm clock).
As mentioned, overall positive experience. Thai people and food is excellent. Few words of note. If you go in March/April, expect heat. Was 40C in Ayutthaya. If you are Caucasian, EXPECT to be scammed if you walk the streets (it will happen). Not as bad as India/some parts of China, but you are a target. We loved the Blue Sapphire scam (and whatever you do, don’t go into a tuk tuk that drives right up!). Very elaborate and you will be caught up in it if you are not careful. And these scammers can be real good.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyolite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us the feedback, it really helpful both to us and other travelers.
Regarding the transfer service, I am apologize for any inconvenience, maybe some misunderstanding as if they didn't show up because of their mistake they must refund the amount you paid. Please contact the reservation about this issue and we will help you talking to the transfer as we are difference company. The transfer service price is more expensive than the normal taxi. however those who need this kind of service; pick up at the gate, drive direct to the hotel without confusion, nice driver, the pick up service is could be one of your choice.By the way the taxi from the airport is also convenience and of course the price is cheaper : )
About the scam, I also would like to warn everyone about that, there are good and bad tuktuk driver (not all), if they convince you to go somewhere that you don't want to, just say no to them. Be careful, especially the tuktuk at the tourist place such as the grand palace or some temples.They will not force you or do bad thing to you, they just convince you. For the price, please find some information before you go that how much should it be, please feel free to ask at the reception : )

Finally we really appreciate your comments, it really useful.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really, really great place to stay! The rooms aren't plush but they're quirky as hell. Each room has different murals on its walls, as do the corridors and common areas. Like a magical world! The hotel keeps its guests very well hydrated with free water and juices. You also get a free smoothie or toiletry bag when you check in. There are two large mac computers in a chillout area for internet use and there is free, homemade insect repellent to use when you're sitting out in the restaurant/garden area. The breakfast is wholesome and local, they even grow some of their ingredients on the roof. Despite the construction going on up there that was very loud in our room, we ventured up to see the rabbits and had a great time playing with them. They're adorable! Staying here is worth every penny. Make sure you take the hotel card for the map and directions to give to taxi drivers otherwise it'll be hard to find.

Room Tip: Look through the pictures others have put up and choose a mural you like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review : ) Really nice to hear that you like our place.
You mentioned about the hotel card, yes it very good idea when you go out. As I always said, everyone know the area but they don't know there is a small hotel locate here : ) So it good that you have our map and hotel number with you.
I apologize for the noise that disturb you from the rooftop, now the construction is finished up there, I hope you can come and see the best view next time : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to say I wasn't that impressed with this hotel. I did absolutely love the building, furniture and décor. i'm a huge vintage fan and this place was full of quirky, beautiful furniture and fabric and had a great colonial/70s mishmash feel which would, normally speaking, have bowled me over.
however, the staff- apart from the receptionists- weren't at all friendly, the bed was the most uncomfortable I think I've ever slept on (think rock like) and the breakfast was the worst food I've had in Thailand. add to that dogs barking outside all night ( I can get used to traffic noise, but not amorous dogs!) and mossies from hell (they do provide f.o.c. insect repellent, but it didn't quite cut it)...oh and heaps of kids, if you're into that. and no taxi or tuk tuk drivers were interested in taking us into town from here, or back to the hotel. can't believe how many times we were turned down! last thing you want on the last night of your holiday- traipsing for miles because you're in an awkward spot that people haven't heard of, or can't be bothered driving to. :o(
kind of glad to have experienced this place, but won't be returning. Bangkok loft inn all the way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vexed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you have a difficult time here : ( I will keep your comments into our mind and discuss with the team how we can improve.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

really nice hotel, friendly staff, very good breakfast, maybe a little expensive - quite a few mosquitos, overall a really nice place to stay, 10 mins walk from koh sang road. really nice hotel, friendly staff, very good breakfast, maybe a little expensive - quite a few mosquitos, overall a really nice place to stay, 10 mins walk from koh sang road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate it : )
Hope to welcome you back here again some day.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neurope
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been a few times here and will keep coming back for the super family friendly service, unique style, good food and ideals in this hotel. For kids you cannot go wrong - great space in the hotel for relaxing and playing with the kids and many visits are made down to the jetty nearby to feed the hoards of "royal" fish. The ferries at the jetty provide an easy way into town and meet with the metro so getting around is easy. A nice way to ease into a Thai vacation

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ttotheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very for your nice message : )
From the hotel to the pier is about 5-10 minutes-walk, yes a good activity is to feed the fish at the pier ^ ^
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 823 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#3 of 823 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing