We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Calm oasis in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 826 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Calm oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We loved our stay at Phra-Nakorn and missed it as soon as we left! The staff couldn't have been kinder and we would particularly like to mention 'Fon' and how much she helped us with all our questions and directions, nothing was too much trouble. We didn't travel with children but this is a very family friendly place to stay with a children's area and nice safe surroundings. The rooms were cute, quirky and colourful. I always enjoyed coming back here after being in Bangkok which speaks volumes as we actually chose to stay here at night time instead of going out. Food was cheap and delicious! About a 15/20 minute walk to Koh San Road which was easy to get to. I couldn't recommend this place enough. It was lovely to experience 'slow life' :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    422
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
584
895
187
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

In the other part of the world we take 4-5 star hotels, but in Bangkok I wanted to try a different style. We stayed 6nights here, the staff is very nice, they help you with taxis, travel ideas, etc. At the first night we didn't sleep well, because of the hard bed and pillow, but we solved that later.
We loved the breakfast area in the garden, the fresh juices, fruits in the morning. They served eggs and toast, pancakes or thai breakfast. Do not expect buffet table. My daughter loved the organic soap wich was made by the hotel. The room is simple, nice wallpaintings, we had a family room wich has two rooms and two bathrooms. I would feel more comfortable if they use a little nicer bedcover and not the old blanket. The bathrooms had showers and no curtains so the toilet get wet after each showering. But it was ok because we used one bathroom for showering and the other one for brushing teeth and toilet.
It would be nice to have shelves or more storage place where we can put our clothes.
We ate dinner twice there and it was very tasty and good price, oh and try the lemongrass mojito, it was fantastic.
The girls at the reception were nice to organize our transportations, they always gave advice what is a good price.
Since this hotel is in the old BKK we took the ferry to downtown which is cheap and fast. But on the evening the taxis were nightmare, many times only the 5th taxi could take us home and of course without the meter. Take the map always with you which explains the hotel location.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends if they visiting BKK.

Room Tip: Family room is perfect with kids they had their own beds, not an open-out sofa. Higher floors have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, had our 7 month old son with us. PN had prepared us a nice baby bed in our room upon our request. Hotel looks so original, food was great, staff attentive and helpful. The suburbs around were lovely. I think it was great, that the room did not have a TV :). We definitely consider revisiting, whenever we have another chance to travel to Thailand!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved the food, the warmth of the staff..the location (we adventured to many places from there!). It is a great hotel for those who are a little back packerish..If the show of a modern lobby is for you...not there!
Excellent kitchen!
Clean. Quirky. Great for children.
An oasis in the midst of a chaotic city.
The view from the upper deck is so Bangkok...modern bridge, giant Buddha, etc

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

when entering it is like in a new world. a little paradise. the staff is very friendly. rooms are clean. nice concept for decoration. amazing garden...
a little bite expensive. and no swimming pool. that are the reason we spent only one night.
but we couldnt come in bangkok without a stay here... without a slow life accomodation for beginning a thailand trip...

Room Tip: 211 is a good choice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandydenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf bei Nurnberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights and we enjoyed it. The right place to relax and take a rest after a day in the streets of bangkok - we will come back! The concept is great, the atmosphere is delightfull. And the interior decoration is tenderly designed.The staff is very obliging!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medis, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we spent 4 days in PN and enjoyed the whole place (except mosquitos in the patio...). We definitely will stay there each time we will have to spend time in bangkok.
the area of thewet is an occasion to see the inner bangkok . The market is very nice and the pier is very close to reach the old bangkok;

Room Tip: the connected room are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mille-goules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 826 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#3 of 826 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing