We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very original”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel very well located in busy Bangkok is a piece of art. The painting work is amazing and make this place very special.
Hidden in the small streets of this crazy city this place is relaxing to be. Very clean and charming, staff helpful.
Food not the best i've eaten but still i appreciated the thai breakfast.
Definitely a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpolasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,351)
There are newer reviews for Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

This charming guest house met all of my expections. Arriving in Bangkok after midnight and a 20+ hour journey, I was met at the airport by a driver for their car service (cost about $20.00) who handed me a cold bottle of water and quickly escorted me to a comfortable limo and whisked me through Bangok to the neighborhood in Old Bangkok where the guest house is located. Upon arrival at the guesthouse, friendly staff escorted me to my room.

This guesthouse is not for everyone, but it is for travellers like myself- those who like a unique place to stay rather than a cookie cutter type of hotel. Each of the rooms is individually painted with unique wall murals. The common area is filled with plants and an unobtrusive play area for children. A unique collection of memorabillia also adorns this area. The gift shop has individually crafted gifts and spa products.
Upon arrival you also receive a coupon for 1/2 off a Thai massage. After a long flight, this was especially invigorating.
.
Walking around the neighborhood I encountered a Buddhist festival as well as a wonderful marketplace and lots of friendly folks. It is also only a few blocks from a stop on the water ferry which takes you to all of the major sights.

So, if I ever return, there is no where else I would stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoshannarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tucked into a side street in congested Bangkok is an oasis where I spent 4 days in January with my year old grandson while his parents attended an international teaching job fair. What it lacks in luxury this hotel makes up for in charm and amenities: a large vine-covered patio filled with tropical plants. Tables and benches for eating and chatting are next to a play area for the kids and a little pond with tropical fish. Owned and operated by a young Thai couple the Phra-Nakorn hits all the right notes: a funky decor with faux paintings that throw you back to a simpler time when there were still small shops where one bought bread, fish, and fruit. The menu is limited but the offerings are delicious and the smoothies are to die for. I would recommend the chicken fried rice for the younger travelers, who will be beguiled, as my grandson and I were, by the kid-friendly staff. Don't miss the roof top where there are raised beds and old bathtubs with organic produce and a killer view of a gigantic golden Budha and the suspension bridge. Just the spot to watch the sunset while sipping an adult beverage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p00kster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband, 5 yr old daughter and I stayed for 5 nights in February. We had a great visit to Bangkok and the hotel is the perfect location for getting around. The hotel is very kid-friendly. The restaurant food and smoothies were very good but the service could use a bit of help, the timely delivery of food and correct order were questionable.
Pros: kid-friendly, helpful and poliet staff, cute rooms with able bathroom space, great decor, good location
Cons: mosquitos!!!, massage room had an unpleasant smell (not to mention I saw the massuse in the bathroom not wash her hands), drier leaves clothes damp, beds were a bit hard, cooking class was nothing great, and don't leave anything behind...you will not get it back.
I am on the fence about recommending this hotel. But if you are looking for kid-friendly then yes, but otherwise look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Place is nice. Well situated in Bangkok.
But that's about it.

Breakfast is cheap. Rooms are nice but beds are harder then wood !
And the noise...3 nights, not one with more then 4h sleep.
Thanks to that dog that keeps on barking all night....terrible.

Room Tip: one where you cannot hear that dog bark all nights !!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PN-family, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Sir
It's has been a years since your last visit with us sorry that we miss replying to you. Thank you for your review and we will try to keep it in mind that we need to improve our hotel even better to reach all traveller standard. Unlucky we can't control the noise from our neighbor 's dog we also try so much to think about making a new door and window that keep noise away. Usually there were only 4-6rooms that close to our neighbor house that might herd the noise of the dog. Sorry that our staff didn't change your room to the other side that more far if they know that you have a problem on sleeping I think they will try their best to solve this out. During the month of March especially 1-10 of March in every year the temple near by us also have a ceremony and might create some noise too. So now we try to inform guest on this if there are a ceremony or festival. We do also try to help reduce noise by giving our guest an ear plug and a handmade eye mask from our staff. This is what we try to help on what we can control. About the food we're very sorry that it make you disappointed. Our breakfast menu is changing every day and we try to keep it fresh and serve what is best for each season. From your comment it give us more information that the experience of Thai food that we offer to guest may be not easy for guest to eat it. Now we are on process of developing our new menu and it gonna be better. Lastly about the hard bed we sorry to said that it's a original Thai style that we want to offer to guest and we believe that hard bed will be good for our guest back. In every details that we service our guest we want our guest to have experience while staying with us. That 's why we offer Thai breakfast that some dish may be strength for our guest. We offer workshop for guest to experience in something they never do before. We provide not only rooms but experience is what we want to offer to our guest too. Hopefully if you have a chance to visit Thailand again please come to stay with us for a free night and please give us a comment for our change. Have a slow life...^_^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel where we could have an amazing stay for two days of staying . Our room was frankly spacious and clean, staffs helped us to bring breakfast up to our room for private. All attractions located nearby and we had great time to see Dawn temple, World shopping center and Skytrain. We will come back to stay at hotel next month

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podolskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is excellent, just out of the hustle and bustle but not too far away, its near the river boat which is great for zipping down the river and u can walk to kho san for night life in about 15 mins. There is even a free local bus which will take you all the way to Hua Lumphong train station for zip diddly. The accommodation is clean/quirky/quiet. The communal areas are peaceful and relaxing. I recommend getting a massage too, perfect for killing the jetlag. I carry on thinking about the smell of lemongrass in the air and i get transported back to bangkok. Highly recommended for families and couples wanting to find a peaceful haven in the middle of bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 880 in Bangkok
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 880 in Bangkok
1,518 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 880 in Bangkok
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing