We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to be - Incredibly calm, friendly, beautiful and exotic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 826 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to be - Incredibly calm, friendly, beautiful and exotic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Everything is in the title of this review, our travel began once arriving in this wonderful place. Thanks to the team which is so nice and helpful, for example they provided specific breakfast for me suffering from food intolerances. The garden is wonderful, our daughter loved to play there with other childrens while we were quietly talking with other guests. Please don't change everything !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    422
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
584
894
187
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

PN is a fantastic hotel. It's a great place to stay to escape the business of Bangkok - but it's still so central to get around and explore.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make beautiful soap and ice cream.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend the place to anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorrosehowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really couldn't have asked for more, first night in Bangkok, arrived to a delicious meal, lovely room and hot shower! The staff were so kind, welcoming and helpful....what more could you want!
Totally relaxed hotel in the mayhem that is Bangkok!

Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndj876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very original and beautiful decorated rooms; peaceful garden; delicious food and drinks; very friendly and helpful staff; good location (in a green and calm neighbourhood and only 10 minutes walking to the Chaya Prao River Express); etc. I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

PN was a fantastic experience as a solo and first time traveler to Bangkok.

It is a great location (minutes away from one of the water stations) and has a plethora of restaurants around it.

The staff is so friendly and helpful: they give you great tips on where to go, how to get around and local highlights.

The smoothies and massages are amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious (and air conditioned).

The communal spaces are very inviting and the overall experience was incredibly positive.

Whether you are traveling in a couple, with friends, family or on your own, PN is a fantastic place to stay in Bangkok. I am definitely staying there again when I return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was relaxing and worry free. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel and room had decorative personality with unique paintings on the walls that blended into the old fashion but modern feel theme of the boutique hotel. There is a shared refrigerator and book exchange on the second floor. The food was prepared fresh with healthy ingredients. The smoothies were refreshing. Mac computers were available for use. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Phranakorn Norlen a comfortable, friendly boutique guest house with good facilities, good food and LOTS of character. Impressively peaceful atmosphere nestled in the centre of manic Bangkok!

PRICE: Standard Double, £45 per night with free extras

LOCATION: Quiet Location near river with easy access to sightseeing spots but not near to train stations

STAFF: Very friendly and helpful, some english speakers

ROOM: Clean Spacious and individually decorated with murals. Free bottled water every day. Free toiletries (despensers only). No bugs.

BREAKFAST/FOOD: Decent breakfast cooked to order (included) - also free lunch/drinks with vouchers

WIFI: Free, fast, reliable wifi throughout. Two guest computers opposite reception.

CUSTOMER TYPE: For slighty budget concsious wanting something unique and 'Thai' feeling.

The only slight hiccup we had staying at PN was finding it! We came via train / boat rather than taxi and got a bit lost, so for those wondering... From the river, ignore the tourist boat (which doesn't go far enough upriver!) and get on the ferries with the orange flags for 15 baht, which you pay on the boat. Get off at pier 15 "Thewet" then head straight down the road (Thanon Kung Kasem) past the first big cross roads taking a right at the Seven Eleven (just before the foot bridge over the canal). Hotel is on the right down Soi Thewett 1 which appears to be an alley way! At time of visit, Google Maps made it look as though PN was down the turning before which is where we went wrong!

It's also worth noting that £45 may not seem that cheap compared to some of the deals available in Bangkok, but you actually get a lot of extra value at PN if you use the vouchers they give you on check-in, we used ours for several tasty lunch/dinner meals, as well as drinks and we also took advantage of the discount for a thai massage (which was as good as any we have had in Thailand and is a must try for visiters to the country). We also did our free etching workshop which was great fun and used the communal washing machine which was cheaper than a laundry service at other hotels.

The helpful attitude of Si and Fon (the main english speaking girls) also made PN feel like excellent value for money. It's not a typical marble floored high rise Bangkok hotel but that's what made it special for us and we would return in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTeamLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 826 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#3 of 826 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 826 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing