We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family (including 3 children) loved staying at Phranakorn Nornlen. It was a delight to stay there. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family by the exceptional staff. It may be a little bit out of the way, but is only 2 blocks from the river taxis (Thewet pier) - so you can get to other parts of the city very quickly. Delicious food, the best smoothies and a wonderful vibe! The murals in the bedrooms are amazing. Our only complaint would be the hard mattresses and huge pillows (but this is common throughout Thailand)...Very handy to have a washing machine and dryer available for guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really enjoyed staying in Phranakorn Nomlen.
They are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good enough, but needs more variety if possible.
My favorite is smoothies from their cafe.
Massage is cheap and really nice.
As other guests say, taxi drivers always don't understand where PN is. So you should always be with the map in Thai language that receptionist gives you. That's only problem for me.

I guess Japanese girls like this type of hotel. So you should make a reservation form in japanese as well, because it's very hard for Japanese to call or read in English to make a reservation. It's my suggestion.

Anyway, I'd like to stay again here.
Thank you again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Tomonori I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

we enjoyed our time at phranakorn nornlen a lot.
It is in a lovely neighborhood, near to a wonderful and very busy wat.
the staff is great.
the only problem is also part of its charm.
it is rather inconvenient getting back and forth from other parts of Bangkok,
so it is best to stay there if you have nothing to do but enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

nice hotel but a bit far from places of interest.Every time we had to take a taxi to go back to the hotel, our driver got lost...Try the gingertea after a thai massage..incredible.
The staff was very nice.They prepared us something to eat when we arrived after the kitchen had closed(because of 2 and half hours spent in the taxi looking for the place)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soso z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A unique hotel very lovingly decorated with hand-painted wall murals throughout. The service was very friendly and the breakfast tasty.

It is in a quiet residential neighborhood and an oasis of tranquility in the craziness that is Bangkok. This is nice when you are there, but sometimes a problem for finding a taxi back to the hotel, especially at night. It seems to be hard for them to find and some don't want to go in this direction.

Very pleasant common areas for hanging out, downstairs and on the roof terrace. Very family friendly.

We recommend you try the excellent riverside restaurant called Steve's Cafe, easy walking distance near the Thewet pier on the other side of the canal.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise in the mornings, ask for a room that doesn't overlook the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I arrive in bkk with my young daughter very tired and thank god! i arrive to Phranakorn!! It's a little peaceful hotel far from all busy and nevrotic bangkok areas but very close to the river and to all the best place to visit. People is simply wonderful!! after one day we felt home and loved! Rooms are amasing! funny, basic but confortable. The terrace on the roof pleasant and with a beautiful view. We went back after one week and the feeling was great: we were back home! food is good, organic and healthy. Certainly we'll go back on Phranakorn on our next trip di thailand! Thanks to every single persons working there to make my stay so pleasant.
A friend of mine told me: "Phranakorn is an hotel for clever people" ...I agree!
Cinzia and Andrea from Italy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinziamello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We ended our Thailand adventure at this very quirky little hotel. On our arrival we were greeted so warmly with a lovely refreshing drink.
The rooms were very comfortable the beds were like all of them in Thailand a bit hard but that would be the only negative. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was very nice that was the only meal we had there as we wanted to eat at the hundreds of street stalls in Bangkok.
The staff were so helpful and nothing was a problem, they also held free classes such as cooking, etching and soap making to name a few. They also had a little play area for young children, no pool but that didn't bother us.It was also very quiet no street noise at all.
Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 889 in Bangkok
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 889 in Bangkok
1,554 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#19 of 889 in Bangkok
1,477 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing