We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and colourful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alfred
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean and colourful”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this delightful hotel. We loved the quirky paintings everywhere and the rooms were beautifully clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meals we had there unusual and very good. Although there was concern about the floods, we were kept informed and we could see that they were prepared if we did become stranded - boats appeared in the lobby!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PN-family, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for your message , we are so happy to hear that and thank you very much for your understanding about the flood situation which was unpredictable.
However we have prepared all kind of measures to make sure that our guests will be safe and stay dry and luckily enough, the flood did not reach our hotel :)

We hope to welcome you again someday very soon, as please remember that we are your home in Bangkok!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    457
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
657
962
212
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Big thanks to 'google' when I type 'Vintage hotel Bangkok' - that's PN shown! Must COME! I do appreciated with Donald, who have lot of time to responses in email correspondences due our concerns of the big floods. He's star! I'm GLAD to come.

Love their decor and painting walls so vintage, my travel friend & I were feel so home and comfortable - staffs are friendly, warm and caring, especially look after us as family vibre. I'd never stop to clicks camera!

Never forget, their gorgeous welcome gift, a soap & tiger balm (homemade), little vouchers (food, drink & half price massage treatment), which touching our heart - unique hotel to treat guests. We have asked for hot milk, they do provided - a yummy taste!

Location, decors, hotel style, food, atmosphere make us feel in Thai real community. I'd definitely come back, been stayed other hotel in central, no feel Thai vibes, as tourist label! PN treats you as soul person, not 'tourist'! You MUST come & stay!

Room Tip: Oh gosh .... I feel all rooms with balcony are goregeous different decors and painting walls. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Kob Khun Kha! ( Thank you in Thai ^^)
Your generous message cheer us up and gives us a happy feeling!
We love to welcome our guest = friends and family, and enjoy talking, listening, and getting to know the new culture from every single moment with the guests.
PN team is "staff," but not really means "work" at PN.
We are eager to meet new things and get experience from communicating people from different back ground.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed staying with us and PN team and felt our communication comes from our soul!

Please feel free to contact us at anytime, and Donald is happy to help you at anytime!
Let's hope to see each other again, someday very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The quirky decor, ultra friendly staff, interesting Thai food and great rooms make this one of the best value hotels in Asia, never mind Bangkok. Loved it. Would definitely go back. The view from the roof terrace is unmissable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Kob Khun Kha! (Thank you in Thai. ^^)
It is our pleasure to welcomed ultra lovely you and your family!
Yes, our rooftop is a secret spot of PN...and you found it! Good job!
It is so beautiful during the sunset time, just sitting and closing your eyes to feel the breeze of Bangkok. I bet you would forget about being in Bangkok, the busy town in Thailand.
We are now renovating the rooftop to create an organic little farm.
Once we have done, you will enjoy our homemade organic vegetable and herbs for breakfast / dinner!
Let's keep in touch on facebook, and please follow us our update information&photos!
We are looking forward to welcome you again someday very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked PN following the good reviews on TripAdvisor and it did not disapoint. It was the best place to start our trip and i would recommend it to anyone. It's homely and cozy, everyone was super-friendly even while they were trying to deal with the incoming floods and potential consequences on the hotel. You will get to see a part of bangkok you would have probably not come across staying in a centre hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
How wonderful to receive a lovely message from you!
We would love our guests to see & experience the local area of Bangkok, and the real Thai life.
It is glad to know that you did enjoy something new in Bangkok, as well as staying with us, the slow life.
Thank you for you sharing your happy memory on Tripadvisor, and I am sure your message help other travelers who are interested in Phranakorn Nornlen!
As you mentioned, we are now closing until 31st NOV as it is difficult to have slow life due to the flood.
Luckily, we are not affected by the flood but we prefer to help our neighbors and the victims. We are now trying to get back our slow life as the situation is getting better an better.
We will open up again in December!
We hope to welcome you again someday very soon, as we are your home in Bangkok!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Phra-Nakorn is absolutely a nice hotel, different from all other places we have been. Service is great, as well as food and beverages. We booked this hotel because of the good references on trip advisor, no regrets, but the next time in Bangkok we will pick another place. Reasons for this are the following: no curtains in the room and badly isolated (we woke up very early due to light and noises). The get somewhere you have to get a taxi or tuktuk. No public transport gets you to the hotel and the hotel is hard to find (bring directions in Thai). I thought it was close to Koh San Road, but this is approximately 25-30 minutes walking distance.). We paid about Euro 52 per night (incl BF), for this price you can find a lot of hotels with far more facilities and comfort on a better location. If you really want something different, stay at Phrana-korn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your honest message for us!
We are sorry to hear that you had uncomfortable morning because of the strong sunshine. Maybe our handmade curtain was too thin....We will try to make another layer so that you will have a fresh wake-up!
For the location, we are located in the local area which may not familiar with some of the taxi drivers. ( We prepare the map in Thai language in the reception and in our website. ) I am wondering if you could have a chance to get on the ferry boat on the Chaophraya river. The nearest pier is about 5 min walk from us, and also you can go to Khaosan Road by this ferry boat. (2 stops from us.) We should have shared more transportation information with you before you go out.... Please feel free to ask our staff for anything at anytime you need!
We appreciate your sincere message as we can know what we can improve more.
We hope to welcome you again someday soon, and we will try to make you feel happier than this time! ^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Bangkok is a huge fast-moving city buzzing with life and sounds. From the moment we walked into the Phranakorn (after we found it- which was a tad difficult), we were in love! It is truly an oasis; lush gardens , sounds of birds, and water ponds surround all of the common areas on the first floor. Each hall and room is uniquely hand painted (be sure to check out all the floors).

The roof garden is also great (must visit!) where they grow their fresh vegetables (resident rabbit hangs here too) and a small bar where you can order a few food items and drinks and see the magnificent skyline towards the river and the giant standing Buddha nearby. All of this contributes to a very peaceful environment and a lovely escape from the city. Be sure to stop in to the little shop. Really great selection of cotton clothes, hand-made crafts, little gifts, etc. They also have a little reading/computer area with a couple iMACs and bean bag chairs, and little places for the little kids to run around and hide. Lots of nooks and crannies here to keep everyone entertained.

On the first day we arrived, my 14 year old daughter announced that she wanted to drop out of high school and work at the PN. She was totally serious. She LOVES it there. We all loved it, but not quite with the same fervor. A real testament to the unique and wonderful place that it is. She has decided to stay in school and visit herself when she is an adult. ☺

As a side note: We have also spent a bit of time at the Four Seasons in BKK...this is still my favorite property. One of my favorites in the world actually.

Rooms
We traveled with our 3 teens and had 3 separate rooms so we got quite an introduction to room types. We had the rose room, daughter had the fish room, and the apothecary room went to the boys- twin bed room. On our second visit we stayed in the butterfly room. Everyone loved their rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are also very affordable which allowed us the luxury to be able to spread out here and give everyone their own space.

Pros: big, cheery, beautifully designed spaces, AC.
Cons: no mosquito nets (on our trip this was the only place that didn't have them, majority of bites happened here at the beginning of our trip- major bummer!), and not enough blankets (one on the bed). Room service was very familiar with us. Thai tea and blankets… (So bring DEET. You can 100% solution at REI, then dilute in spray bottles with isopropyl alcohol. This is much cheaper than OFF solutions, and is way higher in concentration. And don’t open the windows- it seems tempting and romantic- but hard to get rid of the mosquito’s once they have joined you and smell their prey). The beds are firm as well- which is good for some and more difficult for others…

Service
The staff here are outstanding! Super friendly and helpful, always cheery (even when you are asking LOTS of questions :) Every person that works here contributes to the lovely atmosphere and works hard to ensure that you really enjoy your stay and that the hotel is well run. In my experience this is a rare occurrence these days. It feels like you are staying at someone’s home. Kudo’s to the workers and the management…

Location
The hotel is on a quiet street down a side alley. Finding it is really half of the fun. This is in a quieter part of the city that I really enjoyed. You can easily get to and from the hotel as long as you have the right map to direct taxi and tuk tuk drivers how to get here (be sure to ask the tuk driver if they know which part of the city the hotel is located- show them the bridge- use the 7-11 as your corner marker. To say that I highly recommend printing your own copy of the map from their website on a full 8 1/2 x 11 piece of paper (this size is much easier for them to read than the ones that the hotel hands out) before you leave on your trip is an understatement. This is MANDATORY. This will help you get to the hotel when you arrive in Bangkok, without a map the drivers get totally lost. This is an invaluable piece of paper! Do not leave the hotel without it-! Always show the map to drivers and ask how much before getting in the vehicle. You can get most places in the city for about 200 baht. Expect half of your drivers to get lost and allow extra time for getting around. Once you figure this out, getting to and from the hotel is easy.
You can also easily walk 5-10 mins to the Chao Phraya and get on a river taxi to connect up with the BTS downtown (about a 15 min ride).
River transportation and BTS
http://www.wowasis.com/travelblog/?p=937
http://www.bts.co.th/en/map.asp

Food
I cannot begin to describe the food. Unbelievably amazing! We still fondly long for our food here. Every day breakfast was different. Sometimes sweet, sometimes savory. Always fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juices of combo’s that you have never had before, and always fresh vegetables. Favorite veg was the fresh leaf lettuce salad with tomato in a hollowed out cucumber, with a dollop of creamy dressing on the top. Two of us in the group are gluten free. They made us chicken fried rice every day for breakfast which was out of this world good. I have no idea how they made it taste SO heavenly. Fresh cherry tomatoes, perfect rice, great chicken, fresh veggies… ahhh. Lunches were just as good. Phad thai, phad see ew, and on and on… served with large doses of bottles of thai coke (even better than mexi coke- and still carbonated after two days!!! How do they do that?) and thai tea. Be sure to eat on the roof too. Fun place to have soda in the eve with fries. They have more American-ized fare up here too- for desperate late night snacks.

Side trips
Be sure to ask the hotel to set you up with a private canal tour. They had the nicest gentleman and his wife and a gorgeous boat, take us through Bangkok Yoi and Mon at about 4pm. We were able to see the sunset over the temples, then the river houses, and closed with a swarm of bats swimming over the canal during the full moon. Awesome (and affordable!)

Don’t miss the standing Buddha that you can see from the rooftop. Go at sunrise so that you can see the temple waking up and the monks doing alms. Purchase the little bags of food and water to gift to the monks from the street side vendors early (like 5-5:45 am- do this your first day here- it will be the only day where waking that early is easy). You can give the alms to the monks on the street and they will give you a quick blessing. If you go to the temple and do alms there, you may get a song, or an ancestor blessing. Hold the offering in your open palms and bow. Best to not make eye contact, especially for women, out of respect. One of our most memorable travel experiences. This is the only food that monks receive for the day. The monks appear to receive ample donations by the end of their walks around their neighborhood, but they are only taking a small amount for themselves, the rest goes to less mobile monks, and the poor. Amazing way to participate in charity and local culture. My daughter also loved this….


We can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Rooms are all great- higher floors mean more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seattle_Jenkins_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your passionate message!
It made happy and smile, especially the story about your daughter! We are always welcome your daughter as the member of PN. We love people with passion, just like PN team. ^^

It is our pleasure that you enjoyed our rooms! As you mentioned, all floor and rooms are painted differently with different theme, painted by our Thai artist friend. We are sure that every part of PN can be a great photo spot!
However, we are sorry to know that you had a unhappy memory about mosquitos. We should have explained you upon check in that it may not a good idea to open the door for the balcony in the room. Our patio is full of nature, and it is a place for animals such as frog, cat, and also mosquito... We had been discussing about mosquito issue, and finalized to make our own products with Non-chemical ingredients. We make anti-mosquito cream & spray, shampoo&soap, and more in the laboratory in our hotel.
I wonder if you saw them in the little shop, and also if you tried the samples of anti-mosquito cream at the reception. If not, please try it next time you come & stay with us! ^^

We will keep doing our best for all of our friends ( = guests ^^ ) for the slow life in PN.
Let's keep in touch on facebook and please follow us the current information and photos!
We can not wait to see you again and say " Welcome back to PN! "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A great great place to stay-the rooms are lovely-creative fun art on the walls, happy music on a little cd player, funky bathrooms-perhaps even a view onto a nearby temple. A great Thai massage lady is on standby and the staff will go many an extra mile for you. The best part for me was the location-walk 100m and great streetfood beckons, old houses surround you, the canals flow past-this is a great part of Bangkok, far away from the hustle and bustle and the tourist madness. A 10min boatride takes you down the river to the Grand Palace.
Thank you to all the staff at PN for making my first days in Thailand decidedly unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friederike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
It is great great pleasure for us to receive your happy memory staying with us! ^^
As you mentioned, we are located in the Old Bangkok area where a good place to explore the local-real Thai life.
It's nice to know that you enjoyed walking around the town! Good job!
We are happy to share the information of local areas, local food, and some more tips!
Please come and visit us again, and we will tell you the secret street for the temple in backside of PN.... :-)
Keep in touch until we see each other next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 852 in Bangkok
492 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 852 in Bangkok
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 852 in Bangkok
1,471 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 852 in Bangkok
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing