We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #648 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at Royal Ivory a few times and found the staff to be very pleasant and polite, the location is great, in the middle of everything with close proximity to BTS. you are along Soi4 far enough to be quiet and peaceful.
the maintenance on the rooms seems to have been forgotten a little, with the TV cabinets and chairs looking a little the worse for wear but the rooms are still kept very clean and the beds are large and comfortable.

the biggest complaint from most people who stay there is the terrible WIFI. it is near impossible to get Wi-Fi in your room so you are left with no option but to sit in the open foyer downstairs subject to the elements and totally lacking in privacy with no air-conditioning. while there on many occasions I have heard clients complain about the Wi-Fi and the poor staff are not in a position to offer a solution as the owners refuse to upgrade the system, so if you hope to conduct any business over the internet while there, think again and choose another hotel.

the staff in the businesses downstairs are great very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

I hope the owners read this and lift their game on the issue of Wi-Fi and basic maintenance because other than these issues the hotel is quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Khun Ramzi M,

Thank you for reviewing Royal Ivory and sharing you experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our rooms and your feedback about the Chair and TV is well noted. We happy to announce that the royal ivory has just budgeted an maintenance order to re-laminate the wooden chair to give it the shine of a new chair. The team is happy to hear that you've enjoy our service.

The owners have been notify plenty of times, since than they have install, from originally 3 high-powered access points now 5 high-powered access points. 1 was installed in 4th floor and another in 3rd floor. Working directly with the owner, we would love to hear more about your thoughts and feedback on Royal Ivory, please do e-mail us at royalivory@gmail.com.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences and tips about royal ivory, we value your feedback . We are having a private promotion sales online that allows you to book the walk-in price directly from our website, please e-mail us for more details. Thank you!

Assistance Operation Manager
Phornthep S.
Royal Ivory team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    136
    43
    49
See reviews for
44
93
148
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goalpara, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Does the job as always. Nice large room with a small kitchen but only used the microwave which was sufficient. And as promised the internet did got better but still had to phone down a couple of times to ask for a restart. I'm still not sure what's the problem, when asked the answer was about IP clashing. Anyways apart from the little trouble with the internet, everything works just fine. Tuk-Tuk was great, choose the room only option (good long nights in nana). The location was really convenience to extra charges in the bill like other hotel which was good. All in all my bangkok homestay. Tried to talk to them about the lowering the price for long stay but it wasn't much difference and require deposit so went with the daily rate.

Room Tip: Get the Big room now, over the counter price is cheaper than online, always!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Khun Rajesh,

Thank you for helping us out Khun Rajesh, it's always nice to have you here with us and we really appreciate your time and effort to review Royal Ivory as requested. I see you are enjoying Trip Advisor now that you signed up. Please review us again next time you're here. Thank you and have a great day krab!

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here a few times and it´s a very relaxing hotel a few hundred meters down Sukhumvit soi 4, the more quiet part. Nice Thaistylerooms with comfortable beds & free wifi. Small swimmingpool, nice breakfastbuffet

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Kingroom. Good, big rooms and very good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OleLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Khun OleLemon,

Thank you for your reviewing Royal Ivory. We must agree the Deluxe King room offers great value and ample space. Thank you for compliments on the room, bed and Wi-Fi Royal Ivory always tries to keep the rooms as authentic as possible without losing out on the comfort, and we are glad you have experience the Ivory experience.

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory Nana 4
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for last summer because all the hotel prices were as much as 50% more than they were 2 months prior. We paid $40/night aprox to stay here and it was...fine. The front desk people were helpful with our lost luggage situation. Breakfast was decent. The location was a little tricky to find but the free tuk-tuk was handy and the skytrain was close. Beds were fine too. AC worked well.

We did have a huge cockroach in our shower! Yuck. Not surprising in that climate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karen1stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Khun karen1stew,

Thank you for reviewing royal ivory and the wonderful comments about our front desk team. We are glad to be off assistance and we are glad you selected our buffet breakfast option. Royal Ivory is located in Sukhumvit soi 4 could be tricky the first time because of the hotel sign which is now fix and fully lit at night. We are glad you enjoy the 24 hrs tuk-tuk service as well as our in-room facility. Thank you for reviewing us and we wish you all the best and hope you have a wonderful weekend.

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is my third review of the Royal Ivory Hotel. I stayed there for the 5th time during March 2013 and once again I was happy with my choice.

The hotel is in a good position in the quieter area of Soi 4 Sukhumvit and if the activities of the other end of the street are not your choice then a taxi or even the hotels own tuk tuk will get you on your way to the other attractions of Bangkok.

Booking is probably cheaper through the hotels own website rather than agencies and advance booking may provide good discounts.

I always stay in a Deluxe King Room, I have never seen any of the other rooms, apartment type room and very spacious with all the usual equipment including TV. The housekeeping was efficient and the room was always clean.

I have seen reviewers complaining about the reception, booking in etc. I have never witnessed this, the staff are courteous, efficient and have reasonable English . . . what is the problem!!

The buffet breakfast is served from 6.30am -> 10.30am and it reasonably good with eggs personally fried or scrambled on request. Asian and western hot foods available but some of the hot western items are not always available eg. bacon. I also found that if you are partaking of a late breakfast (after 9.45am) the staff are reluctant to replenish the food receptacles, I have mentioned this before that the restaurant staff are not the most enthusiastic. However if breakfast is not included in the room price then it is good value at B109.

The only other thing to mention is that the free wi-fi is not good. Constantly on this website over the past 3 years the management have said the wi-fi was being improved, as of March 2013 no matter what they have done there has been little or no improvement. This is 2013 and wi-fi is important to customers and poor signal will stop people booking rooms. My experience is limited to the 3-4 floors.

Generally this is a good hotel and value for money, I will use it again and also recommend it to other Thai visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Khun Andrew,

It’s always nice to have you here at Royal Ivory Nana 4, if you get the chance to visit Phuket we have a nice sister hotel called Andatel, which also is located in quieter part of Patong much like Royal Ivory is with Nana. We are glad to hear that everything when smoothly. Thank you for lighting up our team’s day with this gracious review. We do agree! Royal Ivory Nana 4 is most suitable for wise men and women who loves and enjoy the stress free friendly atmosphere instead of the sturdy professional ambiance new hotel has, Royal Ivory try it’s best to keep our Thai-style rooms up to shape. We are glad that you have booked with us again and hope to see you soon sir!

We are also offering our frequent stays with promotional code that could be used to book the offline flat rate (the best rate) directly from our website. Please e-mail us for more the special code, thank you!

Sincerely,
ROYAL IVORY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Well priced and good location close to restaurants, bars and night life.
Also close to BTS Skytrain. Have moto taxies close by too
Decent buffet breakfast.
Ive stayed a couple of times a Royal Ivory and had no complaints.
The staff are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cruisingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Khun Cruising Thru,

Thank you for your kind words and taking your take to write us this great review. We will try our best to keep up the good effort and please let us know if there is anything we could do for you, should it be prior or after your stay. Royal Ivory wishes you all the best, until we have you here with us again. Royal Ivory is creating a promotional code that which could us to book direct from our website guaranteeing best flat rate through-out the year.

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very convenient location in the famous Soi Nana. 10 minutes walk to BTS skytrain, 5 to the center of entertainment of the area. Located in a quiet section of the street, the hotel features spacious and comfortable room, excellent round-the-clock service and a buffet breakfast for a cheap price. Excellent value for money. I was five times in this hotel and will never change it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Khun Matteo S.,

Thank you for reviewing Royal Ivory Nana 4. Our location is one of the many aspects guest enjoys about Royal Ivory Nana. And with the Tuk-Tuk drop-off service you can avoid the hot sun. Thank you very much for your kind words and endorsement. As you may already know the Royal Ivory has concrete rate that does not change throughout the year. Know with our promotional code that we are giving out to frequent guests, you can book that walk-in flat rate online directly from our website. Please e-mail us for the promo code at reservations@royalivory.com. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
#776 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Sukhumvit
Omni Tower Sukhumvit Nana by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Nana Hotel
Nana Hotel
#350 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
ibis Bangkok Nana
ibis Bangkok Nana
#249 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#388 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality

Property: Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Address: 73 Sukhumvit Soi 4 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #648 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to Bangkok’s Central Business District of shopping malls, office buildings, dining and entertainment outlets. Royal Ivory Bangkok also offers a free shuttle service to Nana Skytrain station, Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre and Benjakit Park. Royal Ivory offers three types of rooms; Superior, Deluxe and a Presidential Suite. Rooms are contemporary in design with tea and coffee making facilities, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, a kitchenette (deluxe only) and more. The Presidential Suite has two bedrooms, a lounge with Plasma TV, dining area for 6 and more. Other facilities of the hotel include a swimming pool and a restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious meal, play a game of pool or watch a football match on the wall-mounted TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ivory Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Ivory Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing