We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent inexpensive hotel in Nana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #728 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Royal Ivory given the price. I've stayed at a number of the hotels in Nana, and found this discounted hotel to be the best in its class. The king size room was large, clean and nicely decorated in a sort of 'rustic-Thai' style. The breakfast buffet, at least the Thai dishes portion, was absolutely delicious; the 'continental' dishes seemed very average (pancakes, french toast, little hot doggy-things, ham slices, and an 'egg bar' with made-to-order eggs), but I stuck with the Thai and was stoked. Definitely worth adding the breakfast coupon deal to your reservation. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear Mr. Lawrence M.
We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and wish to thank you for your gracious comment about our hotel: price, service, room and breakfast.
Once again, thank you for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Ivory Hotel again in the nearest future.

Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 574 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

It has taken a while to write this review as I was undecided on what I thought about this hotel.
On one hand the location is good for shopping and night life as it is just down the street from Nana plaza, Nana sky train station and the night market.
Although the rooms are a good size they are a bit dated and could do with a makeover.
The breakfast was only average and the service from the staff was OK but nothing special.
I guess if you can get the room at a discounted rate and you want to be close to the night life then it would be Ok.
Would I stay there again? Only if I got a very good discounted rate and I wanted to be close to the Nana area again then I would consider it, other wise there are other choices in the area that could probably better if you did some research.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Dear Mr. Mail2bazza.

Thank you for your time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor.

The hotel location is in the heart of Bangkok, Sukhumvit Area. This street full of the shopping plaza, side walks shop and many entertainment outlet of the night time.

The room price of Royal Ivory hotel compare with the same level hotel in this area is reasonable.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope you will get the good deal for your next visit and looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The room was reasonably clean, but a bit worn out inside. I stayed in a vastly better hotel near the next SkyTrain stop for only about 20% more than I paid here. Most staff was friendly, but one woman behind the counter (a manager perhaps?) was rude to me when I checked in. It wasn't a misunderstanding due to language/cultural barriers.

The hotel is located near a "red light district". You will see a LOT of sex tourism here. It's likely to be unattractive to some people. The hotel is "girl friendly", and I suspect that this is why it's a bit expensive for what is. I think the men who stay there pay a premium to be able to take the girls they hire into their hotel rooms. Condoms are provided in the rooms. If this isn't the type of tourism that you're in Thailand for, you'll probably be happier in another hotel, ideally on different street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Mr. David M.

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking time to share your experience during your recent stay.
We are truly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience concern with our manager.
We are planning to refurbish our room in the nearest future. Regarding to the hotel location, this area of Sukhumvit is full of the entertainment outlets. And every 3-5 stars hotels provide the condom for the guest amenities in the guest room also.
Thank you again for your comment. We surely would like to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed for a week and very much enjoyed it, right up until checkout time. The room included a well stocked mini bar including soft drinks, juices and beer. For the first three days of our stay the housekeepers resticked our mini bar when they cleaned the room in the morning. On the fourth day of our week long stay we arrived back at our room in the afternoon to find that the mini bar had not been restocked that day and so was still missing all the beers that we'd consumed. We thought nothing of it (assuming that the housekeeper had simply forgotten to stock it) and went out and bought our own drinks for that night. The next day we found the same unstocked mini bar, and simply assumed that we must have reached the limit for our stay so again didn't say anything. Our mini bar was not restocked again for the rest of our stay.
However, when we arrived at the guest service desk to check out and pay our bill, we discovered that we had been charged for the drinks missing every day, as if the minibar had been restocked and the beverages consumed. When we tried to explain what had happened the gust service lady refused to take off the last three days of minibar charges, saying that the housekeeper was iniststent that she had restocked the fridge every day. After some back and forth arguing we managed to convince them to take off two out of the three days but we still had to pay for one. Not impressed.
We would probably stay here again because it was a nice hotel with a lovely large room, but my advice for future patrons is to alert guest services if you realise that the housekeepers do not restock your minibar, otherwise you will be charged incorrectly for it and will have a hard time getting out of it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaarahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Ms. Saarrah LB

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the minibar service.

We would like to apologues for the disappointed stay you had with us. We also appreciate that you have given us opportunity to address this issue with the staff concerned and will ensure that we will instruct our staff to hesitate this incident in the future.

Anyway Ms. Saarrah, you had 1 bill that under charged yet cause you signed the wrong room. Actually you had stayed in room no. 320 but you signed in that bill in room no. 302 for Baht 239.-


Once again, thank you for staying with us. We looking forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.


Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Ivory Bangkok (Soi 4) for 5 nights in September 2011. Our booking was for a deluxe king room (no breakfast) and cost £135 via agoda.com. We were in room 308 which, despite being spacious, was not very light due to the amout of trees immediately outside our window. The room itself was amply furnished with two large wardrobes, but with only 3 hangers!, bedside cabinets, a table and 2 chairs, an armchair, writing desk (no stationery), drawer unit (handles missing/broken) and electronic safe. The kitchenette area had a microwave (untested), fridge (freezer unit had no door), kettle (2 sachets of coffee, replenished daily), 6 bowls and 2 cups/saucers (no plates or cutlery). Two complimentary bottles of water were provided daily.
The bed was large and comfortable (sheets were old but clean) and the air-con worked well. The TV had a limited number of English-speaking channels. A hairdryer was also provided.
The bathroom was tired-looking with stains and patches of mould on the ceiling. The shower was the walk-in type (with no shower curtain) and the water only ever reached warm,rather than hot. There was no plug for the sink and when we asked for one at reception, we were told they were not provided. Bathtowels and handtowels (no facecloths) were old but clean. Shower gel, shampoo and shower-hat were provided but no soap. Toilet rolls were replenished as necessary but were of the thinnest quality available.
A (very) small (outdoor) swimming pool was available (pool towels provided). A buffet breakfast could be purchased for 109 baht.
A taxi from the airport cost approx 450 Baht (on the meter,incl all fees and tolls) and we were able to negotiate a similar price with the hotel taxi service for our return journey.
We were happy with the location of the hotel which was about 8-10 mins walk from the BTS Nana Station (a free tuk-tuk was available for this journey from the hotel during the day).
There was a good selection of bars and eateries close by (we would recommend the Bus Stop for friendly service and reasonable prices (beers from 70baht) and a free bookswap upstairs). There were also a couple of internet cafes charging 1 baht per minute and a cheap dry cleaners just a few doors away from the hotel.
Overall our impression of the hotel was that many aspects could have been improved with just a little effort/cost. Housekeeping was minimal – considering we were only at the hotel for 5 nights on 2 occasions we received no coffee sachets, on one occasion no shampoo/shower gel and towels were not changed at all during our stay. On two occasions the lift broke down and we were simply told to use the stairs. Fortunately we had read that there was a second lift (behind and to the right of reception) but not only was this not pointed out, but staff seemed surprised that we knew about and used it! I suspect that for the same price (or perhaps a little more) there are better hotels in the area and we will not stay at the Royal Ivory the next time we are in Bangkok.

Opinion of Resort
The immediate area offered a good selection of bars and restaurants. In Soi 4 we liked The BusStop and the Nana bars at the end of the Soi near the Sukhumvit Road. Many of the bars served food and some had a happy hour.

Room Tip: we found agoda.com offered the best deals for Bangkok hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveThePubsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Mr. Dave the Pubs,

Thank you very much for taking your times to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor.
We strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standard, any service that could not fulfill your requirement, please inform us immediately while your staying and we will try our best to serve you.

Anyway, thank you again for your staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again, giving us the chance to serve your better,

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have seen a few negative reviews for this hotel and I couldn't disagree more. The staff was very kind and helpful 24 hours a day. The Rooms were very clean. The in-room lock box was a good addition. I stayed at the Royal Ivory for 7 Nights and I have nothing but good things to say. I would definitely stay here again. The manager emailed me with flood information the weeks prior to my flight. This hotel went above and beyond to make my trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Mr. Jon D.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and wish to thank your for your gracious comment about hotel service and facilities particularly in regards to our staff service in every department and 24 hours service as your feedback will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced during your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Ivory Bangkok.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

this is a cheap stay in bangkok nothing special the rooms are big staff were excellent breakfast ok the only problem i had was the distance from sukhumvit road they do have a tuk tuk to take you there but twice the driver was not around the elevater is very small enough for `1 person and bag

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demonchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Mr. Demonchild,

Thank you for your time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor.

As your comment, we try to improve our service to meet the customer satisfaction. And we are very sorry about our Tuk-Tuk service that was not ready to serve your as your request.

We have plans to refurbish the hotel and elevator also. And we are looking forward to welcome you again and give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Omni Tower Sukhumvit Nana by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Boss Suites
Boss Suites
#759 of 891 in Bangkok
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
House by the Pond
House by the Pond
#434 of 891 in Bangkok
109 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 13 by Compass Hospitality
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#752 of 891 in Bangkok
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality

Address: 73 Sukhumvit Soi 4 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #728 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $35 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to Bangkok’s Central Business District of shopping malls, office buildings, dining and entertainment outlets. Royal Ivory Bangkok also offers a free shuttle service to Nana Skytrain station, Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre and Benjakit Park. Royal Ivory offers three types of rooms; Superior, Deluxe and a Presidential Suite. Rooms are contemporary in design with tea and coffee making facilities, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, a kitchenette (deluxe only) and more. The Presidential Suite has two bedrooms, a lounge with Plasma TV, dining area for 6 and more. Other facilities of the hotel include a swimming pool and a restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious meal, play a game of pool or watch a football match on the wall-mounted TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ivory Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Ivory Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing