We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location good but Hotel just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #647 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Location good but Hotel just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

It has taken a while to write this review as I was undecided on what I thought about this hotel.
On one hand the location is good for shopping and night life as it is just down the street from Nana plaza, Nana sky train station and the night market.
Although the rooms are a good size they are a bit dated and could do with a makeover.
The breakfast was only average and the service from the staff was OK but nothing special.
I guess if you can get the room at a discounted rate and you want to be close to the night life then it would be Ok.
Would I stay there again? Only if I got a very good discounted rate and I wanted to be close to the Nana area again then I would consider it, other wise there are other choices in the area that could probably better if you did some research.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Mr. Mail2bazza.

Thank you for your time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor.

The hotel location is in the heart of Bangkok, Sukhumvit Area. This street full of the shopping plaza, side walks shop and many entertainment outlet of the night time.

The room price of Royal Ivory hotel compare with the same level hotel in this area is reasonable.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope you will get the good deal for your next visit and looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    226
    136
    43
    49
See reviews for
44
93
148
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The room was reasonably clean, but a bit worn out inside. I stayed in a vastly better hotel near the next SkyTrain stop for only about 20% more than I paid here. Most staff was friendly, but one woman behind the counter (a manager perhaps?) was rude to me when I checked in. It wasn't a misunderstanding due to language/cultural barriers.

The hotel is located near a "red light district". You will see a LOT of sex tourism here. It's likely to be unattractive to some people. The hotel is "girl friendly", and I suspect that this is why it's a bit expensive for what is. I think the men who stay there pay a premium to be able to take the girls they hire into their hotel rooms. Condoms are provided in the rooms. If this isn't the type of tourism that you're in Thailand for, you'll probably be happier in another hotel, ideally on different street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Mr. David M.

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking time to share your experience during your recent stay.
We are truly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience concern with our manager.
We are planning to refurbish our room in the nearest future. Regarding to the hotel location, this area of Sukhumvit is full of the entertainment outlets. And every 3-5 stars hotels provide the condom for the guest amenities in the guest room also.
Thank you again for your comment. We surely would like to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed for a week and very much enjoyed it, right up until checkout time. The room included a well stocked mini bar including soft drinks, juices and beer. For the first three days of our stay the housekeepers resticked our mini bar when they cleaned the room in the morning. On the fourth day of our week long stay we arrived back at our room in the afternoon to find that the mini bar had not been restocked that day and so was still missing all the beers that we'd consumed. We thought nothing of it (assuming that the housekeeper had simply forgotten to stock it) and went out and bought our own drinks for that night. The next day we found the same unstocked mini bar, and simply assumed that we must have reached the limit for our stay so again didn't say anything. Our mini bar was not restocked again for the rest of our stay.
However, when we arrived at the guest service desk to check out and pay our bill, we discovered that we had been charged for the drinks missing every day, as if the minibar had been restocked and the beverages consumed. When we tried to explain what had happened the gust service lady refused to take off the last three days of minibar charges, saying that the housekeeper was iniststent that she had restocked the fridge every day. After some back and forth arguing we managed to convince them to take off two out of the three days but we still had to pay for one. Not impressed.
We would probably stay here again because it was a nice hotel with a lovely large room, but my advice for future patrons is to alert guest services if you realise that the housekeepers do not restock your minibar, otherwise you will be charged incorrectly for it and will have a hard time getting out of it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaarahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Ms. Saarrah LB

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the minibar service.

We would like to apologues for the disappointed stay you had with us. We also appreciate that you have given us opportunity to address this issue with the staff concerned and will ensure that we will instruct our staff to hesitate this incident in the future.

Anyway Ms. Saarrah, you had 1 bill that under charged yet cause you signed the wrong room. Actually you had stayed in room no. 320 but you signed in that bill in room no. 302 for Baht 239.-


Once again, thank you for staying with us. We looking forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.


Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Ivory Bangkok (Soi 4) for 5 nights in September 2011. Our booking was for a deluxe king room (no breakfast) and cost £135 via agoda.com. We were in room 308 which, despite being spacious, was not very light due to the amout of trees immediately outside our window. The room itself was amply furnished with two large wardrobes, but with only 3 hangers!, bedside cabinets, a table and 2 chairs, an armchair, writing desk (no stationery), drawer unit (handles missing/broken) and electronic safe. The kitchenette area had a microwave (untested), fridge (freezer unit had no door), kettle (2 sachets of coffee, replenished daily), 6 bowls and 2 cups/saucers (no plates or cutlery). Two complimentary bottles of water were provided daily.
The bed was large and comfortable (sheets were old but clean) and the air-con worked well. The TV had a limited number of English-speaking channels. A hairdryer was also provided.
The bathroom was tired-looking with stains and patches of mould on the ceiling. The shower was the walk-in type (with no shower curtain) and the water only ever reached warm,rather than hot. There was no plug for the sink and when we asked for one at reception, we were told they were not provided. Bathtowels and handtowels (no facecloths) were old but clean. Shower gel, shampoo and shower-hat were provided but no soap. Toilet rolls were replenished as necessary but were of the thinnest quality available.
A (very) small (outdoor) swimming pool was available (pool towels provided). A buffet breakfast could be purchased for 109 baht.
A taxi from the airport cost approx 450 Baht (on the meter,incl all fees and tolls) and we were able to negotiate a similar price with the hotel taxi service for our return journey.
We were happy with the location of the hotel which was about 8-10 mins walk from the BTS Nana Station (a free tuk-tuk was available for this journey from the hotel during the day).
There was a good selection of bars and eateries close by (we would recommend the Bus Stop for friendly service and reasonable prices (beers from 70baht) and a free bookswap upstairs). There were also a couple of internet cafes charging 1 baht per minute and a cheap dry cleaners just a few doors away from the hotel.
Overall our impression of the hotel was that many aspects could have been improved with just a little effort/cost. Housekeeping was minimal – considering we were only at the hotel for 5 nights on 2 occasions we received no coffee sachets, on one occasion no shampoo/shower gel and towels were not changed at all during our stay. On two occasions the lift broke down and we were simply told to use the stairs. Fortunately we had read that there was a second lift (behind and to the right of reception) but not only was this not pointed out, but staff seemed surprised that we knew about and used it! I suspect that for the same price (or perhaps a little more) there are better hotels in the area and we will not stay at the Royal Ivory the next time we are in Bangkok.

Opinion of Resort
The immediate area offered a good selection of bars and restaurants. In Soi 4 we liked The BusStop and the Nana bars at the end of the Soi near the Sukhumvit Road. Many of the bars served food and some had a happy hour.

Room Tip: we found agoda.com offered the best deals for Bangkok hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveThePubsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Dave the Pubs,

Thank you very much for taking your times to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor.
We strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standard, any service that could not fulfill your requirement, please inform us immediately while your staying and we will try our best to serve you.

Anyway, thank you again for your staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again, giving us the chance to serve your better,

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have seen a few negative reviews for this hotel and I couldn't disagree more. The staff was very kind and helpful 24 hours a day. The Rooms were very clean. The in-room lock box was a good addition. I stayed at the Royal Ivory for 7 Nights and I have nothing but good things to say. I would definitely stay here again. The manager emailed me with flood information the weeks prior to my flight. This hotel went above and beyond to make my trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Jon D.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and wish to thank your for your gracious comment about hotel service and facilities particularly in regards to our staff service in every department and 24 hours service as your feedback will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced during your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Ivory Bangkok.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

this is a cheap stay in bangkok nothing special the rooms are big staff were excellent breakfast ok the only problem i had was the distance from sukhumvit road they do have a tuk tuk to take you there but twice the driver was not around the elevater is very small enough for `1 person and bag

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demonchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Demonchild,

Thank you for your time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor.

As your comment, we try to improve our service to meet the customer satisfaction. And we are very sorry about our Tuk-Tuk service that was not ready to serve your as your request.

We have plans to refurbish the hotel and elevator also. And we are looking forward to welcome you again and give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,
Thamarat S.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel would be great if you are looking for a budget hotel and want to party on Nana Road all night.
Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly. The hallways and elevator need a good clean and some paint. The room itself was big, fairly clean, although you can see the rooms are getting shabby and need updating, the pictures are much better than the actual state of the room. The bed was not too hard (by Asian standards). The bathroom was very clean, this was a good thing. There only a cold water tap at the bathroom sink, however the shower does have hot water and the pressure is OK.
The breakfast was better than expected. The internet was good and we had no problems even in our room (don't forget to ask for the internet code). Plenty of English cable channels on the TV. Can't comment on the pool as we didn't use it but having said that with the over all condition of the hotel I would have been very leary to use the pool.
My biggest problem with the hotel is the location and the cliental that this hotel attracts. It is quite a ways up Nana Road and when it gets really hot during the day the hotel seems to get further from Sukhumvit Road. Walking to the hotel you have to run the gauntlet, up Nana Road, of girlie bars, very loud distorted music and drunk furang. This hotel is most definitely NOT a family hotel.
During the night you could hear hotel guests coming and going with there "company". I guess I should have known better than to pick a hotel close to the sights and sounds of Nana Road. But if I have never been to Bangkok before and if Nana Road was not the scene I was looking for I would have appreciated being warned ahead of time. Unless you're specifically looking for girlie bars, etc. I would avoid this location and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalIvory, Manager at Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Sheila Boyle,

We are please that you are happy with the hotel in general. Though our website does not red light guest and potential client tells but we always discourage family who e-mails us to look for hotel else where and not in Nana district, though we are in the heart of Bangkok Sukhumvit Soi 4 is definitely one Soi family should avoid. Thank you for your compliments and valuable feedback we are trying our best to keep the hotel in it's top shape. Finally thank you taking your time and sharing your experience during your stay with Royal Ivory Nana 4 we truly appreciate your reviews. If you need any assistance during your visit to Bangkok on your next trip, please call us +66 26567888 or reservations@royalivory.com and let us know, we will do our best to accommodate your inquires. Thank you, have a nice day krab!

Sincerely,
Royal Ivory Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
#775 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Sukhumvit
Omni Tower Sukhumvit Nana by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Nana Hotel
Nana Hotel
#353 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
ibis Bangkok Nana
ibis Bangkok Nana
#247 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#388 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality

Property: Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Address: 73 Sukhumvit Soi 4 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to Bangkok’s Central Business District of shopping malls, office buildings, dining and entertainment outlets. Royal Ivory Bangkok also offers a free shuttle service to Nana Skytrain station, Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre and Benjakit Park. Royal Ivory offers three types of rooms; Superior, Deluxe and a Presidential Suite. Rooms are contemporary in design with tea and coffee making facilities, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, a kitchenette (deluxe only) and more. The Presidential Suite has two bedrooms, a lounge with Plasma TV, dining area for 6 and more. Other facilities of the hotel include a swimming pool and a restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious meal, play a game of pool or watch a football match on the wall-mounted TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ivory Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Ivory Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing