We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Liberty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Honey Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honey Hotel
Ranked #379 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight Liberty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel came highly recommended but it was new when I stayed there (Christmas 1967.) The room was very nice and the pool was too. There was a massage parlor that was in a separate building connected to the hotel. The girls were behind glass and had numbered badges so you could shop for your masseuse. The staff was not proficient in English but very patient and even managed to teach me and my shipmates a little Thai, including "Merry Christmas" and "Happy New Year". I was very impressed with the Thai people. I loved the cuisine and still do. Thais were much more friendly towards Americans than other oriental cultures and they even ate with a fork. There were several Christmas celebrations within walking distance of the hotel. A lot may have changed since I was there but I have good memories of Bangkok and this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
31
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you are looking for a 3 to 5 star hotel, skip this place. It is a very old hotel but well maintained. It has a swiming pool and comes with breakfast. The rooms are pretty basic with box type tv's. The staff is great and the rooms are always clean. I like this hotel because of location and price (800-1000 baht per night). It is a easy walk to BTS skytrain or the MRT subway. Night entertainment is a Soi away. Great price for Bangkok hotel on Sukumvit. To fine cheaper hotel you would have to go to Khaosan Road.

Room Tip: Chose a upstairs room as ground floor rooms can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThaiTom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for years. At one time this was quite the place but there's a lot of years on it. The good: decent pool, the restaurant, services are right there on soi 19, sky train a short walk away, travel agency in lobby, most rooms are not cramped and the beds are comfortable. The bad: if you have a room in the back the dogs bark all night, no safe in the room (never had a problem), room rate is a little high for the property, and no elevator.

I would have no problem staying there again, I still like the location and the people that work there and in the shops on Soi 19.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have stayed couple of times in the Hotel. The hotel and the rooms are good, spacious and nice. There is no lift as i remember so the rooms in the upper floors would be difficult to climb.

The staffs were good and helpful to me.

The location is good for Skytrain and bus services.

Room Tip: I think any rooms you get would be OK ( I stayed in the upper floor, road / pool facing room though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJsTourismServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Rooms are carpeted. But if and how frequently these carpets are cleansed is a question that begs to be answered. There is no lift , which means some effort if you are going few floors up. A couple staying in a room gets a breakfast token for one!!!! That means the second person has to pay for his/her breakfast and that costs a lot more than if two people eat at Robinson's restaurant facility -200 meters further down the Soi. On the plus side , there are rooms available on most occasions and they tend to be quite spacious, albeit more expensive than similar rooms in the neighbourhood

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had a hard time finding their email address as it seems impossible to book it on any sites online. Finally, I have received an email from the Honey Hotel - therefore I share it with you here.

I stayed here at this hotel in the 70'ties for one year with my parents. Seeing the pictures here brings back some lovely memories. This is the reason why I insist to stay at the Honey Hotel again a few decades later........... 2 nights - just for old times' sake.........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've stayed at the Honey a few times. While the place has seen better days, I still like it because it's conveniently located for both the Bangkok skytrain and the subway. It's also a good value for the location and, now that they've updated the A/C system, it's nice and quiet.

The staff have all been there for a long time and they're friendly and helpful.

The rooms are getting a bit run down and could use a new coat of paint and some new furnishings, but the rooms are clean and they include a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#244 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
SilQ Bangkok
SilQ Bangkok
#166 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#215 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Asoke
FuramaXclusive Asoke
#253 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#459 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Hotel

Property: Honey Hotel
Address: 29-31 Soi Sukhumvit 19 Sukhumvit Rd., Khlong Toei Nua, Vadhana, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Honey Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing