We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and great pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Ranked #280 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Essex, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and great pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in January 2011, based on the recommendation of a friend who stayed here in September 2010.

We arrived at about 4am and our room wasn’t ready, we were expecting this, and thought we could just relax in the reception for a few hours and then go out exploring! We were told that a room may be available at 6am, but we would have to wait and see. At about 5.45am we were told a room was available and we could go straight up! We were very impressed by this service and had a few hours sleep before going up to the swimming pool. The rooms were small, but had everything you needed, we stayed in a Superior Twin, it had aircon, hot water, TV, and a safe. The beds were very comfortable and there wasn’t much noise, we stayed in room A412, the hotel is a maze of corridors but there are plenty of signs!

There was a very large rooftop pool, we got there early so there were plenty of sunbeds free, but maybe a problem if you go a bit later? There was no shade or parasols but the pool was very refreshing.

We had a walk about in the nearby town, it is very close to Koh San Road, but the road that the hotel is on is much nicer than this!

We checked out smoothly at 5am, getting our deposit back with no problems. I would have no problems staying here again, or recommending this to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    1,543
    982
    294
    273
See reviews for
353
1,478
444
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Rambuttri is in the middle of tourist-heaven, huge hotel, has a pool, lots of tourists from everywhere. Its also really close to the river so you can take a super cheap ferry boat to the rest of the city. Theres no easy public transport to that part of town though. There is great shopping right outside your door, some decent bars and so-so restaurants. Pretty cheap, sort of a standard hostel, but perfectly acceptable.

No free wifi!! But theres a cheap internet cafe next door that costs 10 baht an hour, and if you want a suit, well, theres like ten suit places in front of the hotel. Right outside of the hotel, you can also hop in an airport bus for 130 baht a person, as opposed to taking a 400 baht taxi.

The bathroom was fine but it smelled like poop.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

First off, apologies for late review. I stayed there for 8 nights, in a superior room. Yes, the rooms are quite basic but adequately furnished. The double bed takes up most of the space, so it's really suitable for a single person.
Having read mixed reviews on this and other sites, I was a bit apprehensive regarding the quality of service. Yes, the staff are very busy all the time as it is a big hostel but I found them polite and helpful. Everything regarding deposit, payment, cleaning was clearly explained. In addition, I was pointed to the notice regarding cleaning for future reference.
I had problems with room lock and starting up air conditioning and had to ask someone at the reception to help me. The guard came up to my room within five minutes and showed me how everything worked.
At the time, one of the swimming pools was not working but there was a big notice pointing to out the location of the other one, on the wall as you entered corridor leading to rooms.
It's certainly a no frills place but it offers clean air-conditioned rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed three nights in the Rambuttri Village Inn. If you like the buzzling Khao San Road - this is your place. The hotel is located very central not in the Khao San but one street further up - so you have all advantages like bars, restaurants, ect. but it is maybe a little more quiet.

Furthermore they have a rooftop pool which is after a long day in the city a nice refreshment.

Beds were comfy, bathroom ok, hot water working well.

The disadvantages are that the Khao San Rd. has no acess to the public transportation system so every time you want to make a move you have to hire a taxi or tuk tuk. This wouldn`t be expensive if they would use the meter! And that's where the hazzle starts - only one out of 5 or 6 would accept to turn on the meter, so you have to plan an extra 15 mins to find a cab. Otherwise they charge you at least double, sometimes fife times the price!

They don`t have internet facilities, but there is a fast internet cafe just outside the hotel. Reception is 24h, convenient if you have an earlie/late flight.

If you stay close to the elevator it might be a bit noisy when people are coming home from partying...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

The hotel is ok and nice with the pool on the roof.
But pray to you never gonna need any thing or their is any problem. The reception is bad and put pressure on you to pay extra. And you would't get any out of talking with the manager. Instead the manager is angry, tells she is tired and every thing that happened 5 min ago is in the past and you should forget it. If it is in hers advantage.
Sad that the personal is so bad!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi-Dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

My husband and I usually stay in extremely cheap accommodations but we decided to splurge for the pool, hot water and AC since it was the end of our month long trip, it was not worth it. We were told we would have a room with an excellent view, in reality it was a view of the building next door and alley way. The sheets were filthy and the water in the bathroom did not get hot, the staff was not friendly and the check in and out process is extremely unorganized and slow. My husband used the pool but it was too crowded for us to both get seats. If you are looking for a Air con room on Rambuttri and don’t have high expectations this place is probably fine for you. II would recommend D & D on Khoa San - it is cheaper, has a pool and includes a breakfast buffet so it is probably a better choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chon_Mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

The guesthouse is conveniently located right on the soi Rambuttri. Though equally priced, some rooms of the same type are overlooking the Memorial bridge while the others – a wall of the adjacent building. A number of rooms are facing the main street and therefore can be pretty noisy. The rooms are clean and have TV and safety box. There is a pool on the roof. The guesthouse is relatively big and due to the crowds of guests sometimes might be noisy. Some of the reception staff can be unfriendly and not very welcoming, but there are pleasant exceptions, as well. Unlike many guesthouses in the area, Rambuttri Village closes an eye on guests inviting prostitutes. Despite the listed drawbacks, it’s overall a good value for money. Not that bad indeed).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelageya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#338 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#203 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#369 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#424 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Property: Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Address: 95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambuttri Village Inn And Plaza
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza Hotel Bangkok
Rambuttri Village Hotel
Rambuttri Village Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing